Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Del. Norton Picks D.C. Inaugural Ticket Winners

Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.) today selected through a lottery the 100 District residents who will receive tickets to the swearing-in ceremony of Barack Obama Jan. 20.

The names were drawn by Maj. Millard Pooran, M.D., of the Air National Guard, and Sgt. Edward Weldon III, of the Army National Guard, both D.C. residents who have served in Iraq, Norton said. Norton's office will contact the winners by 6 p.m. today, and she asked residents not to call her office, which would jam the phone lines.

Residents will be asked to personally pick up their tickets, show identification, and sign for them, or give written permission for an authorized person to receive the tickets and not to sell these free tickets. Only stand-up tickets are available.

More than 10,000 residents had requested tickets from Norton's office.

By David A Nakamura  |  January 12, 2009; 1:09 PM ET
Categories:  Inauguration  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: CFO Fires Contract Chief
Next: Choral Arts Society of Washington's Tribute to MLK

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company