Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Center for Excellence in Government's 25th Anniversary Video

By Ed O'Keefe

The Eye reported last week about the 25th anniversary celebration for the Council for Excellence in Government. The event included a video tribute to the 25 public servants honored by the group. Check out the first portion of the video in the clip posted above that includes comments by CEG's outgoing president and CEO Patricia McGinniss and retired Gen. Colin Powell, one of the 25 honorees.

The other honorees: Former prisoner of war Everett Alvarez, Jr., former secretary of state James A. Baker III, New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, former vice president Al Gore, former 9/11 Commission co-Chair Lee H. Hamilton, Shirley A. Jackson, former 9/11 Commission co-chair Thomas H. Kean, Sen. Edward M. Kennedy (D-Mass.), Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.), Sen. Richard G. Lugar (R-Ind.), Wilma Mankiller, former transportation secretary Norman Y. Mineta, former senator and professional mediator George Mitchell, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Peter G. Peterson, former homeland security secretary Thomas J. Ridge, Alice M. Rivlin, former Treasury secretary Robert Rubin, former secretary of state George P. Shultz, former health and human services secretary Donna E. Shalala, former Federal Reserve chairman Paul A. Volcker and John C. Whitehead.

For more on CEG's anniversary, read The Eye's original post about the event and check out the CEG Web site.

By Ed O'Keefe  | December 17, 2008; 9:56 AM ET
Categories:  Public Service  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Eye Opener: Dec. 17, 2008
Next: What's With Salazar's Hat? (And Bolo Tie!)

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company