Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: kcarrera and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Sports and Redskins  |  RSS

Video: Penguins Voice Complaints

Here's Tarik's latest video update from Mellon Arena in Pittsburgh, where the news of the day involves the Penguins taking issue with the Capitals' faceoffs and the curvature of Alex Ovechkin's stick:

By Lindsay Applebaum  |  May 6, 2009; 2:52 PM ET
 
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Ovechkin, Malkin and Datsyuk Up for Pearson
Next: Fehr, Erskine Game-Time Decisions

Comments

Crosby is "immaculant of skill". A Pens fan told me so.

Posted by: richmondphil | May 6, 2009 2:53 PM | Report abuse

At first i thought it was just Crosby. But now i know the whole Penguins team are crybaby's. This is hockey....Take the losses like men...not like the women you are! Wah!!

GO CAPS!

Posted by: OviFan08 | May 6, 2009 2:55 PM | Report abuse

And I thought the Rangers were whinny, the Pens top them.

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 2:56 PM | Report abuse

WhyGo would like to register a formal complaint, TO WIT: STOP COMPLAINING!

Actually, don't bother. It just confirms our belief that the Pens feel entitled to special treatment because they are special.

The only team in the NHL with a girl as the best (make that 2nd best) player.

She did get a 'dirty goal' hattrick, though.

Posted by: WhyGo | May 6, 2009 2:57 PM | Report abuse

whiny*

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 2:57 PM | Report abuse

We can only shut them up one way, and that is win tonight. But they probably will dig deep to find something else to complain about. They've complained about everything already, from hats to the curve of Ovechkin's stick. Let's shut them up tonight!!!!!! GO CAPS! =)

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 2:59 PM | Report abuse

Pens will bring it all tonight, they lose this one and they are done. If the Caps do the 1st period sleepwalk thing, it will be over quickly.

I predict a totally hard fought game with a heart-stopping win by the Caps in OT.

Posted by: WhyGo | May 6, 2009 3:00 PM | Report abuse

Pittsburgh has a reputation as such a big, manly industrial city, and yet their hockey team whines like 8 year girls. The city should be ashamed of them.

Posted by: oldtimehockey | May 6, 2009 3:00 PM | Report abuse

richmondphil - I guess their english teacher jobbed them of an education

Posted by: superpaqman | May 6, 2009 3:01 PM | Report abuse

WhyGo: Caps management used to say that to Brendan -- TO WITT: STOP COMPLAINING!

Posted by: uncatim | May 6, 2009 3:01 PM | Report abuse

Either that or we lose by 3 goals. One or the other, just depends on the first period. Caps push back, they win in OT. No push back and they lose by 3 goals.

Posted by: WhyGo | May 6, 2009 3:02 PM | Report abuse

penQuins?

Posted by: CheckingLine | May 6, 2009 3:02 PM | Report abuse

Looked like Tarik was trying to kiss the cam....

Good point about Cooke, Tarik. He would have known if it was a set play. Of course, he could have been trying to draw the penalty.

Posted by: Leeguru | May 6, 2009 3:02 PM | Report abuse

I thought that same thing as I typed it!

Posted by: WhyGo | May 6, 2009 3:02 PM | Report abuse

Nylander will be a factor tonight. See if I am wrong. I bet he holds the puck and feeds it and gets some shots and will be even or plus for the game.

Posted by: WhyGo | May 6, 2009 3:04 PM | Report abuse

If the object of the game were to outwhine an opponent the Penguins would win the Stanley Cup every year of Crosby's career.

As for Kunitz, at least he realizes that he got away with one, but he's also lying by saying that he was just trying to make space. I hope someone tries to make space for their elbow where his head is.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:06 PM | Report abuse

I hope someone tries to make space for their elbow where his head is.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:06 PM |

LOL.

Posted by: richmondphil | May 6, 2009 3:07 PM | Report abuse

ranndino: Pretty sure the Rangers already ran away with that one after writing a letter to the NHL to cry about our fans

Posted by: remain | May 6, 2009 3:08 PM | Report abuse

GO PENS!!!! IM PREDICTING A WHITE OUT
why does everybody hate crosby because of his immaculant of skill DONT HATE THE PLAYER HATE THE GAME

Posted by: thaking16201

I'm betting the people with season tickets in the lower bowl wish this guy would stop representing them. 1) Home games are always a white out, so thats not a prediction, like 'the sun will rise tomorrow' isn't a prediction. 2) Are you asking a question? There are a lot of reasons that people hate crosby, but I'm not sure his immaculant of skill is one of them.

Step away from the keyboard, Corky.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 3:08 PM | Report abuse

Yea but Crosby has immaculant of skill.

Posted by: richmondphil | May 6, 2009 3:09 PM | Report abuse

Can we please stop publishing (and legitimizing) Pittsburgh's whining and carrying on? I think they genuinely think that they're entitled to win this series by virtue of having Sidney Crosby.

