Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Maryland primary election results 2010

The Maryland primary featured a few interesting races. Thus far incumbent Senator Mikulski has already been declared the winner in her primary. So too has Martin O'Malley, who was seeking the democratic nomination for governor. It seems Bob Erlich has won the GOP nod for the governor's race, setting the stage for a rematch with Gov. Martin O'Malley. As Brian White explains:

Former Gov. Robert Ehrlich has defeated investor Brian Murphy in the Republican primary for Maryland governor. Ehrlich's victory Tuesday sets up a rematch in November against Democratic incumbent Gov. Martin O'Malley, who easily won his primary race against two long-shot candidates.

Full story here

Aaron Davis also reported that an influx of polarizing lawmakers could make Maryland's Senate more combative than in recent years:

Maryland's often hushed, maroon Senate chamber could soon be a far more polarized and potentially rancorous place, especially on fiscal policy, with staunch liberal and conservative lawmakers replacing moderate ones.
"This election is definitely going to send a message throughout the Maryland political landscape that voters are really looking for progressive solutions as we go through these tough times," said Rion Dennis, acting director of Progressive Maryland, a nonprofit that advocates for working-class families. "There are a new breed of lawmakers coming who will change the tenor of that chamber."

Full story here

More from PostPolitics:

See photos of the Maryland governor's race 2010.

An interactive map of Maryland and other battleground states.

Sort and rank campaign spending by race, PAC or candidate with PostPolitic's interactive campaign cash database.

Maryland election results are certified by the state Board of Elections.

By Washington Post staff  |  September 14, 2010; 10:45 AM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: New Hampshire primary election results 2010
Next: Wisconsin primary election results 2010: Tom Barrett and Ron Johnson win primaries

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company