Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Anchored by Melissa Bell  |  About  |  Get Updates:  Twitter  |   Facebook  |  RSS Feeds RSS Feed
Posted at 4:47 PM ET, 02/25/2011

Middle East in turmoil: Gunfire in Tripoli, Iraq's 'Day of Anger'

By Elizabeth Flock
height
Libyan protesters hold up a huge old national flag during a demonstration in the eastern dissident-held Libyan city of Tobruk on Feb. 24, 2011. AFP PHOTO/TREVOR SNAPP

As the uprising in Libya enters its 11th day and demonstrations continue around the Middle East, we keep you updated on the developing situation. We'll be marking time in Eastern Standard Time. Libya is seven hours ahead, Iraq is eight hours ahead, and Tunisia is six hours ahead. (See World Clock here.)


LIBYA: 1:03 a.m. (EET) / 6:02 p.m. (EST), Friday

We'll be signing off for the night , but make sure to follow our world page this weekend for the latest news.

We leave you with this picture of a supporter of Gaddafi, who holds a figurine of his leader at the Green Square in Tripoli Friday:

egypt riots
Government protesters raise their hands in the victory sign in Cairo's Tahrir Square. REUTERS/Ahmed Jadallah)

Thanks for being with us today.


LIBYA: 12:37 a.m. (EET) / 5:37 p.m. (EST), Friday

UK officials tell Gaddafi loyalists to defect

British officials are contacting senior Libyan figures to ask them to desert Gaddafi or face trial alongside him for crimes against humanity, the Guardian reported Friday. One hundred fifty Britons are trapped at workplaces in the Libyan desert, and Special Air Service troops and paratroopers are on standby to rescue them.


LIBYA: 11:04 p.m. (CET) / 5:04 p.m. (EST), Friday

Tunisia to hold elections by mid-July

The official TAP news agency said Tunisia's transitional government will hold elections by mid-July at the latest, according to an Al Jazeera report Friday. The statement came as tens of thousands of protesters massed in the Kasbah government quarter. Protesters demanded the resignation of Prime Minister Mohamed Ghannouchi's transitional government, which was set up after former president Zine El Abidine Ben Ali was ousted last month.

Demonstrators shouted "Ghannouchi leave" and "Shame on this government" as army helicopters circled above the crowd.


LIBYA: 11:52 p.m. (EET) / 4:52 p.m. (EST), Friday

Forces loyal to Moammar Gaddafi battled opponents in the streets of Tripoli on Friday, as the embattled Libyan strongman vowed to "crush" a growing popular movement that is squeezing the capital from the east and west.


LIBYA: 11:34 p.m. (EET) / 4:34 p.m. (EST), Friday

White House to impose sanctions

The White House says the U.S. is moving forward with plans to impose unilateral sanctions on Libya in response to violence there. White House spokesman Jay Carney says the U.S. is finalizing that process Friday. Watch:


LIBYA: 10:11 p.m. (EET) / 3:11 p.m. (EST), Friday

Excerpts from Gaddafi's speech

height
Jordanians hit with their shoes a TV showing Libya's leader Muammar Gaddafi giving a speech, in Amman February 22, 2011. (REUTERS/Ali Jarekji)

During Gaddafi's speech in Tripoli's Green Square earlier Friday, he vowed to triumph over his enemies and urged supporters to protect Libya and its petroleum interests. Here are excerpts from his speech:

"If the Libyan people do not love me, then I do not deserve to live. If the Arab people, the African people, and all people, do not love Moammar Gaddafi, Moammar Gaddafi does not deserve life for one day! If my people do not love me, I do not deserve life for a day."

"Get ready to fight for Libya, get ready to fight for dignity, get ready to fight for petroleum, to defend independence and glory. Respond to them, put them to shame."

"We can crush any enemy. We can crush it with the people's will. The people are armed and when necessary, we will open arsenals to arm all the Libyan people and all Libyan tribes."

