Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

All-Big East teams

Four Georgetown players earned Big East honors today. Not surprisingly, forward Jeff Green and center Roy Hibbert were unanimous picks for the first team. They are the first Hoyas to earn first team honors since Mike Sweetney (2002, 2003), and the first pair of Hoyas to be on the first team since Mark Tillmon and Alonzo Mourning in 1990. (It's worth noting that Tillmon and Mourning were part of a six-man team, while Green and Hibbert are part of an 11-man team.)

Guard Jonathan Wallace was named honorable mention, a nice honor for an underrated player who has gone from walk-on to three-year starter. Forward DaJuan Summers made the all-rookie team.

Villanova freshman guard Scottie Reynolds (Herndon) and Connecticut freshman guard Jerome Dyson (Rockville) were unanimous selections on the all-rookie team, and Reynolds also was named to the second team.

The rest of the first team:
Green, Hibbert, Pittsburgh C Aaron Gray (unanimous), Providence C Herbert Hill (unanimous), Syracuse F Demetris Nichols (unanimous), Marquette G Dominic James, Notre Dame G Russell Carter, Notre Dame G Colin Falls, St. John's F Lamont Hamilton, Villanova F Curtis Sumpter, and West Virginia G Frank Young.

By Camille Powell  |  March 5, 2007; 11:14 AM ET
Categories:  College Basketball  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: CAA Sellout
Next: Tyler's Nose


I would have put Reynolds on the big boy team.

Posted by: Unsilent Majority | March 5, 2007 12:30 PM | Report abuse

Sitting at the Verizon Center on saturday my buddy commented how much Jeff Green reminds him of Bobby Dandridge. After a few minutes I saw it too. He's just as smooth as silk.

Posted by: Chico | March 5, 2007 1:07 PM | Report abuse

11 on the first team? Makes sense from a conference with 324 teams and experimented with 6 fouls for a while.

Posted by: Stormy | March 5, 2007 1:09 PM | Report abuse

11 members of the first team in the big east? if we can't stop the insidious encroachment of the politically correct, everybody's great mentality in our sports-educational complex, then the chinese have already won.

Posted by: rob | March 5, 2007 1:11 PM | Report abuse

stormy, you quick-fingered so-and-so

Posted by: rob | March 5, 2007 1:12 PM | Report abuse

It's ridiculous that they have 11 players on the First Team. Shouldn't there only be five?

Posted by: Incredulous | March 5, 2007 1:15 PM | Report abuse

Some people would ahve just said Congratulations, and left it at that.

Posted by: Congrats? | March 5, 2007 2:12 PM | Report abuse

Jon Wallace is a walk-on. If memory serves correct he was supposed to go to Princeton with JT, and then switched to Gtown to follow the coach who RECRUITED him. Do your homework Camille...

Posted by: HoyaGal | March 5, 2007 2:25 PM | Report abuse

I love that the Big East puts 11 players on the first team--the league is twice as big as it used to be, so (theoretically) has twice as many excellent players. I wish other expanded leagues (i.e., the ACC) would look into some ratio between number of teams and number of honorees...

Posted by: DD | March 5, 2007 2:40 PM | Report abuse

Is there a specific reason for exactly 11 or is it that any player who gets a certain number of votes is first team, meaning the number could vary from year to year?

Posted by: Paul | March 5, 2007 3:08 PM | Report abuse

Hey HoyaGal, Jon Wallace technically is a walk-on since the Ivy League doesn't give athletic scholarships. When he followed JTIII to G'Town, he didn't receive an athletic scholarship. Maybe you should do YOUR homework.

Posted by: HoyaDawg | March 5, 2007 4:24 PM | Report abuse

by the way, john wallace is on scholarship now. camille has reported that before. she does her homework.

Posted by: rccoleon | March 5, 2007 7:03 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company