Posted by: kittypawz | May 6, 2009 3:10 PM | Report abuse

All of this Pengwhining is completely ruining the fun of watching the series. Maybe I'll just watch the games and not read any more articles, blogs, etc. until it ends.

Posted by: CapsChick | May 6, 2009 3:12 PM | Report abuse

If the Pens get at least a split and take the series back to Washington I've got an idea for a song that should be sung by Caps fans at the end of the game that puts them out of their misery. It goes like this...

Wah-wah-wah... Wah-wah-wah... Wah-wah-wah... Goodbye.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:12 PM | Report abuse

immaculant means "much less than ovechkin"

Posted by: dcsportsfan1 | May 6, 2009 3:13 PM | Report abuse

Wonderful! As long as the Pens are focused on whining about the Caps, they'll be less focused on actually correcting the things that got them into this situation in the first place.

Posted by: SavedByZero | May 6, 2009 3:13 PM | Report abuse

I was going to ask why Budreau doesn't voice our own complaints, especially with regard to Kunitz, but then I figured he probably knows better. You know what complaining conveys? Fear, weakness and insecurity. A team determined on winning and confident about it would be focused on nothing but that.

Only minor concern I have. Tarik, my friend, what do you mean "Alex has not been busted so far" as far as you know (regarding his stick's specs)? Doesn't this imply that he is guilty or you wouldn't put it past him to do it but he just has not been busted? Just making sure we don't give them any amunition for attacking our boy.

Posted by: caraveli | May 6, 2009 3:14 PM | Report abuse

immaculant means "much less than ovechkin"

Posted by: dcsportsfan1 | May 6, 2009 3:13 PM |
haha.

Posted by: richmondphil | May 6, 2009 3:14 PM | Report abuse

@ SavedByZero
"Wonderful! As long as the Pens are focused on whining about the Caps, they'll be less focused on actually correcting the things that got them into this situation in the first place."

Exactly my point. Hearing all this complaining makes me feel more confident about tonight.

So it's not just Crosby but the whole club that is whiny?

Posted by: caraveli | May 6, 2009 3:16 PM | Report abuse

make sure you check out more reporting on the city-wide whine epidemic that has engulfed Pittsburgh over at the Sports Bog.

Posted by: RedBirdie | May 6, 2009 3:17 PM | Report abuse

While we're on the subject of white out, doesn't Pittsburgh wear black at home? Not only is the team a bunch of whiners, the fans are stupid too!

Posted by: jwash4472 | May 6, 2009 3:18 PM | Report abuse

DCsports, regarding the lottery, when we won in 04 it was a weighted odd, with 5 teams in contention. In 05, everybody had the same odds (though it would have been safer to assume that the bottom teams would remain near the bottom and so should have had better odds). Yet, the Pens won, the same team that Bettman has been hard for all these years. What amazing luck... just saying. I like conspiracy theories for entertainment purposes.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 3:18 PM | Report abuse

@tess....from a couple of threads back. You can play with an illegal stick. The other team has to ask for a measurement. If the stick is legal then they get 21 minutes for delay of game. If the stick is illegal then the person using it gets 2 minutes and a think a fine. That is why you often see teams down 2 goals late in a game ask for a measurement, they have nothing to lose.

Posted by: RichC3 | May 6, 2009 3:20 PM | Report abuse

@tess....from a couple of threads back. You can play with an illegal stick. The other team has to ask for a measurement. If the stick is legal then they get 2 minutes for delay of game. If the stick is illegal then the person using it gets 2 minutes and a think a fine. That is why you often see teams down 2 goals late in a game ask for a measurement, they have nothing to lose.

Posted by: RichC3 | May 6, 2009 3:20 PM | Report abuse

As evidenced by thaking16201 the girls in Pittsburgh must be really impressed by guys who are incorrectly using big words from their pocket dictionary.

Wow, you said incogulant. I think I have that Madonna album. Let's make love of passion fruit.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:21 PM | Report abuse


Why don't you actually run a blog any more Tarik?? Instead of a photo shoot. I would love to see your old format come back instead of these annoying "videos" which only work less than half the time. If you were meant to be on the big screen, you would be in Hollywood my man.
Thanks for your efforts however.

Posted by: rblatch45 | May 6, 2009 3:21 PM | Report abuse

thn has an umm interesting article on Bettman and Basillie

http://www.thehockeynews.com/articles/25997-NHL-commissioner-Gary-Bettman-skeptical-of-Balsillie-offer-for-Coyotes.html

sounds like bettman is trying to blackball basillie to me

Posted by: JIMALLCAPS | May 6, 2009 3:22 PM | Report abuse

Let's make love of passion fruit.

hahahahahahhahahahaha.

BLots of goodies today. There was the naming of the new arena, misc comments about pens players, and now this.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 3:23 PM | Report abuse

Some guy told me how he was able to shut Crosby up but it's not fit to post. =X

LOVE the song, randdino! Count me in to sing that song when the Penguins return to Verizon for Game 5.

