Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

List of Guests at Sotomayor White House Event

By Ed O'Keefe

President Obama and Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor at the White House on Wednesday. (Getty)

Here's a list of invited guests at Wednesday's White House reception for Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor:

• First Lady Michelle Obama

Celina Sotomayor, Justice Sotomayor's mother
Omar Lopez, stepfather of Justice Sotomayor
Juan Sotomayor, brother of Justice Sotomayor

• Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
• Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens

• White House Counsel Gregory Craig
• EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson
• Labor Secretary Hilda Solis

• Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
• Sen. Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)
• Sen. Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.)
• Rep. Pedro Pierluisi (D-Puerto Rico)
• Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-N.Y.)
• Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.)
• Rep. Alan Grayson (D-Fla.)
• Rep. José Serrano (D-N.Y.)
• Rep. John Conyers (D-Mich.)
• Rep. Anthony Weiner (D-N.Y.)
(President Obama also said that Sens. Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.) were in attendance.)

Dennis Jacobs, Chief Judge, Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
Robert Katzmann, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
Pierre Leval, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
Barrington Parker, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
David Tatel, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
Rosemary Pooler, U.S. Circuit Judge, Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

• Gov. David Paterson (D-N.Y.)
Polly Baca, former Colorado state legislator
• Former FBI Director Louis Freeh
Wade Henderson, president/CEO of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights
Amy Mercado, president of the Orange County, Fla. Democratic Hispanic Caucus
• New York District Attorney Robert Morgenthau
Elizabeth Moynihan, widow of Sen. Daniel P. Moynihan
Janet Murguia, president and CEO of the National Council of La Raza
Karen Narasaki, executive director of the Asian American Justice Center
John Payton, director-counsel and president of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund
• Former secretary of Energy and Transportation Federico Peña
Lillian Rodriguez-Lopez, president of Hispanic Federation
Ramona Romero, president of the Hispanic National Bar Association
Ted Shaw, professor of professional practice at Columbia Law School
Raul Yzaguirre, executive director and presidential professor of practice at The Center for Community Development and Civil Rights at Arizona State University

By Ed O'Keefe  | August 12, 2009; 11:00 AM ET
Categories:  Administration  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Eye Opener: Do New Postage Stamps Help or Hurt?
Next: International Frequent Flier Program Expanded


1876 'U.S. v. Cruikshank' United States Supreme Court Decisions 1999 Oxford University Press. Which upheld congressional efforts to protect blacks and others against private deprivations of constitutional rights;

Posted by: edtroyhampton | August 12, 2009 3:57 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company