Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

O'Malley, Lawmakers Choose Slots Commission

Gov. Martin O'Malley (D) and legislative leaders yesterday named the remaining members of powerful new commission that will determine who will operate Maryland's slot-machine parlors.

The seven-member commission, which includes former legislators and several business leaders, will pick the winning bidders to operate five locations authorized by voters in a constitutional amendment last month. Bids to operate the sites, which could include up to 15,000 machines, are due Feb. 1.

Appointed yesterday by House Speaker Michael E. Busch (D-Anne Arundel): Thomas P. Barbera, of Montgomery County, who recently retired as the regional chief executive officer for UnitedHealthcare's Mid-Atlantic region; and D. Bruce Poole, a lawyer from Washington County and a former state legislator.

Appointed by Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Calvert): James H. Taylor, a retired Prince George's County Circuit judge; and Robert NeallĂ–, a former state senator and Anne Arundel County Executive.

Appointed by O'Malley: Linda Read, of Cecil County; the secretary and treasurer for Paul Risk Associates, a commercial builder; and Ella Pierce, a former purchasing agent for the city of Baltimore.

O'Malley last week appointed Donald C. Fry, a former legislator who heads the Baltimore area's largest business association, to serve as chairman of the commission.

By Phyllis Jordan  |  December 9, 2008; 7:01 AM ET
Categories:  John Wagner  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Johnson Watch Enters Week Two
Next: David Ross Among Marylanders Aiding Transition

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company