Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: HokiesJournal and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 5:00 PM ET, 03/ 7/2011

Virginia Tech's Malcolm Delaney, Jeff Allen earn all-ACC honors

By Mark Giannotto

The all-ACC basketball teams were announced Monday afternoon, and as expected, Virginia Tech's Malcolm Delaney and Jeff Allen were honored for their strong senior seasons. Delaney earned first team all-ACC honors for a second-straight season, while Allen was named to the second team.

Delaney received 202 votes after averaging 18.8 points per game this season -- down from 20.2 a year ago. But he achieved career highs by shooting 42 percent from the field and 40.9 percent from three-point range.

The Baltimore native also averaged 4.1 assists, 3.5 rebounds and 1.6 steals per game. He's the first Virginia Tech player since Ace Custis to earn first team honors in two consecutive seasons. Custis achieved that feat when the Hokies were part of the Atlantic-10.

“I think Malcolm sees plays sooner. He’s made better decisions off ball screens. He’s been a key ingredient in winning a lot of ACC games," said Coach Seth Greenberg when asked how Delaney had improved this season during Monday's ACC teleconference.

Allen, meanwhile, had his best season in Blacksburg this year, averaging 13.8 points and 10 rebounds per game. He was second in the ACC with 15 double-doubles.

The Washington native had always shown flashes of his immense talent his first three years at Virginia Tech, but struggled with immaturity and an inability to stay out of foul trouble. But of late, Greenberg has praised him for his leadership both on and off the court.

"His consistency has been phenomenal in terms of rebounding the ball and the number of minutes he’s played," the coach said Monday. "I think that’s probably the biggest improvement. Fortunately for us with our numbers, he’s been able to stay on the court, contribute and help us win games.”

Joining Delaney on the first team were Duke's Nolan Smith and Kyle Singler, Maryland's Jordan Williams and Boston College's Reggie Jackson. Smith was the lone unanimous selection. It represents the first time in ACC history that there was no representative from the outright league champion (North Carolina) on the first team. The Tar Heels had three players on the second team and one on the third team.

The voting was conducted by 75 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. For the record, Washington Post rules preclude me from voting for postseason teams. Here's a rundown of how the voting went:

First team

Nolan Smith, Duke (225)+
Jordan Williams, Maryland (210)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (202)
Kyle Singler, Duke (199)
Reggie Jackson, Boston College (190)

Second team

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (161)
John Henson, North Carolina (148)
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (145)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (132)
Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech (131)

Third team

Chris Singleton, Florida State (126)
Demontez Stitt, Clemson (81)
Joe Trapani, Boston College (63)
Malcolm Grant, Miami (62)
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (45)

All-Freshman team

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (75)
Travis McKie, Wake Forest (74)
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (71)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (62)
C.J. Leslie, N.C. State (46)

All-Defensive team

John Henson, North Carolina (75)
Chris Singleton, Florida State (64)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (60)
Nolan Smith, Duke (26)
Jerai Grant, Clemson (20)

By Mark Giannotto  | March 7, 2011; 5:00 PM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Conference tournament viewing guide, from a Virginia Tech perspective
Next: Virginia Tech forward Jeff Allen nursing an ankle injury

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company