Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Lincecum wins second straight NL Cy Young

San Francisco Giants right-hander Tim Lincecum made history of two kinds in winning his second consecutive National League Cy Young Award. Lincecum's 15 wins marked the fewest ever for a Cy Young-winning starting pitcher in a non-strike-shortened season, and he also became just the second pitcher in history to win the award without receiving the most first-place votes.

Lincecum received only 11 of the possible 32 first-place votes in balloting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, or one fewer than St. Louis Cardinals right-hander Adam Wainwright. Lincecum, though, received 12 second-place votes and nine third-place votes, for a total of 100 points (based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system).

Wainwright, meantime, got five second-place and 15 third-place votes, for a total of 90 points -- and he didn't even finish as the runner-up. That honor went to Wainwright's Cardinals teammate Chris Carpenter, who received nine firsts, 14 seconds and seven thirds for a total of 94 points.

The only other time a pitcher won the Cy Young without receiving the most first-place votes was in 1998, when Atlanta's Tom Glavine (11 firsts) beat out San Diego's Trevor Hoffman (13), 98 points to 88 points.

Full voting results can be found here.

By Dave Sheinin  |  November 19, 2009; 2:03 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Scioscia, Tracy honored as managers of the year
Next: Predictions contest results (paging darnellbarlow!)


Chris Carpenter got jobbed by the two voters who left him off their ballots. That was ludicrous. Lincicum flopped at year end, else he'd have deserved the award.

Posted by: stuck_in_Lodi | November 19, 2009 4:45 PM | Report abuse

This is beyond contempt. The pitcher who only gets the second-most 1st, 2nd and 3rd place votes wins the award? Nothing highlights how broken this system is so much as the pitcher with the most real votes (first place - Wainwright), came in third. Get real.

MLB, you have some fixing to do. Not quite as bad as 1919 Black Sox, but close. Unless it was the SF writers who left Carpenter out of the voting...

Posted by: silencedogoodreturns | November 19, 2009 5:20 PM | Report abuse

Nerds have made a simple sport complicated. Law says wins don't matter. Why did they play the World Series?

He probably gives McGwire fits too. Then his baby turns up as a druggie. I notice
Law didn't mention that on his interview.. I also know Lincecum drug bust was after the vote. 1-3 down the stretch and his team in contention? Yep. Politics are everywhere. Small market teams get the shaft in most cases.
I believe the two S F writers split voted Wainwright and Carp #1. I believe Lincecum was #2 both ballots. They made statements that Lincecum wasn't the best pitcher this year.
Other than these two, other West Coast writers voted Liscecum #1. Amazing that the two S F writers didn't vote him #1.

Get those nerds out of Baseball.

Posted by: bnw173 | November 20, 2009 8:41 PM | Report abuse

Just curious: are there any plans for a post about the MVP awards? They're usually considered news in the world of baseball.

Posted by: greggwiggins | November 24, 2009 7:07 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company