"We will defeat any foreign attempt as we defeated Italian occupation and American raids."

height
In this March 28, 1986 file photo, Libyan leader Moammar Gaddafi waves to supporters from a balcony at Bab al-Aziziya in Tripoli as he gives a speech condemning the U.S. for an air strike that aimed to kill him. (REUTERS/Rob Taggart/Files)

"Do as you please. You are free to dance, sing, and celebrate in all squares throughout the night. You must keep this spirit high, for it is stronger than the mouths of the Arabs, stronger than the mouths of the agents, the vile Arabs."

"Look Europe, look America, here is Moammar Gaddafi! Look you Arabs, look at the Libyan people. Here Moammar Gaddafi is among the crowds, among the youth. These are the Libyan people! This is the fruit of the revolution. The youth are enthusiastic. They want the revolution, they want dignity and glory."

"Feel at ease in the squares and the streets. Live the life of dignity. Moammar Gaddafi is one of you. Dance, sing, rejoice!"


LIBYA: 9:52 p.m. (EET) / 2:52 p.m. (EST), Friday

U.S. Embassy closes

A U.S. official says the United States has closed its embassy in Libya's capital after evacuating all personnel on a ferry and a chartered airplane. The official said the Tripoli embassy's operations were suspended because of the deteriorating security situation. The last embassy staff departed on a chartered flight at 1:49 p.m. EST. The official spoke on condition of anonymity because of the extreme sensitivity of the situation.

Cell phone video from Tripoli, Libya shows the scene at the airport where thousands are reportedly waiting to evacuate the country. Watch:


LIBYA: 9:42 p.m. (EET) / 2:42 p.m. (EST), Friday

A Tripoli resident who was waiting for an evacuation flight described the situation at the Libya Air Base Friday to our correspondent Janine Zacharia via Skype instant messenger. Read what the resident had to say.


IRAQ: 10:33 p.m. (AST) / 2:33 p.m. (EST), Friday

Iraqi security forces trying to disperse crowds of demonstrators in northern Iraq killed five people Friday as thousands rallied in cities across the country during the "Day of Rage." Watch:


LIBYA: 8:29 p.m. (EET) / 1:29 p.m. (EST), Friday

International NGO Save the Children says it is concerned at reports that children have been killed in a violent crackdown on anti-government protesters by Libyan security forces. Save the Children says ten of thousands more children could be displaced if fighting between security forces and anti-government protesters intensifies.


LIBYA: 7:55 p.m. (EET) / 12:55 p.m. (EST), Friday

Gaddafi addresses crowd in Tripoli

Gaddafi made an unexpected appearance in Tripoli's Green Square, addressing a crowd of his supporters and saying he would soon arm people against the protesters, Al Jazeera reported Friday.

"We can defeat any aggression if necessary and arm the people," Gaddafi said, in footage that was aired on Libyan state television on Friday. "Dance ... sing and get ready ... this is the spirit ... this is much better than the lies of the Arab propaganda."

His last speech, on Thursday evening, had been made by phone, fueling speculation about his physical condition.

Watch today's speech:

Security forces opened fire on anti-government demonstrators as they streamed out of mosques after Friday prayers, resulting in multiple casualties, AP reported. Details were sketchy, but Arabic-language television networks said that between two and seven people had been killed.


WASHINGTON: 12:29 p.m. (EST), Friday

Libyan-Americans to remove Gaddafi flag from ambassador's residence in D.C.

Members of the Washington-area Libyan-American community will raise the flag of the pre-Gaddafi era at the Libyan ambassador's residence in Washington, D.C. at 2 p.m. today. There will also be a prayer vigil for all those killed or injured by Gaddafi's forces. An estimated 500 Libyan-Americans live in the greater Washington, D.C., area.


LIBYA: 7:29 p.m. (EET) / 12:29 p.m. (EST), Friday

While gunfire continues in Tripoli, some 600 miles east of the capital in Benghazi, a parallel government is taking shape that includes citizen leaders as well as former government officials and military officers. Here, Libyans are in prayer.

height
Libyans pray while demonstrating for the removal of Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi on February 25, 2011 in Benghazi, Libya. Benghazi residents mourned more victims of the violence as fighting continued around the capitol Tripoli. (Photo by John Moore/Getty Images)

IRAQ: 7:17 p.m. (AST) / 12:17 p.m. (EST), Friday

Clashes have erupted across Tripoli as the struggle for the country's capital escalates. On Twitter, journalists, youth movements, and Libyans on the ground expressed feelings of frustration, hope, or made observations.

