Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
E-mail Michael  |  On Facebook: Comic Riffs  |  On Twitter: Comic Riffs  |  RSS Feeds RSS Feed
Posted at 11:05 AM ET, 05/28/2010

'NEXT GREAT CARTOONIST': Check out the final list of celebrity judges

By Michael Cavna

Wake the kids, text the neighbors. The list of "celebrity judges" for The Post's "America's Next Great Cartoonist" Contest is now complete.

Comic Riffs came a-callin', and a dozen top cartoonists generously said yes. Frankly, we don't know quite how to thank them, except to say: Were we eligible to enter, we'd do so just for the shot at having these creators critique our work.

The 12 cartoonists who will comment upon the finalists' entries include four Pulitzer winners; multiple winners and nominees for the Reuben Award (aka "cartooning's Oscar"); the artist for one of the planet's most popular webcomics; and the legend who helped sire Spider-Man and Iron Man as he populated the Marvel universe.
So if you haven't entered already (and you meet a few little requirements), you can submit your strip by June 4 to the contest page -- with the chance of winning $1,000, a month's run of your work in The Washington Post and on Comic Riffs and a potential syndication contract.


Meantime, today we officially announce the full complement of "Next Great Cartoonist" celebrity judges (with their brief bios) They are:

LALO ALCARAZ is creator of "La Cucaracha," the nation's only political Latino-themed syndicated daily comic. He also is a co-host radio's "The Pocho Hour of Power." His work has appeared in the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times and the Village Voice.

DARRIN BELL is creator of "Candorville," which is syndicated by Washington Post Writers Group. He also creates "Rudy Park" with Theron Heir (the pen name of 2010 Pulitzer winner Matt Richtel).

MIKE KRAHULIK draws "Penny Arcade," the gaming-themed webcomic that has spawned multi-day PAX conventions, the charity Child's Play and too many online forums to count. Krahulik and co-creator Jerry Holkins recently cracked the Time 100 list of Most Influential people.

STAN LEE, the legendary former president and chairman of Marvel Comics, worked with such talent as Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko to help create Spider-Man, Iron Man, the Fantastic Four, the Avengers, X-Men, the Hulk and scores of other culturally iconic characters. King Features syndicates "The Amazing Spider-Man." Lee is now head of POW! Entertainment.

STEPHAN PASTIS is creator of "Pearls Before Swine." On May 29 in Jersey City, he is one of three nominees up for the National Cartoonists Society's big award, the Reuben.

HILARY PRICE is creator of "Rhymes With Orange." When it debuted in 1995, Price became the youngest woman with a syndicated daily strip. In 2007, "Rhymes With Orange" was named Best Cartoon Panel by the National Cartoonists Society.

JERRY SCOTT is co-creator of two of the most popular comic strips around: "Zits" and "Baby Blues." Scott won the NCS's Reuben Award in 2001.

RICHARD THOMPSON is creator of "Cul de Sac" and for years drew the cartoon "Richard's Poor Almanac" for The Washington Post. He, like Pastis, is one of three nominees for the NCS's Cartoonist of the Year award on May 29.

TOM TOLES is The Washington Post's Pulitzer-winning political cartoonist.

GARRY TRUDEAU is creator of "Doonesbury," the first comic strip ever to win the Pulitzer Prize. Doonesbury's military blog is "The Sandbox."

GENE WEINGARTEN , a two-time Pulitzer winner, is The Washington Post's humor columnist. His comic strip "Barney & Clyde," syndicated by Washington Post Writers Group, will launch June 7.

SIGNE WILKINSON is creator of the comic strip "Family Tree." She is also a Philadelphia Daily News political cartoonist who in 1992 became the first woman to win the the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning. She is also past president of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

By Michael Cavna  | May 28, 2010; 11:05 AM ET
Categories:  America's Next Great Cartoonist  | Tags:  America's Next Great Cartoonist Contest, Darrin Bell, Garry Trudeau, Gene Weingarten, Hilary Price, Jerry Scott, Lalo Alcaraz, Mike Krahulik, Richard Thompson, Signe Wilkinson, Stan Lee, Stephan Pastis, Tom Toles  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Pink-slipped cartoonist BILL DAY picks up RFK Award in D.C.
Next: REUBENS: History, 'Bizarro' top the marquee at cartooning's Oscars


Yes I submitted an entry and I don't want to look like a suck-up, but damn that is one strong panel. Stan Lee? Really? Wasn't he busy filming the next Marvel film or something? Let alone Trudeau, Toles, Bell, Scott, Wilkinson and the rest who are all way too busy to look at amateur work.
Way to go Post for bringing in the A TEAM.

Posted by: patnfran | May 30, 2010 10:22 PM | Report abuse

This is a great panel of judges! I've been a huge fan of Stan the Man since before most of you were born. I didn't know he was a cartoonist. He's probably a fair artist, but I'll bet he's no Pastis.

'Nuff said.

Still, it would be nice to be kept up to date on what's happening with this contest. Like, how many submissions so far? What kind of social media campaign can we do to promote our strips over others? (Can we do that?)And how many wanna-be cartoonists were former members of the Merry Marvel Marching Society? You belong, you belong, you belong, you belong to the MMM....(is that a great song, or what?)

Posted by: InkSlingerz | June 2, 2010 11:11 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company