Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Posted at 6:21 PM ET, 02/ 6/2011

Madieu Williams wins Walter Payton Award

By Cindy Boren

Madieu Williams, a Minnesota Vikings safety who played at the University of Maryland, was named the winner of the Walter Payton Award before kickoff of Super Bowl XLV.

Williams, who was born in Sierra Leone, also attended DuVal High School in Lanham, Md., and Towson University.

"It's a tremendous honor to win the award named after Walter Payton, one of the greatest men to ever play in the National Football League," Williams said from Iraq, where he is visiting U.S. troops. "I'm sorry I couldn't be there to accept the award, but it's an even greater honor to be here in Iraq with the fourth Infantry Division and Task Force Iron Horse on a good will tour, watching the Super Bowl with our troops."

The award is given annually for volunteer and charity work, as well as excellence on the field.

By Cindy Boren  | February 6, 2011; 6:21 PM ET
Categories:  NFL  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: 400 fans with tickets find they have no seats for Super Bowl XLV
Next: Cameron Diaz and A-Rod: Eating popcorn takes two people


Congradulations Madieu, we are proud of you.

Posted by: dcinmd1 | February 7, 2011 11:21 AM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company