Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Election 2010: Who won the old jobs of Obama administration officials?

By Ed O'Keefe

Democrats this week successfully defended most, but not all of the House and Senate seats and governorships once held by politicians who joined the Obama administration, keeping six of the nine spots they collectively vacated.

Some Democratic Party officials openly fretted during the 2008 presidential transition that Obama was jeopardizing too many Congressional seats by recruiting Joe Biden, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Ken Salazar and Rahm Emanuel to join his administration.

The positions of those four people stayed Democratic -- but they couldn't hold on to President Obama's old Senate seat, which went to Rep. Mark Kirk (R). Democrats also lost the governorships in Arizona and Kansas once held by Cabinet secretaries. Check the full chart below:

Name Position they vacated Who won it?
President Obama Illinois Senate Mark Kirk (R)
Vice President Biden Delware Senate Chris Coons (D)
White House Chief of Staff Rahm Emanuel Illinois 5th C.D. Rep. Mike Quigley (D)
Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton New York Senate Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D)
Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano Arizona Governor Jan Brewer (R)
Interior Secretary Ken Salazar Colorado Senate Sen. Michael Bennet (D)
HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius Kansas Governor Sam Brownback (R)
Labor Secretary Hilda Solis California 32nd C.D. Rep. Judy Chu (D)
Undersecretary of State Ellen O. Tauscher California 10 C.D. Rep. John Garamendi (D)


By Ed O'Keefe  | November 4, 2010; 9:43 AM ET
Categories:  Administration, Revolving Door  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: With GOP win, Issa previews his oversight plans
Next: Report: One-quarter of new federal hires leave in two years

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company