Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: HokiesJournal and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 3:46 PM ET, 11/29/2010

Three Virginia Tech players tabbed 1st team All-ACC

By Mark Giannotto

The All-ACC football team was released Monday afternoon, and not surprisingly, Virginia Tech was well-represented after becoming the first ACC team since 2000 to finish the conference slate undefeated.

The Hokies on the first team were quarterback Tyrod Taylor, cornerback Jayron Hosley and place kicker Chris Hazley. Taylor beat out North Carolina State quarterback Russell Wilson by two votes, while Hosley got more votes than any other defensive back. Hazley has made 19-straight field goals since missing the first kick of his career against Boise State.

Representing Virginia Tech on the second team were right tackle Blake DeChristopher, right guard Jaymes Brooks, defensive end Steven Friday, defensive tackle John Graves, linebacker Bruce Taylor, defensive back Davon Morgan, punter Brian Saunders, and running back David Wilson as a return specialist.

Center Beau Warren and tight end Andre Smith were both tabbed as honorable mention. The only notable snub to me was cornerback Rashad Carmichael.

For full disclosure, the All-ACC team was voted on by 61 members of the media. Each first-place vote represents two votes. Washington Post rules precluded me from taking part. The full list is after the jump:


QB Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech (77)
RB Montel Harris, Boston College (122)
RB Anthony Allen, Georgia Tech (108)
WR Leonard Hankerson, Miami (118)
WR Torrey Smith, Maryland (96)
TE George Bryan, NC State (92)
OT Anthony Castonzo, Boston College (79)
OT Chris Hairston, Clemson (69)
OG Rodney Hudson, Florida State (116)
OG Brandon Washington, Miami (50)
C Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (91)
K Chris Hazley, Virginia Tech (100)
Spc. Tony Logan, Maryland (69)

DE Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson (120)
DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State (101)
DT Quinton Coples, North Carolina (101)
DT Jarvis Jenkins, Clemson (63)
LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College (112)
LB Nate Irving, N.C. State (105)
LB Alex Wujciak, Maryland (78)
CB Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech (112)
CB Chase Minnifield, Virginia (57)
S DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson (99)
S Kenny Tate, Maryland (78)
P Matt Bosher, Miami


QB Russell Wilson, NC State (75)
RB Damien Berry, Miami (37)
RB Keith Payne, Virginia (30)
WR Conner Vernon, Duke (70)
WR Owen Spencer, NC State (41)
TE Dwayne Allen, Clemson (31)
OT Orlando Franklin, Miami (65)
OT Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech (39)
OG Jaymes Brooks, Virginia Tech (41)
OG Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech (35)
OG Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (35)
C Ryan McMahon, Florida State (47)
K Will Snyderwine, Duke (38)
Spc. David Wilson, Virginia Tech (61)

DE Allen Bailey, Miami (51)
DE Steven Friday, Virginia Tech (42)
DT John Graves, Virginia Tech (46)
DT Joe Vellano, Maryland (33)
LB Bruce Carter, North Carolina (43)
LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech (41)
LB Sean Spence, Miami (37)
CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State (49)
CB Brandon Harris, Miami (45)
S Davon Morgan, Virginia Tech (48)
S Ray-Ray Armstrong, Miami (25)
P Brian Saunders, Virginia Tech (48)

Honorable mention

WR Dwight Jones, North Carolina (20)
OT Jake Vermiglio, NC State (34); Paul Pinegar, Maryland (27).
OG Thomas Claiborne, Boston College (34).
C Beau Warren, Virginia Tech (22).
TE Cooper Helfet, Duke (24); Andre Smith, Virginia Tech (23)
RB Johnny White, North Carolina (22).
QB T.J. Yates, North Carolina (21).
PK Casey Barth, North Carolina (20).
SP Marcus Gilchrist, Clemson (24).

DT J.R. Sweezy, NC State (26).
LB Colin McCarthy, Miami (34); Abraham Kromah, Duke (30).
CB Greg Reid, Florida State (20).

By Mark Giannotto  | November 29, 2010; 3:46 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Poll: Virginia Tech's potential Orange Bowl opponent
Next: Virginia Tech's beat-up receiving corps could shine vs. FSU

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company