Posted by: LeftCoastCapsFan | May 6, 2009 3:23 PM | Report abuse

JIMALLCAPS the only response to your post and that article is "Bettman MUST go!!"

Posted by: jwash4472 | May 6, 2009 3:23 PM | Report abuse

when isn't Bettman trying to block Balsillie? Balsille tried to get Nashville last year (or two years ago....) and before that? Yep, the near-bankrupt Penguins. It should be entertaining to wtach, though. Bettman and Balsillie hate each other.

Posted by: RedBirdie | May 6, 2009 3:26 PM | Report abuse

I'm guessing they break out the powder blues for tonight in Mellon. Any takers?

Another game that a coin toss for these two teams. I'll be glued to the feed.

Play hard, Caps.

Posted by: saintex | May 6, 2009 3:27 PM | Report abuse

OV's stick: Composite sticks are very hard to bend to something different then the factory specs. A company would be stupid to knowingly manufacture illegal sticks for fear of losing there right to supply NHL sticks. This is just another example of the cry baby's in pigsburg.

The wood and fiberglass/wood blades could be easily bent with a blow torch or hair dryer.

Posted by: cadlecreek1 | May 6, 2009 3:28 PM | Report abuse

Ahhhh- the ole Phil Jackson after a playoff loss 'working the ref'.

Signs of a team down luv-2. desperation.
Interference is like holding in football - happens on every play on every team.

Pot & kettle.

Posted by: Rocc00 | May 6, 2009 3:29 PM | Report abuse

A massive epidemic of whine flu started with Cynthia Crosby and spread rapidly in Pennsylvania. It appears Cynthia thought his role has the face of hockey came with perks on the ice.

Posted by: A-Contrario | May 6, 2009 3:29 PM | Report abuse

Balsille wants to move it to Southern Ontario.

Bettman isn't giving up his hockey teams in non hockey places project yet.

Posted by: richmondphil | May 6, 2009 3:30 PM | Report abuse

Hey Tarik, I just read Allan Muir's SI article, the one referring to Green. Are you sending him my posts or something, because I've been saying all that stuff for a while now. Hook me up with a job, my man, because it seems I'm missing my calling.

: )

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 3:32 PM | Report abuse

So after publicly whining about the curvature of Alex's stick, I'm thinking the Pens won't back up their whining and actually challenge it because they know they would get the 2 minute penalty for being wrong. It just really annoys me that Kunitz only gets a fine and then the Pens start complaining about everything under the sun.

Posted by: NovaCath | May 6, 2009 3:32 PM | Report abuse

Bylsma just complained to Bettman that the Caps are wearing illegally thick tread on the metaphorical boot crushing his throat.

Posted by: TheLeaver | May 6, 2009 3:32 PM | Report abuse

If I could be serious for a moment, I respect Crosby's skill. He's a great hockey player. I've even defended him previously.

However, the amount of whining he has done this season (agreeing with Cherry on Ovie's celebrations being too wild and then jumping into the glass after he scored a goal in the very next game, complaining about Ovie "running around" and the amount of hats on the ice during last game) and his complete and utter inability to ever give his opponents any credit for doing something well (Varlamov just swims in the crease) is really frigging annoying.

Also, his 2 so called fights this year made me lose a lot of respect for him, as well. Both were pathetic ambushes.

The biggest difference between Crosby and Ovechkin is that #8 has a very strong sense of honor while #87 is completely devoid of it.

Ovie is down to earth, fun loving, and sincere for whom playing hockey is a passion. Crosby is a corporate drone for whom playing hockey is hard work necessary to be done in order to accumulate wealth.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:32 PM | Report abuse

I hope the Refs put the whistles away and just let them play like they used to do in the playoffs in the 80's and early 90's.

Posted by: gtydings | May 6, 2009 3:33 PM | Report abuse

cadlecreek1, exactly. You mess with a composite material and you get a brittle blade. Its composite, it doesn't bend like wood and altering it would reduce the integrity of the material. They already break enough and the advantage of the curve is outweighed byt he risk of the blade breaking when your down a goal. (there's another conspiracy: if you made sticks that sold for $200+ a pop wouldn't you want them constantly replaced as well?) I dont believe that a manufacturer would build an illegal stick for exactly the reasons you said; being banned from selling to the nhl would bury the company.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 3:36 PM | Report abuse

"GO PENS!!!! IM PREDICTING A WHITE OUT
why does everybody hate crosby because of his immaculant of skill DONT HATE THE PLAYER HATE THE GAME"

************************

Looks like banjo practice let out early today...

Posted by: TheLeaver | May 6, 2009 3:42 PM | Report abuse

I'm with gtydings on this one.

officiating was definitely a factor in game two, with awful calls going down for both sides. I'm still wondering where that high sticking call that was tagged on to the coincidental roughing minor on Semin after defending himself from Orpik's facewash. I'll admit he is young and has taken WAY too many dumb penalties, but I was glad he stuck up for himself there and sent a signal to the Pens' midliners that he's not taking their crap.

