Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Lincecum Takes NL Cy Young Award

San Francisco's Tim Lincecum took the NL Cy Young Award today, winning 23 of the possible 32 first-place votes to blow away runner-up Brandon Webb of Arizona and third-place finished Johan Santana of the Mets, each of whom received four first-place votes. The other first-place vote went to CC Sabathia, who joined the Milwaukee Brewers in July and helped carry them to the playoffs.

Lincecum, 18-5 with a 2.62 ERA on a terrible team, was clearly the best pitcher in the league by most statistical measures, except for wins, as Webb's 22 led the league

By Dave Sheinin  |  November 11, 2008; 2:01 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Piazza to Write Memoir
Next: Ortiz: Wrist is "Feeling Fine"

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company