Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

The transition gets going


Maryland Gov.-elect Martin O'Malley (D) yesterday introduced a 42-member transition steering committee to help him prepare to take office in January. Here is a list of those serving, with biographical snippets that were provided by O'Malley's staff:

* Shannon Avery, Chair, Legislation and Political Action Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & TransgenderCommunity Center of Baltimore & Central Maryland.  She is also an Assistant Attorney General. 

* George Beall, Partner, Hogan & Hartson LLP

* Richard O. Berndt, Managing Partner, Gallagher Evelius & Jones LLP

* Dwayne Brown, Partner, Harbor Law Group, Inc.

* John Coale, Lawyer

* Veronica Cool, Vice President, Wachovia Bank, Board of Directors of the Baltimore Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

* Michael Cryor, President, The Cryor Group

* Patricia Cushwa, United States Parole Commission

* Dr. Kamala Edwards, Montgomery Community College

* Pat Foerster, Former President, Maryland State Teachers Association.

* T. Eloise Foster, Former Secretary of the Maryland State Department of Budget and Management

* Donald C. Fry, President, Greater Baltimore Committee; Former State Senator

* Quincy Gamble, 1199 SEUI

* Gary Gensler, Treasurer of the Baltimore Museum of Art

* Joseph Haskins, Jr., Chairman, President and CEO, Harbor Bank

* Frank Heintz, Former PSC Chairman 

* Bel Leong-Hong, Asian American Action Fund

* Harry Hughes,  Former Governor of Maryland

* Jon Laria, Partner, Ballard, Spahr, Andrews & Ingersoll

* Bruce Lee, Vice President, General Counsel, TissueGene, Inc.

* H. Jeffrey Leonard, Ph.D., President and Co-Founder, Global Environment Fund

* Terry Lierman, Chair, Maryland Democratic Party

* Tim Maloney, Attorney, Former Member of the Maryland House of Delegates

* Fred Mason, President of the Maryland Sate and District of Columbia AFL-CIO

* Diane Bell McKoy, Chief Executive Officer for the Associated Black Charities in Baltimore.

* Kweisi Mfume, Former President/CEO of the NAACP.  Former five-term Maryland Congressman.

* Glen Middleton, President, AFSCME, Maryland Council 67

* Doug Nelson, President, Annie E. Casey Foundation

* Rev. Dr. Frank M. Reid III, Senior Pastor Bethel AME Church, Baltimore

* Manervia Riddick, Chair, Strategic SolutionsCenter

* Wayne Rogers, President, President, Synergics Inc.

* Stephen H. Sachs, Former Maryland Attorney General

* Dr. Steven S. Sharfstein, President and CEO, Sheppard Pratt Health System

* James L. Shea, Chair, Venable

* Michael P. Smith, Attorney, Bodie Nagle Attorneys At Law

*Lucie Snodgrass, Deputy Campaign Manager for O'Malley/Brown

* Richard Stewart, President and CEO, Montgomery Mechanical Services, Inc.

* Gustavo Torres, Executive Director, CASA de Maryland, Inc.

* Peggy Watson, Former Finance Director, Baltimore City Government

* Rev. Jonathan Weaver, Senior Pastor, Greater Mt. Nebo AME Church

* Gregory K. Wells, Partner, Shadoan, Michael, & Wells LLP

* Karen White, National Political Director, Emily's List

By John Wagner  |  November 17, 2006; 10:06 AM ET
Categories:  Governor  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Republicans reorganize
Next: Steeling himself for the future


Geez, they hardly get this story posted and che swoops in with his off topic cut-and-paste stuff.

Always good for a laugh, though!

Posted by: Rufus | November 17, 2006 1:29 PM | Report abuse

Apart from the Redskins, that's the biggest group of losers I've ever seen.

Posted by: BG from PG | November 18, 2006 10:22 AM | Report abuse

Gustavo Torres, Executive Director, CASA de Maryland, Inc?

Oh great, more of our tax dollars going to support illegal immigration. What a great way to start an administration!!!

Posted by: Rufus | November 20, 2006 8:20 AM | Report abuse

Rufus, you are a racist.

Posted by: Rufus is a racist | December 2, 2006 1:21 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company