Officiating in recent years has been very very soft and disruptive to the flow of the game. Playoffs need to be a time for stingy whistles and no incentives for embellishment. If someone like Orpik tactically attacks Semin after a whistle, in the name of hockey he should be allowed to adequately defend himself.

Posted by: fronesis1016 | May 6, 2009 3:42 PM | Report abuse

The Coyotes should be sold to Medvedev, the guy behind the Russian KHL (who is apparently looking into purchasing an NHL team), moved to Quebec City, wear uniforms designed in the old Soviet style with CCCP as part of their logo, renamed The Red Army and institute a policy of only drafting Euros and Quebecois (French Canadians).

It probably won't work, but it just might finally kill Don Cherry.

Posted by: ranndino | May 6, 2009 3:43 PM | Report abuse

ranndino: His fight with Brett McLean (Not sure if that's his name?) was really classless. Seriously, picking a fight with a guy whose head is down during a faceoff? I remember McLean making a statement where he said what Crosby did was really embarrassing and classless. Does anyone remember what Crosby had to say after the fight? I really would like to know what he had to say. He's so quick to complain about other people yet he will never talk about some of the things he has done.

On the entire Pens team: Everything they could've possibly complained about, they have. It's pathetic. Quit complaining and play the game.

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 3:45 PM | Report abuse

The Pens will win tonight. I've spent too much time talking crap about Crosby today. Karma will bite me in the butt, for sure.

Posted by: JohninMpls | May 6, 2009 3:46 PM | Report abuse

A couple things...at least Kunitz is man enough about it to admit it looks pretty bad on replays. His honest tone about it makes me wonder if he really wasn't just trying to "make space" but completely wasn't paying attention to his surroundings or what he was doing with his stick. Is what it is.

I miss everyone saying this team isn't built for playoff success. Or that both the NHL team and the AHL team won't win in the playoffs. Seriously, it was entertaining.

I hope we come out tonight with the urgency of knowing we can put a stranglehold on this series. We don't need to steal anything, we can be the better team. Neither team has played at their top level yet, but we've done enough and gotten contributions from enough other people to pull out Games 1 and 2.

Need to handle their push early on and capitalize on our PP chances. In a road game like this, special teams can determine who comes out on top. I wonder if we'll get any credit if we go up 3-0...

Posted by: Davethecapsfan | May 6, 2009 3:46 PM | Report abuse

Isn't this Burgh whining similar to the attitude of the Rangers when they started to fall apart? It didn't work out for them, either.

Let Burgh continue to worry about matters where they have no control. They're going to throw the kitchen sink at the Caps tonight...especially in the whining department.

Posted by: pga6 | May 6, 2009 3:47 PM | Report abuse

It's true, Crosby's a heckuva a player. He's been the best Pen on the ice and he's putting them home when it matters. But ya just can't make up Monday night's commentary (too many hats -- make them stop!). He's too much.

That stated, we have got one major adjustment to make on D. Greenie's not the only one who utterly failed to stop Crosby from wheeling freely around our net. Whether we can stop that without opening up other major opportunities for the Pens may tell the tale tonight.

With smart adjustment, and if special teams remain a big factor in this series, I'll put my money on the Caps tonight.

Posted by: Sonyask | May 6, 2009 3:50 PM | Report abuse

Are you kidding me?? This team/state breeds crybabies. Crying about holdings, dives, and interference and now sticks. Everyone does all this stuff they are crying about...I guess they are mad they are getting beat at their own game.

Yea...OV dove. Big deal. He got away with it just like Cindy normally does. Yea Semin interfered with cook and we have been running picks on the Powerplay. Apparently they forgot that this is the PLAYOFFS. You get away with some stuff and if you sell other stuff you get a call. Stop crying you babies. For being such a "hockeytown" you people cry more than anyone i have ever played hockey with or against.

Posted by: CapsFan44 | May 6, 2009 3:57 PM | Report abuse

@JIMALLCAPS
Basillie would be an owner already if he didn't constantly prematurely announce plans to move teams to southern Ontario where the Leafs and Sabres would try to block any move. I wonder if he really does want to own a team. He has to have been told to keep quiet and say nice things about trying to make it work in city X.

Posted by: koalatek | May 6, 2009 3:58 PM | Report abuse

A manufacturer wouldn't be banned from the NHL for producing sticks with illegal curves. If the composite is cured correctly you can't bend it and have it stay. It isn't even an integrity issue, you just can't do it unless the resin is absolute garbage. Any illegal ones would need to be made by the manufacturers. But how many times does Ovechkin break a stick durign a game? If I was him I'd switch sticks every shift. I didn't notice him breaking as many last game, maybe he's started swapping them out before the damage builds up enough for them to fracture. The smart way to do it is to swap for a fresh one after each shift and have the previous stick inspected before using it again. All you'd need is a guy with an air coupled ultrasonic a laptop, and some inspection training.

