Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Posted at 4:20 PM ET, 02/10/2011

The X-Men: First Class trailer: Facebook debacle edition

By Jen Chaney

Update: The trailer finally went live around 6 p.m. EST/3 p.m. PST. Here it is, kids.

As we announced earlier, the first full-length trailer for "X-Men: First Class" was supposed to launch on the movie's Facebook page today. But it hasn't happened yet. And X-Men fans are all up in mutant arms.

The press release Fox issued did not include a specific time for the trailer's release, but the X-Men Facebook page previously stated that the trailer would go live at 3 p.m. EST/noon PST. As the minutes ticked by with no clip, Facebookers started posting comments along the lines of "EPIC FAIL!!!!" and "This needs to be posted, like, yesterday. come on, fox." and "Im telling you, magneto erased it." (Honestly, the comment thread -- with 1,200-plus barbs and still growing -- may wind up being more entertaining than the trailer.)

When I reached out to Fox for an explanation, it responded by sending -- via a regional Fox publicist -- another copy of the previous press release. Either the studio is playing dumb or stalling. I am still attempting to get more of an explanation and will post it here once I receive it.

In any case, the attempt to kickstart a "First Class" social media campaign may have backfired ... unless, of course, that trailer goes up soon and knocks off everyone's socks. Then, all will be forgiven.

By Jen Chaney  | February 10, 2011; 4:20 PM ET
Categories:  Movies  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: X-Men: First Class trailer debuts today on Facebook
Next: Lady Gaga's new song, 'Born This Way,' premieres online. We think Madonna will like it.

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company