Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Montgomery to honor all 16 officers killed during department's history

Montgomery County police will honor all 16 officers who died in the line of duty at 3 p.m. Monday.

The ceremony, which is open to the public, will take place at the county's Public Safety Training Academy at 9710 Great Seneca Highway, Rockville, as part of National Police Week.

The full list of fallen officers:

  • Sgt. Hector I. Ayala, 1979-2010
  • Officer Luke T. Hoffman, 1982-2007
  • Capt. Joseph A. Mattingly Jr., 1952-2003
  • Officer James E. Walch, 1963-1994
  • Officer Mark Filer, 1962-1993
  • Officer Philip C. Metz, 1947-1981
  • Cpl. John M. Frontczak, 1943-1976
  • Capt. James E. Daly, Jr., 1933-1976
  • Pvt. William P. Conboy Jr., 1948-1973.
  • Detective Lt. Donald Robertson, 1937-1972
  • Detective Lt. William H. Jessie, 1921-1964
  • Pvt. Robert L. McAllister, 1927-1952
  • Pvt David G. Bissett, 1897-1952
  • Patrolman James E. Shoemaker, 1889-1938
  • Patrolman Webb S. Hersperger, 1902-1933
  • Patrolman Joseph A. Case, 1886-1928

-- Dan Morse

By Dan Morse  |  May 10, 2010; 11:13 AM ET
Categories:  Dan Morse , Montgomery  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: 'Shock,' 'disbelief' from D.C. councilmember who worked with dead 18-year-old
Next: Tiki bar fire spreads to house after Mother's Day party

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company