Posted by: Stu_c | May 6, 2009 3:58 PM | Report abuse

What a bunch of freakin whiners!

Posted by: TheSkyIsntFalling | May 6, 2009 4:09 PM | Report abuse

dear ci,

hate your video updates

sincerely,

user on a phone commuting on a bus

Posted by: mikebrady1 | May 6, 2009 4:16 PM | Report abuse

Still 100% convinced there was no interference on either of our power play goals...running into Green as he's driving the net on a 5 on 3 is not interference. Tangling up with Semin while both are pinching in for a draw then stepping on his stick and falling over is not interference either.

The moving picks they have been running on our guys going in on the forecheck (Brads has had to deal with this a lot) are far worse examples of interference that are going uncalled.

Posted by: Davethecapsfan | May 6, 2009 4:16 PM | Report abuse

Don't players and staff get fined for criticizing the integrity of the on ice officials? By saying that these "penalties" happened, but were not called would fall into that category. It is fine when the media makes these statements, but when they are directly attributed to a player, then that player I would think would be disciplined by the league or at least told to shut his mouth and stop making the league look bad.

All games are reviewed by the league and the officials are rated and reviewed. Its time for the Penguins players to stop whining and prove it on the ice. I would dare them to ask for a stick measurement on Ovie and be wrong. Someone ask Barry Melrose how it goes when you are wrong about a stick measurement.

Posted by: lornemyoung | May 6, 2009 4:17 PM | Report abuse

Caps in 4.
Suck it, Cindy.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 4:18 PM | Report abuse

Regarding the Basilie thing: its actually an interesting legal question: could a bankruptcy judge permit Basilie to take move the team to Ontario, even if the league objects? I won't even begin to weigh in on this one.

But, hypothetically, I could imagine the league trying to get the last laugh. The Coyoyes are in the Pacific division. Can't imagine the league would be compelleed to change the divisions. That means lots of travel from Ontario to LA, etc. I bet a lot of the other teams in the division wouldn't like it either...

Posted by: oldtimehockey | May 6, 2009 4:20 PM | Report abuse

What the heck does he mean by southern Ontario - Hamilton?

Posted by: ccCapsfan | May 6, 2009 4:23 PM | Report abuse

How much you wanna bet that if the Pens win tonight, some Pens fans will come on here and act like they just won the Stanley Cup.

JohninMpls: I feel the same way as you do! I feel like I have talked too much to the loser Pens fan and about the team complaining, I think it's gonna come back to bite me! I'm scared now, we GOTTA win tonight!! (or I'll feel like a complete loser.)

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 4:25 PM | Report abuse

Pens can't win on the ice, so they resort to whining. There have been blown calls in every game this series. We scored on a 5-3, the pens didn't. The Caps are doing a great job on converting their chances when they need it most. The Pens need to shut up and do their talking on the ice. Huge game tonight; I think if we split, it's on to the Eastern Conference Finals. GO CAPS!!!

Posted by: reesem37 | May 6, 2009 4:25 PM | Report abuse

Does anyone know how to get the game tonite if you have Cox Cable. I don't get Versus and it is not on Comcast...is it been downloaded anywhere on the net? Or do I have to go to the bar? Help!!!

Posted by: RogerNoVa | May 6, 2009 4:28 PM | Report abuse

Hi Roger,

If you have HD service from cox, it's channel 735.

Otherwise, you can try this link:
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/PuckYou

I had success with it during game 7 of the Rangers series

Posted by: -swb | May 6, 2009 4:31 PM | Report abuse

hockeystreams.com but make sure you have a direct connection. It's fishy as hell through wireless.

Posted by: cappies | May 6, 2009 4:33 PM | Report abuse

NHL reserves the right to inspect all equipement used in league sanctioned events and approve the manufacturers of such goods. If you piss them off you could get the boot or put on the no way list for big bids. Ov uses ccm sticks. One of the largest manufacturers of hockey equipement. They may take a chance but do they really want to lose out on business over 1 player. I doubt it.

Posted by: cadlecreek1 | May 6, 2009 4:33 PM | Report abuse

Roger: Don't know about Cox, but I called RCN and added Versus (along with an entire NHL package, and NFL package, and some fringe sports channels) for $4.99/mo (or about what you'll spend the 1st time you step up to the bar tonight), and I can cancel anytime. They had it in place w/in a half hr of my call to them.

Posted by: Sonyask | May 6, 2009 4:36 PM | Report abuse

Even though the Pens have already gotten the benefit of having more PP's than us so far, I'm guessing that trend is going to continue in PA tonight. Just don't see any way that the refs let us even touch anyone. If the PK is up to the task, we can get this one.

GO CAPS!

Posted by: ovys8 | May 6, 2009 4:39 PM | Report abuse

Wow what I am seeing here is just a bunch of bad sports. I have been a hockey fan for many many years and I have never seen such poor sportmanship from fans. I enjoy hockey at all levels and I have never been a witness to such horrible fans as I have seen during these playoffs. I have to say that I am ashamed of the fans out there that have to dis another team to make themselves feel superior. Especially when they have to limit the tickets to only their fans so they can feel like they have the upper hand. I think that is really the lowest of the blows here, everyone should be able to pay the money and get to see their favorite team play regardless of who they are cheering for.

