Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Posted at 5:26 PM ET, 01/28/2011

New members named to Senate governmental affairs panel

By Ed O'Keefe

Four new senators are joining the Senate committee chiefly responsible for oversight of the federal workforce, government operations and management.

Among the new members of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee are Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio), who used to testify before the panel when he served as head of the Office of Management and Budget during George W. Bush's administration.

The other newcomers are Sens. Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) and Rand Paul (R-Ky.), head of the new Senate Tea Party Caucus. Johnson, who defeated former Sen. Russ Feingold (D-Wis.) with the support of tea party activists, declined to join the caucus, saying he feared that doing so could be divisive.

In a statement, committee chairman Joseph I. Lieberman (I-Conn.) said, "We anticipate a year of solid accomplishments by the committee, aided by the fresh ideas our new members will bring to the table. We are a Committee dedicated to bipartisanship, which is the most effective way to get things done in Congress. I look forward to working across party lines with all our new members on the broad scope of issues that come before our Committee."

In addition to Lieberman and Begich, the committee's Democrats include: Sens. Carl Levin (Mich.), Daniel Akaka (Hawaii), Thomas Carper (Del.), Mark Pryor (Ark.), Mary Landrieu (La.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.) and Jon Tester (Mont.).

The committee's Republicans are led by Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine), and in addition to the new members, the panel includes Tom Coburn (Okla.), Scott Brown (Mass.), John McCain (Ariz.) and John Ensign (Nev.).

By Ed O'Keefe  | January 28, 2011; 5:26 PM ET
Categories:  Congress, Oversight  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Pentagon: Training on 'don't ask, don't tell' starts in Feb. for troops, commanders
Next: Zients to lead government reorganization project


There's a typo above. John Tester is the junior Democratic Senator from Montana, not Wyoming.

Posted by: no_one_of_consequence | January 29, 2011 1:45 AM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company