County Officials Sworn In

County elected officials were sworn in at a ceremony yesterday at the County Governement Center. Last evening the county issued this press release:

In a ceremony this evening, the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, Fairfax County constitutional officers, and the Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District directors all took their oath of office in front of several hundred spectators.
Fairfax Circuit Court Judge Stanley P. Klein administered the oath of office to Board of Supervisors Chairman Gerald E. Connolly and 14 other elected officials, who each swore to support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the commonwealth of Virginia, and to faithfully and impartially discharge all the duties incumbent upon them as officials of Fairfax County. All elected officials will take office on Jan. 1, 2008.
In addition to Connolly, the district supervisors installed were: Sharon Bulova, Braddock District John W. Foust, Dranesville District Michael R. Frey, Sully District Penelope A. Gross, Mason District Pat Herrity, Springfield District Catherine M. Hudgins, Hunter Mill District Gerald W. Hyland, Mount Vernon District Jeff C. McKay, Lee District Linda Q. Smyth, Providence District
The three constitutional officers installed were: Raymond F. Morrogh, Commonwealth's Attorney Stan G. Barry, Sheriff John T. Frey, Clerk of the Court
The two directors of the Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District installed were: Johna Good Gagnon Sally B. Ormsby
John W. Peterson, Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District director, was not available and will be sworn in at a later date.
In addition to the oath of office, the ceremony included musical performances by the Chantilly High School carolers and the Emerald Society Pipe Band. The colors were presented by the Fairfax County Public Safety Honor Guard. Assistant Shift Supervisor Sherrie White, Department of Public Safety Communications, performed the national anthem. The evening began with music by the Annandale Jazz Ambassadors and concluded with a reception in the cafeteria.
Connolly also delivered his inaugural speech as the chairman of the 11th Urban County Board of Supervisors.
For more details about the ceremony, visit Photos taken throughout the evening are available on the Web page, and video clips will be posted later in the week. The text of Connolly's inauguration address is also available on the Web page. The ceremony will be rebroadcast on Fairfax County Government Channel 16 at 8 p.m. on Dec. 15, 19 and 22. For more information, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

By Focus on Fairfax |  December 13, 2007; 10:54 AM ET  | Category:  Government
Previous: Vienna Officials Consider Alternative to Fireworks | Next: N. Va. Schools Score High in Giving College-Level Tests


© 2010 The Washington Post Company