Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Posted at 11:17 AM ET, 01/ 9/2011

Football Hall of Fame announces 17 finalists for Class of 2011

By Cindy Boren

Seventeen finalists for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame have been announced:

Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Andre Reed, Shannon Sharpe, Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Chris Doleman, Charles Haley, Cortez Kennedy, Ed Sabol and first-time candidates Jerome Bettis, Curtis Martin, Willie Roaf, Deion Sanders and Marshall Faulk. Chris Hanburger and Les Richter are the senior candidates.

The Class of 2011 will be elected and announced on Feb. 5, the eve of Super Bowl XLV in Dallas.

By Cindy Boren  | January 9, 2011; 11:17 AM ET
Categories:  NFL  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Christina-Taylor Green, granddaughter of Dallas Green, dies in Arizona shooting
Next: NFL wild-card weekend live: Ravens-Chiefs, Packers-Eagles


For those of you who may have forgotten, Jerome Bettis is from Detroit.

This is a good bunch. With apologies to the Hamburglar, I have to go with...

Charles Haley (23 super bowl rings)
Deion Sanders (23 million still owed)
Cris Carter (23 million receptions, all of them touchdown passes
Shannon Sharpe (win place or show 23 million times)
Cortez Kennedy (not really just an excuse to post...

Posted by: SMACK1 | January 9, 2011 1:01 PM | Report abuse

Deion's speech would take a week.

Posted by: CindyBoren | January 9, 2011 1:22 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company