Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

The Wizards Prize Patrol Hits D.C.

Overly cynical print and blog journalists tend to stick pro sports' teams charity operations at the bottom of their end-of-story notes, but not me, not when "The Wizardmobile" is involved. After practice this morning, Caron Butler, Jarvis Hayes, Brendan Haywood, Antawn Jamison, Michael Ruffin and Etan Thomas are scheduled to pile into the Official Prize Patrol Vehicle and visit six "adopted" D.C. families "with a special delivery."

"The Wizards bus will leave Verizon Center at 12:45 p.m.," the press release says.

Just an awful misstep in not calling the vehicle "The Wizardmobile," but other than that, I'm on board with this. The Wizards have provided media members with the addresses of the six families and the order in which they'll be visited. So I guess there's nothing else left to do but head over to the address of Family No. 1 and wait for the big purple-and-blue-and-black-and-gold party van that will be blasting Bullets Fever as G-Man fires the t-shirt cannon out of the sun roof and Etan and Brendan fight in the back seat.

But does he deliver presents? (Tim Johnson - AP)

Also, you'll note that half of the six Prize Patrol members are currently injured. Hopefully delivering home electronics devices doesn't require a lot of lateral movement.

By Dan Steinberg  |  December 12, 2006; 11:23 AM ET
Categories:  Wizards  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Local Polling in a Basketball Wasteland
Next: Further Poetry


Hopefully the injured doesn't rub off on Caron and Antwan.

Who's driving the bus? is it G-man or G-wiz?

And how many times did they say to Etan and Haywood to stop fighting or I'll turn this bus around?

Posted by: Marc | December 12, 2006 11:41 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company