As for the people that are saying that the Penguins were "whining", I think you should take a reality step back and think about what you would do if it was you in that position. Nobody wants to get screwed over, and everyone tries everything they can to prevent it. I look forward to the next game and I really hope that the Penguins beat the Caps tonight just so you "whining" Caps fans will shut up!

Posted by: LuvHockey | May 6, 2009 4:39 PM | Report abuse

I saw some video footage of the Pens team outside of the locker room. Most of the players were having fun. Cindy was sitting by himself completely isolated. It was sad. I've seen plenty of footage of the Caps and everyone is having a blast, shooting some hoops or just blowing off steam. You always see Ovie in the middle of it.

Hockey is a game and those who enjoy it the most will excel the most. Cindy has great hands, but without the hunger and love of the game, he will peak early.

Posted by: mobileclem | May 6, 2009 4:46 PM | Report abuse

Hey, LuvHockey, you can suck it too.

Posted by: oo7 | May 6, 2009 4:48 PM | Report abuse

You want to get disgusted LuvHockey? Go check out http://www.thepensblog.com/. We're pretty darned civilized around here, I think.

Posted by: Sonyask | May 6, 2009 4:50 PM | Report abuse

My thoughts on the tickets thing...it would be an argument if there were empty seats in the building. It's not like we don't get enough of us in there to fill the place. I'd be a little upset if by not being a season ticket holder I couldn't get my seats but some Pens fans who somehow get access to offer codes or find loops in the system get in before me. There should be a better system in place and you wouldn't need to pull some of these stunts but it is what it is.

Also who is getting "screwed over" on calls? They've missed calls both ways in this series, but inventing stuff that isn't anywhere close to a penalty like claiming interference on our powerplay goals. Pens fans should be more angry that Ovie got away with embellishing to draw a call and the very iffy call on Letang last game. Of course the telling fact here is if Sid did the same thing Ovie did there might not even be that much of an uproar because it would be expected. When Ovie embellishes it's a big deal.

Posted by: Davethecapsfan | May 6, 2009 4:54 PM | Report abuse

Awww sweet! It's a troll. Well. one thing to think about: Do confident but concerned teams go out and start blaming the other team and complaining about calls, or do they look to themselves and try to tighten up?

I think the Pens thought this series would be a gimme. I think they expected to walk away with a 4-0 sweep, and suddenly they're facing a 0-2 hole and the surprise of their lives. And ... they have no idea what to do.

Posted by: kittypawz | May 6, 2009 4:54 PM | Report abuse

Luv,
exactly how have the pens gotten screwed over? you should check out pensblog. lots of posts about ovie and career ending injuries.

ps. lots of tickets on ebay/stubhub available to everyone, regarless of team affiliation. get over it.

Posted by: dcsportsfan1 | May 6, 2009 4:55 PM | Report abuse

this is from an article about the coyotes bankruptcy and potential sale and relocation, straight from the good ol Commish...

"We generally try to avoid relocating franchises unless you absolutely have to," he said. "We think when a franchise is in trouble, you try and fix the problems. That's what we did in Pittsburgh and Ottawa and Buffalo prior to our work stoppage. That's what we did when the perception was that five out of the six Canadian franchises around the turn of the century were in trouble. We fixed the problems. We don't run out on cities."


beyond the ridiculous whining by these flightless birdies...they like to jab D.C. for our bandwagon fans....well it seems the commish thought Pitt was in serious trouble just a few years back...but they are just the best "hockey town" ever arent they????

3-0 tonight friends, LETS GO CAPS!!!!!

Posted by: Pantera105 | May 6, 2009 4:57 PM | Report abuse

LuvHockey obviously hasn't been on thePensBlog recently. If you want the definition of poor sportmanship and people "dissing" another team to make themselves feel better then just look to your team's blog and stop crying here.

Posted by: Moose33 | May 6, 2009 4:57 PM | Report abuse

Roger: Cox in Fairfax has a $2/month sports channel package.

Posted by: CapsChick | May 6, 2009 4:57 PM | Report abuse

wow, theres a reason pittsburgh doesnt restrict ticket purchases, cause they are not sold out! here's what i JUST FOUND on ticketmaster...center ice for tonight!!! GREAT FANS!!!!!!


