Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 11:42 AM ET, 01/26/2011

Did Ovechkin dive?

By Dan Steinberg


Did Alex Ovechkin dive on Monday evening, as officials dinged him for? Did he embellish? Act? Sell it hard? Work his moves? Exaggerate? Hyperbolize? Overinflate? Perform? Play act? Feign? Misrepresent? Scam?

Dunno. But those are a lot of synonyms. And it was all enough to earn an "Alex Ovechkin: Diver?" headline at FanHouse. Video below.

By Dan Steinberg  | January 26, 2011; 11:42 AM ET
Categories:  Caps  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Andray Blatche on being the new Gilbert Arenas
Next: Ozzy Osbourne in a Caps jersey

Comments

9.5 for the dive.

Posted by: rfe18 | January 26, 2011 12:12 PM | Report abuse

of course it was a dive. Although he went to the official later and you couls see him saying "i never dive in my whole life". But it's either he does this or stand still waiving his arms in the air. Don't know which is worse, but his standing still crap is getting on my nerves.

Posted by: sordidvox | January 26, 2011 12:22 PM | Report abuse

please - your headline should be a statement, not a question. Dan's all "Dunno", but you know, so just say it.

Posted by: popopo | January 26, 2011 12:23 PM | Report abuse

This drives me nuts. As the commentators correctly pointed out, if there is a dive, then there cannot be a trip, it should be one or the other.

However, in this case, the trip is obvious. It is not a "dive" because that implies that Ovechkin threw himself to the ground, which he did not do. He was tripped.

But, he did embelish, threw his arms and legs up in the air to make sure the ref called the trip. So what do we do with that? Well, Ovie should have gotten 2 minutes for Unsportsmanlike Conduct and the Ranger gets 2 for tripping.

But if the Ref really thought it was Diving, he should not have called the trip. And if the Ref really thought it was tripping, how could it also be diving?

Posted by: Wemiss21 | January 26, 2011 12:26 PM | Report abuse

"If he dives...He dives." - Ivan Drago

Posted by: WaPoLiveFan16 | January 26, 2011 12:42 PM | Report abuse

please - your headline should be a statement, not a question. Dan's all "Dunno", but you know, so just say it.

Posted by: popopo | January 26, 2011 12:42 PM | Report abuse

Since a dive connotates falling head first, the answer to this question is no, Captain A.O. did not dive.

I believe the term you're looking for is, did Captain A.O. Flop like a Dook basketball player in the lane?

Posted by: CapsNut | January 26, 2011 1:07 PM | Report abuse

Yes, yes he did.

Posted by: RoachVA141 | January 26, 2011 1:09 PM | Report abuse

I've noticed he's been embellishing his falls lately, perhaps to egg the refs into calling a penalty, but in the end he looks like he's uncoordinated, which we all know he's not. Just my opinion though.

Posted by: sammyliz01 | January 26, 2011 1:37 PM | Report abuse

If there was any sort of penalty for embellishing in college basketball, Duke would have to dramatically change their game plan . . .

Posted by: bethesdaguy | January 26, 2011 3:00 PM | Report abuse

Why would anyone Dive on their back?! NO HE DIDN'T DIVE. OVIE DOESN'T DIVE!

Posted by: CALSGR8 | January 26, 2011 3:56 PM | Report abuse

I love Ovechkin but that was a dive. I bet the Ref warned him after the first one.. He also had a pretty flagrant one that was not called in Game 3 of the 2008 Flyers series.

Ovi, you're a great player.. No reason to do this nonsense.

Posted by: DrCapsFan11 | January 26, 2011 4:40 PM | Report abuse

The man did some flopping

Posted by: CF11555 | January 26, 2011 6:09 PM | Report abuse


A trip and a dive at the same time, yeah, right:

"sure he tripped you, but you exaggerated your fall...."

Posted by: kenhyde | January 26, 2011 7:34 PM | Report abuse

He dove. And I'm a Caps fan. No surprise, he's been doing it for years. The refs are onto him since last year's Playoffs. Expect more diving calls until he changes his game and plays the game right. Not very captain-like, Ovie..

Posted by: langwayRULES | January 27, 2011 9:25 AM | Report abuse

No, on the dive. Embellished? Possibly. Reason to? Yes. Considering how blind some of those refs are when calling things like that, sure. Just short of having the offender call out to the refs and declare they're going to trip Ovi, maybe Ovi needs to make it more obvious than usual that they're doing some underhanded sh*sh to him. I don't think I've ever seen him exaggerate a fall though, except for this one.

Posted by: LeftCoastCapsFan | January 27, 2011 12:33 PM | Report abuse

Of course he did. He also did it in the first period when skating back from the offensive zone he skated into a Ranger player and went down like he had been shot. My guess is that the ref had had enough for one evening and sat him down.

He does it because it works. It creates power plays and may also buy him some space on the ice. What will mess this plan up is that it probably will not work in the playoffs when the refs may be more reluctant to call a penalty.

Posted by: ElGordo9 | January 27, 2011 3:35 PM | Report abuse

Okay. To all those who believe that if a "Dive" is called then there is no penalty.
WRONG!!!
If the other team was not committing a penalty, then How could a player "Dive". its not Ovechkin was skating past a player and fell to the Ice for no reason. he was interfered with via a trip. Granted Ovechkin probably could have skated though the contact without falling but he attempted to get the refs attention so he embellished the fall and that is a penalty. BUT SO IS THE TRIP!!!

Posted by: deneill1 | January 27, 2011 4:15 PM | Report abuse

I really like the policy of calling diving whenever it happens - it really helps to discourage it. And it makes sense - someone tripped him, which is against the rules, and a penalty. Someone flopped, which is against the rules and a penalty.

You don't want the penalty, don't flop. The lesson is to let the officials call the game - you have nothing to gain from dramatizing it. If soccer did the same thing, there would be more order in it.


Posted by: 202character | January 28, 2011 4:08 AM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge washingtonpost.com's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.




characters remaining

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company