Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

D.C. Sports Media Approval Ratings: Sonny Jurgensen

(2005 TWP photo by John McDonnell)

For many of you, it will be difficult to separate Sonny Jurgensen the Redskins legend from Sonny Jurgensen the television analyst, but for the purposes of non-scientific Internet polling, you must try.

Sonny Jurgensen the football player spent 11 years with the Redskins, during which the team made four playoff appearances and played in one Super Bowl. He won three NFL passing titles and is in the Hall of Fame.

Sonny Jurgensen the broadcaster has been calling Redskins games for nearly three decades, more than a third of his life. Here's the Washington Post item announcing his arrival, in early August 1981: "Former Redskin quarterback Sonny Jurgensen has been added to radio station WMAL's Redskin broadcast team, joining Frank Herzog and Sam Huff for the games and Johnny Holliday for the pregame show. He will also interview players after the games."

By that October, The Post was already giving this new trio rave reviews:

No matter what their previous shortcomings, the troika of Frank Herzog, Sam Huff and Sonny Jurgensen can no longer be dismissed as house men. No homers here.

The transformation of the crew into one of the hardest, yet fairest and most entertaining units in the league, began in the preseason with the addition of Jurgensen. He had been cashiered after six years on CBS' NFL games (the rap against him was that he never provided enough "inside" anecdotes). The network's loss was local radio's gain.

Since then, the games have bounced around the radio dial, and Herzog was replaced by Larry Michael, but Jurgensen has kept at it. The 73-year old reliably shows up hours early in the press box and stands sentry with a cigar in his mouth; he and Huff were lovingly described by Mike Wise in a preseason column last summer;

Bearing in mind that you have just two options, here's your chance to judge Sonny Jurgensen, the media member, not the football player. Choose carefully, and offer explanation below.

Previously, in order of approval: Steve Buckhantz, Dave Johnson, Joe Beninati, Johnny Holliday, Charlie Slowes, Chick Hernandez, The Junkies, Mike Wise, Tony Kornheiser, Steve Czaban, Dave Feldman, George Michael, Rick "Doc" Walker, Brett Haber, John Riggins, Andy Pollin, Larry Michael.

By Dan Steinberg  |  July 3, 2008; 12:14 PM ET
Categories:  Media  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Most Famous Golfers at the AT&T
Next: What the Cut Looks Like

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company