Pittsburgh Penguins v. Capitals - Playoffs Round 2, Home Game 1
Mellon Arena, Pittsburgh, PA
Wed, May 6, 2009 07:00 PM
Your Ticket(s)
Section
Row
Seats
Description
IGLO3E
V
10 - 9
IGLOO EAST
ON OR BETWEEN THE BLUE LINES
PRICE LEVEL 1 Type2 FULL PRICE TICKETS Ticket PriceUS $250.00 x 2 Convenience ChargeUS $13.25 x 2

Posted by: dcsportsfan1 | May 6, 2009 4:59 PM | Report abuse

LuvHockey

You're clearly a Pens fan, so just come out and say it (or you're at least an anti-caps fan, why else would you bother coming in here?). I'm totally fine (in theory, supporting freedom of speech and such) with you coming in here and talking smack about Caps fans but don't try to play this all high and mighty like you've never heard sports banter before. I don't think any of us are saying anything beyond reproach; we are dogging on the team we are playing against, what do you expect? Are we supposed to want to skip in a field of daisies holding Cindy's hand? No thank you.

Or are you one of those people who tells kids that it's ok because everyone is a winner? This is hockey- there are rivalries, trash talk, hitting, fighting and scoring. There are winners and there are losers. Put up or shut up.

Posted by: mrszilla | May 6, 2009 4:59 PM | Report abuse

...As for the people that are saying that the Penguins were "whining", I think you should take a reality step back and think about what you would do if it was you in that position.

Posted by: LuvHockey | May 6, 2009 4:39 PM | Report abuse

Down 2-0 in a series...we were there and didnt complain about goofy stuff. We beared down and got the job done. Got golas from people other than "8" and won the series.

In stead of watching the game film gor illegal sticks and bad faceoffs...find a way to keep your NHL crowned goldenboy from getting bounced in the second round.

I am CheyenneWy and I apporve this message

Posted by: CheyenneWY | May 6, 2009 5:03 PM | Report abuse

Why does Chris Clark get to play? All he does is cough up the puck and take dumb penalties. He's way too slow for this team.

Posted by: notfadeaway | May 6, 2009 5:05 PM | Report abuse

My compliments to Kunitz for stepping up and taking responsibility for what happened to Varlamov...pretty classy

Posted by: CheyenneWY | May 6, 2009 5:07 PM | Report abuse

My compliments to Kunitz for stepping up and taking responsibility for what happened to Varlamov...pretty classy

Posted by: CheyenneWY | May 6, 2009 5:07 PM | Report abuse

I agree. Obviously he's not going to comeout and say he did it intentionally so I'll give him props for that at least but make no mistake about it, it was not accidental.

Posted by: Moose33 | May 6, 2009 5:13 PM | Report abuse

re: Kunitz

He def is trying to diffuse the anger against him... someone must have told him we were all sharpening the pitchforks...

Posted by: mrszilla | May 6, 2009 5:18 PM | Report abuse

I just got back from pensblog, and man I'm actually a little worried. Their fans now have something to rally arround. Yes that's right, they are channeling the power of.......HACKSAW JIM DUGGAN. God help us all.


P.S. Davethecapsfan, way to go out there and get your nose dirty.

Posted by: superpaqman | May 6, 2009 5:19 PM | Report abuse

A couple og the guys I watch the games with here in Cheyenne are Penguins fans and they say that Kunitz is a liability on the ice.

They were hoping for a suspension to get him out of the game.

Posted by: CheyenneWY | May 6, 2009 5:20 PM | Report abuse

Wow. I went to PensBlog...what a Vile place.

Any outsider thinking there are poor sports here need only read 1/2 a page of the comments over there to be made a fool of.

Posted by: CheckingLine | May 6, 2009 5:21 PM | Report abuse

Penguins suck?

Posted by: lylewimbledon | May 6, 2009 5:23 PM | Report abuse

PENGUINS SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: lylewimbledon | May 6, 2009 5:24 PM | Report abuse

Any predictions on the final score tonight?


Posted by: CheyenneWY | May 6, 2009 5:24 PM | Report abuse

5-3...I don't know which team gets what though.

Posted by: CheckingLine | May 6, 2009 5:26 PM | Report abuse

I've been on hockeystreams all season at $9.99 a month for every single NHL game and upgraded to $12.99 a month at playoff time for every game in HD. I watch on my laptop at home, via my wireless, and I've had no problems at all. You can also buy the service for a single day or single week. There's no commitment and you simply pay via PayPal. Considering NHL.com runs $20 per month and I can't see any Caps games (home or away) unless I'm out of the area, it's a great deal.

Posted by: saintex | May 6, 2009 5:27 PM | Report abuse

As for the people that are saying that the Penguins were "whining", I think you should take a reality step back and think about what you would do if it was you in that position. Nobody wants to get screwed over, and everyone tries everything they can to prevent it. I look forward to the next game and I really hope that the Penguins beat the Caps tonight just so you "whining" Caps fans will shut up!

Posted by: LuvHockey

You're kidding right? Um, there are a lot of things the Caps could complain about, but are they complaining? I hate people who talk about their team getting screwed over and they don't realize that things have gone their way as well. Don't just look at the bad things and forget the things that have went your way. It's not all fair.

