Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Federal News Radio announces changes

By Ed O'Keefe

Only in Washington would you find a radio station devoted to the federal workforce and their favorite topics of discussion: IT, human resources, contracting and management.

But Federal News Radio soldiers on and is shuffling radio hosts starting next week as morning show co-host Jane Norris leaves to join consulting firm Deloitte.

Her departure means afternoon anchor Amy Morris will join Tom Temin for “The Federal Drive” morning show. Morris's current co-host, Chris Dorobek -- of DorobekInsider fame -- will go solo from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. with "The Dorobek Insider.” Francis Rose and other programs will fill the hours in between.

WFED 1500 AM is the sister station of Washington's all-news powerhouse WTOP and though it usually places dead last in the local radio ratings, it's a cash cow for owner Bonneville International thanks to advertisements and infomercials purchased by defense contracting firms, federal labor unions and other interest groups. It's also the radio home of the Washington Nationals and Washington Capitals thanks to a powerful AM signal that can be heard as far away as Cape Cod in the evenings.

The station holds a special place in The Eye's heart, since it's also the former frequency of Washington Post Radio, the failed "noble experiment" for which he once worked.

By Ed O'Keefe  | May 12, 2010; 11:15 AM ET
Categories:  Miscellaneous  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: SEC porn scandal continues with lawsuit
Next: Postal Service official to resign


WPR => FNR ... one Edsel begets another?

Please, WTOP -- put your signal back on 1500 AM so that people in western and north-central Maryland and downstate Virginia can be forewarned of crappy traffic beforehand and can make the switch to I-81.

Posted by: bs2004 | May 12, 2010 1:14 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company