Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

AL Cy Young Award Goes to Cleveland's Lee

Another drama-free day on the awards front, as Cleveland's Cliff Lee trounced Toronto's Roy Halladay, 24 first-place votes to four, to win the American League Cy Young Award. Los Angeles Angels closer Francisco Rodriguez, despite setting an all-time record with 62 saves, garnered not a single first-place vote and finished third in overall balloting.

Lee had a spectacular season, going 22-3 with a 2.54 ERA for the disappointing Indians, one year after being sent to the minors in midseason and being left off the Indians 2007 postseason roster.

So far, the awards have followed expected form, with Evan Longoria and Geovany Soto winning rookie of the year, Joe Maddon and Lou Piniella taking manager of the year, and Lee and Tim Lincecum earning Cy Youngs. The final awards given out -- NL MVP on Monday, and AL MVP on Tuesday -- promise to be far more intriguing, with neither race featuring a clear-cut favorite.

By Dave Sheinin  |  November 13, 2008; 2:01 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: What Others Are Saying
Next: Cubs Land Kevin Gregg


Do the Insiders care to opine or set up a poll on MVPs?

Pedroia winning a Silver bat to go with a Golden glove might mean he's due for the Bronze in the MVP balloting. K-Rod, Quentin, Youk, Hamilton, . . .

Posted by: jca-CrystalCity | November 13, 2008 5:25 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company