"Wow what I am seeing here is just a bunch of bad sports. I have been a hockey fan for many many years and I have never seen such poor sportmanship from fans. I enjoy hockey at all levels and I have never been a witness to such horrible fans as I have seen during these playoffs. I have to say that I am ashamed of the fans out there that have to dis another team to make themselves feel superior."

Hypocrite! That's exactly what Pens fans do to Caps fans as well. Oh wait, that's what EVERY team's fans to do other team's fans!! A prime example, all these loser Pens fans coming on here and dissing the Caps to feel superior and bring up history lessons about the Caps and Pens. Isn't that the same thing you said that we do? Seriously, get a life. If you think that's such a horrible thing maybe you should'nt be a hockey fan. Before you start calling out people, you should really think about Pens fans, they're the SAME.

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 5:27 PM | Report abuse

@super

Not sure what you mean by that. I call it like I see it all the time. Honestly how can you hate on Hacksaw though? The guy had the worst gimmick in the world but got over big time.

Some of the people on Pensblog I can get along with, others are idiots same as you'll find on every blog. Believing we've been outplayed in every way except on the scoreboard is hilarious. Faceoffs through 2 games are pretty even, our PP has been more effective, we've held the run of play just as much as they have. Shots on goal is the only stat where they could claim a clear advantage and only in Game 1. 36-26 with 7 more minutes of PP time isn't exactly dominating.

As far too many teams have been able to tell us during the season. Shooting more means nothing.

Posted by: Davethecapsfan | May 6, 2009 5:28 PM | Report abuse

pittsburgh is suffering from the whine flu epidemic? better shut down the city!!

Posted by: PGM17 | May 6, 2009 5:34 PM | Report abuse

LuvHockey has never been on Pensblog. Or she/he has no CLUE what is going on. The things that Pens fans say are 100 times worse than what we are say. I mean, they talk about plans to injure our players, and ways to kill Ovie. They diss Ovie, Semin, anyone you can name. So I honestly have no idea where you have been, or maybe you're just being a homer and not seeing that Pens fans are the same. (If not worse, that's why I never visit Pensblog, the things they say are just vulgar and rude.

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 5:36 PM | Report abuse

You have to expect Malkin to come out a house of fire tonight...I'd expect them to pair up him with Crosby more than they have in the first 2 games. I liked the way we limited their odd man rushes more in Game 2 than we had in Game 1.

Posted by: Davethecapsfan | May 6, 2009 5:42 PM | Report abuse

I don't mind lively debates and complaints about rivals but I draw the line on outright insult and name calling like lylewimbledon saying PENGUINS suck!!!!!!!!!! It demeans the whole blog.

Have you ever heard Boudreau or our players say that the Penguins (or a rival team) sucks? On the contrary, BB says the Pens are a great team and never takes any win for granted. He and Ovechkin have praised Crosby to the skies. I remember that he almost chewed off someone's head when he suggested that Varly was on the same level as Lundy. He said that it would take years and years of proving himself before he came anywhere close to Lundquist.

One of Boudreau's secrets of success is that he never underestimates or demeans his opponents. The Pens are a great team and this is why the games are so exciting.

Posted by: caraveli | May 6, 2009 5:46 PM | Report abuse

I have a question: if the Pens are so sure that OV is using an illegal stick, why didn't they ask for a measurement? They asked the refs to tell the fans to stop throwing hats, why not ask for a measurement? And I thought the league did measurements before playoff games?

Posted by: Osfan092589 | May 6, 2009 5:46 PM | Report abuse

That's actually not true.

Each team was awarded anywhere from one to three lottery balls based on their regular season and playoff performance over the previous three seasons.

Four teams (Pittsburgh, Buffalo, Columbus, and the New York Rangers) had three balls in the lottery.

Ten teams had two balls in the lottery.

Sixteen teams, including Washington, had just one ball in the hopper.

So the odds of getting the number one pick were not the same for each team. Pittsburgh had a 1/16 chance of landing the first pick. Washington, on the other hand, had a 1/48 chance.

It doesn't mean it wasn't rigged. To this day, I think there's a strong chance the NBA rigged the back-to-back Orlando first picks in '92 and '93.

-----

In 05, everybody had the same odds (though it would have been safer to assume that the bottom teams would remain near the bottom and so should have had better odds)

Posted by: JohninMpls | May 6, 2009 5:48 PM | Report abuse

I have a great idea if the series makes it back to Verizon...

If everyone go out and buy a pacifier at Target/Walmart/etc. If Cindy begs for a call or God forbid gets a hat trick, everyone throw the pacifiers out onto the ice.

It would seriously make for a legendary sports moment that we could all be part of.

Posted by: daimon_junk | May 6, 2009 5:55 PM | Report abuse

daimon_junk: That's really funny. And the good thing with that is that people in the 400s could throw the pacifiers and it would acutally make the ice. (Unless you have a really, really weak arm.)

Posted by: rachel216 | May 6, 2009 6:05 PM | Report abuse

Do the Pens have cheese for their whine parties?

Posted by: OvechkinFan92801 | May 6, 2009 6:59 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company