New NVCC Board Leaders Announced

Northern Virginia Community College announced today that Jeffrey Tarbert, representing Falls Church, is the new Board chair for the 2005-06 term. Tarbert succeeds Ms. Mary Jo Rasmussen. The text of the news release:

A senior vice president with the American Power Association, Tarbert oversees member services programs and works in the areas of utility competitiveness, organization and government and utility management.

Tarbert has degrees in political science and higher education administration from Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio and George Washington University, in Washington, D.C., where he previously taught in the graduate school of education. A former mayor of the City of Falls Church, he also served two terms on the Falls Church School Board.

Carmin "Chuck" Caputo is the vice-chair of the NVCC Board for the 2005-06 term, representing Fairfax County. A retired federal Senior Executive Service member with 38 years of experience as a telecommunications engineer, Caputo holds a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from City College of New York and a master's degree in systems management from George Washington University in Washington, D.C.

Active in various community organizations, Caputo is a member of the Sully District Democratic Committee and a volunteer Internet tutor with the Chantilly Regional Library.

Tarbert and Caputo join nine other individuals in overseeing the governance of Northern Virginia Community College.

By Steve Fehr |  September 27, 2005; 3:43 PM ET  | Category:  Colleges and Universities
Previous: Homicide in Falls Church Area | Next: Fairfax Water Chief's Pension To Be Doubled


© 2010 The Washington Post Company