No one is fooled, your protesters are few and far between. No one supports you. Down with Gaddafi #libya #feb17 #gaddaficrimesless than a minute ago via web

#feb17 Benghazi out in full force Following inspiring Friday sermon and prayer http://f.ast.ly/qUSQA #@shabablibyaless than a minute ago via LinksAlpha

Al Jazeera correspondent: Precious scene on #Libya state TV now - kids leading pro #Gaddafi gathering, chanting 'Long live Papa Muammar!'less than a minute ago via web


LIBYA: 7:07 p.m. (EET) / 12:07 p.m. (EST), Friday

NATO to hold urgent talks, Libya mission in Geneva quits

NATO's main decision-making body is holding an emergency meeting on Friday to discuss Libya's unrest. The alliance may discuss deploying ships and surveillance aircraft to the Mediterranean, officials said. NATO Secretary-General Anders Fogh Rasmussen has said the alliance does not intend to intervene in Libya, and that such an action would require a U.N. mandate. The council consists of ambassadors from NATO's 28 member states.

The entire Libyan mission in Geneva has quit in a public session after French President Nicolas Sarkozy said Libyan leader Moammar Gaddafi must resign. Sarkozy said Friday in Turkey that state violence in Libya cannot go unpunished and added that Gaddafi "must go." In Geneva, Adel Shaltut, second secretary at Libya's U.N. mission, asked the U.N. Human Rights council to stand for a moment of silence to "honor this revolution."

LIBYA: 6:43 p.m. (EET) / 11:43 a.m. (EST), Friday

A video clip posted on a Libyan Facebook page purportedly shows protesters in Tripoli marching, then coming under heavy fire.

Watch the video here.


IRAQ: 6:06 p.m. (AST) / 11:06 a.m. (EST), Friday

U.S. Embassy spokesman Aaron Snipe in Baghdad released the following statement in response to Iraq's "Day of Rage":

"We support the Iraqi people's right to freely express their political views, to peacefully protest, and seek redress from their government; this has been our consistent message in Iraq and throughout the region. ... Iraqi Security Forces appear to have followed Prime Minister Maliki's directive by ensuring that citizens who choose to protest peacefully would be allowed to do so."


LIBYA: 5:57 p.m. (EET) / 10:57 a.m. (EST), Friday

Americans evacuated by ferry from Tripoli

A ferry carrying Americans and other foreigners seeking to escape Libya's escalating turmoil finally left the capital on Friday after three tense days stuck in port. Choppy waters stranded thousands of Chinese workers back on land.

The Maria Dolores ferry left Tripoli's As-shahab port on an eight-hour trip destined for Valetta, Malta. On board were at least 167 U.S. citizens and 118 other foreigners.

Tens of thousands of foreigners are trying to flee Libya. Turks and Chinese are climbing aboard ships by the thousands. Europeans are mostly boarding evacuation flights. North Africans have been crossing at the border in overcrowded vans. A U.S. government-chartered aircraft was expected to leave from an airfield near downtown Tripoli for Istanbul later in the day.

China, with an estimated 30,000 citizens residing in Libya, has dispatched a navy ship and evacuated others by plane and bus. India, Italy, Poland, and Britain, among other nations, are also working to get their citizens out of Libya.


LIBYA: 5:55 p.m. (EET) / 10:55 a.m. (EST), Friday

A video clip posted on a Libyan site purportedly shows protesters in Tripoli pouring out of a mosque after Friday prayers to demonstrate. The protesters form a large crowd as they march down the street. At around 2:50 in the video, the protesters are fired upon at what seems to be close range.

Watch the video here.


LIBYA: 5:43 p.m. (EET) / 10:43 a.m. (EST), Friday

Libyan Prince Muhammad bin Sayyid Hassan as-Senussi told Businessweek that the country's tribes are united against Moammar Qaddafi, who toppled Senussi's great-uncle in a 1969 coup, and that there is no risk of civil war. Talk of civil war has been "created by the regime to spread fear," as-Senussi said in a telephone interview from London.


