Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

New Utility Regulators


Gov. Martin O'Malley (D) has chosen to nominate Steven B. Larsen, Maryland's former insurance commissioner, and Susanne Brogan, a former member of the Public Service Commission, to fill two vacancies on the panel that regulates the state's electricity providers and other utilities, according to sources familiar with the pick.

O'Malley has pledged to install regulators with a more consumer-oriented bent to the five-member panel, which O'Malley argued during last year's campaign had become too cozy with the industries it regulates during the tenure of former governor Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. (R).

The panel's chairman, Kenneth D. Schisler, a former state delegate appointed by Ehrlich, resigned this month after a threat from O'Malley that he would be fired.

Larsen, a Bethesda resident, would replace Schisler as chaiman. As insurance commissioner from 1997 until 2003, Larsen emerged as a consumer-friendly regulator who helped shut down a merger involving CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield. He currently serves as president and CEO of Amerigroup Maryland Inc., where he supervises all local health care plan operations and is responsible for $400 million in annual revenue.

Brogan, an Anne Arundel County resident, was first appointed to the panel by then-Gov. William Donald Schaefer(D).

John Wagner

By Phyllis Jordan  |  February 16, 2007; 9:42 AM ET
Categories:  Governor  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Maryland to Congress: No Surge
Next: Rights for Wrongdoers

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company