Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

McCain Passes On Warming Bill

Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.) didn't sign up as a co-sponsor for the new bipartisan global warming bill that his colleagues John Warner (R-Va.) and Joseph I. Lieberman (I-Conn.) introduced todayThursday, but his aides said that doesn't mean he's shying away from the issue.

McCain is not endorsing the Warner-Lieberman bill "because it doesn't include the nuclear issue by name," according to his spokeswoman Melissa Shuffield. "We can't effectively reduce our emissions without including nuclear energy, which is more efficient than the technologies in the bill."

The new legislation, dubbed "America's Climate Security Act," aims to reduce the nation's greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050 compared to current levels. McCain's bill from last year, which he authored with Lieberman, included up to $600 million in federal funding to build as many as three power plants.
Warner and Lieberman did win over Sen. Elizabeth Dole (R-N.C.), who has voted against a carbon cap in the past but signed on as a co-sponsor of America's Climate Security Act.

Even more interesting, McCain is no longer the only GOP presidential candidate who now endorses a mandatory cap on emissions linked to global warming. Former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee announced Saturday in a Manchester, N.H. press conference that he now supports a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gases.

"It goes to the moral issue," Huckabee said. "We have a responsibility to reduce greenhouse-gas emissions, to conserve energy, to find alternative forms of energy that are renewable and sustainable and environmentally friendly."

--Juliet Eilperin

By Post Editor  |  October 18, 2007; 11:14 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Dodd Makes Play on FISA Legislation
Next: Clinton Dealt a Bummer on Woodstock Museum

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company