Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Posted at 3:49 PM ET, 01/12/2011

COG picks new leaders; Pr. George's County's Harrison named chair

By Miranda S. Spivack

Prince George's County Council member Andrea Harrison was elected chairman of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments for 2011 on Wednesday. The COG Board is made up of local and state elected officials from 21 jurisdictions within the District, Maryland and Virginia.

Harrison (D-Springdale), who was sworn in to office May 19, 2008, after a special election to fill a vacated seat, was reelected in 2010. She served as the council's vice chairman in 2010, and also served a vice chairman of the Council of Government's board for the past two years.

COG also elected Frank Principi and Phil Mendelson as vice-chairmen. Principi has served as the Woodbridge District supervisor on the Prince William Board of County Supervisors since 2008. Mendelson, a previous COG chairman and president, has served as an at-large D.C. Council member since 1998.

By Miranda S. Spivack  | January 12, 2011; 3:49 PM ET
Categories:  Miranda Spivack, Prince George's County  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Md. Senate president calls alcohol tax hike 'insanity'
Next: McDonnell to attend O'Malley's inauguration

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company