Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: HokiesJournal and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 1:52 PM ET, 12/ 1/2010

Tyrod Taylor named ACC player of the year

By Mark Giannotto

Though this year began in heartbreaking fashion for Virginia Tech quarterback Tyrod Taylor, the senior got a form of redemption Wednesday. After leading the Hokies to ten consecutive wins and an undefeated record in conference play this season, Taylor was named ACC player of the year by a panel of reporters.

Taylor received 27 of the 57 first-place votes. North Carolina State's Russell Wilson finished in second place with 19 votes. Taylor was also named the league's offensive player of the year, and on Monday was named first team All-ACC.

This season, he has thrown for 2,258 yards, 20 touchdowns and just 4 interceptions. In addition, Taylor is completing a career-high 60.2 percent of his passes and also ran for 613 yards and four touchdowns.

Taylor holds just about every quarterback record at Virginia Tech, including total offense, passing yards, rushing yards and wins. He's also just two touchdown passes shy of setting the single-season record in that category.

The only other Virginia Tech player to ever win ACC player of the year honors was quarterback Bryan Randall in 2004.

"First off, I have to thank the Lord for blessing me with the ability to play football," Taylor said in a statement through the athletic department. "I also have to thank my parents, my family, the coaches, my teammates and all of the Virginia Tech fans. It's an honor to be recognized as the ACC's Player of the Year and to see all of my hard work pay off.

"I'm more proud, though, of how this team responded from an 0-2 start, but now we have finish things off Saturday in Charlotte against a tough Florida State team."

Clemson's Da'Quan Bowers was named the ACC defensive player of the year, earning 36 of a possible 55 votes. Virginia Tech cornerback Jayron Hosley finished in third place with three votes. A full rundown of the voting is available after the jump:


Tyrod Taylor, QB, Virginia Tech (27)
Russell Wilson, QB, NC State (19)
Da'Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson (8)
Montel Harris, RB, Boston College (3)

Tyrod Taylor, QB, Virginia Tech (31)
Russell Wilson, QB, NC State (23)
Montel Harris, RB, Boston College (4)
T.J. Yates, QB, North Carolina (1)
Danny O'Brien, QB, Maryland (1)
Leonard Hankerson, WR, Miami (1)

Da'Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson (36)
Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College (14)
Jayron Hosley, CB, Virginia Tech (3)
Nate Irving, LB, NC State (2)

By Mark Giannotto  | December 1, 2010; 1:52 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Virginia Tech basketball takes on Purdue in another nonconference test
Next: Taylor vs. Ponder: A quarterback duel in the ACC title game

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company