Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: kcarrera and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Sports and Redskins  |  RSS

Alex Ovechkin wins third straight Lindsay Award

(Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

(Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, given to the NHLPA's choice for most outstanding player.)

From an NHL news release:

Ted Lindsay was on hand to present the players' award as part of the 2010 NHL Awards, held at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. Ted Lindsay Award finalists, Henrik Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks and Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, were also in attendance.
"I'd like to congratulate Alex Ovechkin on receiving this award after another great year. Receiving this nod of respect from your peers carries a lot of meaning, and I know Alex will cherish this honour," said Lindsay, following the presentation of the first Ted Lindsay Award.

Ovechkin is the first player since Wayne Gretzky to receive the honor for three consecutive years.

By Lindsay Applebaum  |  June 23, 2010; 8:13 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Q&A with Alex Ovechkin
Next: Jose Theodore honored with Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy


Congrats to Ovie, you earned it! And congrats to Theo on winning the Masterton.

Posted by: timmyv38 | June 23, 2010 8:29 PM | Report abuse

This is awesome. Like everyone else I am tired of the comparisons to Crysby - but I can't help think that somehow the kid will never win this award once - let alone three times - because it comes from his peers. Milbury take note.

Posted by: CAP-lanta | June 23, 2010 11:20 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company