LIBYA: 5:08 p.m. (EET) / 10:08 a.m. (EST), Friday

The International Organisation of Migration says that the exodus of mostly foreign migrants from eastern Libya to Tunisia is increasing, with up to 7,408 new arrivals over a 24-hour period as of Friday morning at a single border crossing, according to Al Jazeera. The total number of arrivals in Egypt, Tunisia and Niger has reached around 40,000 to 50,000.

height
Egyptian evacuees sleep in an airshed after fleeing from Libya, on February 25, 2011, at the Ras Jdir border post, near the Tunisian city of Ben Guerdane. (FRED DUFOUR/AFP/Getty Images)

LIBYA: 4:53 p.m. (EET) / 9:53 a.m. (EST), Friday

At least five people have been killed in Tripoli after security forces opened fire on anti-government protesters in the Janzour district, MSNBC quoted a resident as saying.


IRAQ: 5:30 p.m. (AST) / 9:30 a.m. (EST), Friday

Local security forces say at least 13 people have been killed in a car bomb attack in northern Iraq.


LIBYA: 3:40p.m. (EET) / 8:40 a.m. (EST), Friday

Protesters approach Tripoli, Gaddafi hangs on

Gunfire erupted in at least three neighborhoods of the Libyan capital of Tripoli after prayers finished Friday, as opponents of Moammar Gaddafi tried to revive their protests against his regime in spite of a massive security clampdown.

Libyan state TV had announced hours earlier that the government will give each family 500 dinars ($400) to cover increased food costs, while some public sector workers will receive a pay raise of 150%.

In Benghazi, 600 miles east of the capital, a parallel government began to take shape that included citizen leaders as well as former government officials and military officers.

International efforts to stem the bloodshed gained momentum with the United Nations Security Council scheduled to discuss a draft proposal for sanctions against Libyan leaders and NATO convening an emergency session in Brussels.

Libya's food supply chain is at risk of collapse, the U.N.'s World Food Program said.


IRAQ: 4:40 p.m. (AST) / 8:40 a.m. (EST), Friday

Iraq's "Day of Anger"

height
Residents demonstrate at Tahrir square in central Baghdad Feb. 25, 2011. The banner reads, "No for corruption, no for poverty, no for unemployment, no for terrorism, yes for the freedom and dignity." (REUTERS/Thaier al-Sudani)

Tens of thousands rallied in cities across Iraq during what has been billed as the "Day of Rage." Iraqi security forces attempting to disperse crowds killed five people Friday.

About 2,000 protesters are said to have gathered after weeks of scattered protests calling for an end to corruption, shortages of jobs, food, power and water.

By Elizabeth Flock  | February 25, 2011; 4:47 PM ET
Categories:  The Daily Catch  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Archie grows up; a battle with light sabers; and planes and cars mix
Next: Charlie Sheen rant gets the Internet a-giddy

Comments

Libya is paying off $400.00 to buy peace. Somes like the Obama administration trying to buy off the US public by offering the similus rebates.

Posted by: sales7 | February 25, 2011 11:10 AM | Report abuse

Tomorrow is the U.S. day of rage -- but so far the mainstream media doesn't get that.

"Don't Sit on the Sidelines -- This Saturday, Be Part of the Uprising Sweeping the Country from Wisconsin to Your Home Town"

http://www.alternet.org/news/150045/don%27t_sit_on_the_sidelines_--_this_saturday%2C_be_part_of_the_uprising_sweeping_the_country_from_wisconsin_to_your_home_town_

Posted by: vedic1 | February 25, 2011 12:14 PM | Report abuse

Tomorrow is the U.S. day of rage -- but so far the mainstream media doesn't get that.

"Don't Sit on the Sidelines -- This Saturday, Be Part of the Uprising Sweeping the Country from Wisconsin to Your Home Town"

http://www.alternet.org/news/150045/don%27t_sit_on_the_sidelines_--_this_saturday%2C_be_part_of_the_uprising_sweeping_the_country_from_wisconsin_to_your_home_town_

Posted by: vedic1 | February 25, 2011 12:30 PM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge washingtonpost.com's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.




characters remaining

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company