Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Maddon, Piniella Win Manager of the Year Awards

No surprise in the AL, where Tampa Bay's Joe Maddon was a near-unanimous pick, while in the NL, Chicago's Lou Piniella won by a sizable margin over Philadelphia's Charlie Manuel.

Maddon, who took the Rays from worst to first and all the way to the World Series, garnered 27 of a possible 28 first-place votes, with the other going to runner-up Ron Gardenhire of Minnesota (his fourth runner-up finish).

Piniella, who led the Cubs to their second-straight division title and the best record in the NL this season, took his third manager of the year award, having previously won with the Seattle Mariners in 1995 and 2001. He joins Jim Leyland, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox as the only managers to win the award in both leagues.

In addition to Piniella and Manuel, three other NL skippers received first-place votes: Fredi Gonzalez, Joe Torre and La Russa.

By Dave Sheinin  |  November 12, 2008; 2:01 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Red Sox Hold the Line
Next: What Others Are Saying


I guess that part of being MOY is publicly calling out your RF.

Posted by: jctichen | November 12, 2008 2:59 PM | Report abuse

Of course, voting took place before the playoffs. I think that Manuel deserved more votes than he got for managing a Phillies team with a streaky offense and getting a good seasons out of an only-slight-above-average rotation (Myers, Kendrick, Blanton, Moyer - who would have thought these guys could help Cole Hamels bring a World Series Championship to Philadelphia?).

Posted by: chrisduckworth | November 12, 2008 3:32 PM | Report abuse

I'm really happy for Maddon (though as a Renaissance Man he might better have spoken to the media from Florence rather than Rome).

Posted by: natsfan1a1 | November 13, 2008 6:04 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company