Special Classifieds Feature

Buy Washington Post Inauguration newspapers, books, and more

Fenty Joins Former Presidents On Inaugural Committee

Former presidents Jimmy Carter, George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton, plus D.C. Mayor Adrian M. Fenty (D), is among 16 honorary co-chairs for the inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama and Vice President-elect Joseph R. Biden Jr., the Presidential Inaugural Committee announced today.

Obama and Biden are also making the event a family affair by including relatives — Obama’s sister Maya Soetoro-Ng and brother-in-law Craig Robinson and Biden’s son and daughter-in-law, Hunter and Kathleen Biden.

The co-chairs are rounded out by former secretary of state Colin L. Powell, Rep. Linda Sanchez (D-Calif.), Rep. Ray LaHood (R-Ill.), Rep. Artur Davis ( D-Ala.), Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Sen. Richard G. Lugar (R-Ind.) and Sen. Richard Durbin (D-Ill.)

“Vice President-elect Biden and I are grateful to these distinguished men and women for agreeing to serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for the Inauguration,” Obama said in a statement in a media release today. “From family members to former Presidents, each of these leaders has an unwavering commitment to bipartisan cooperation and a proud record of service to their community and our country. They exemplify the spirit of unity and shared purpose this Inauguration will reflect.”

By Nikita R Stewart  |  December 22, 2008; 1:58 PM ET  | Category:  Presidential Inaugural Committee
Previous: Metro Begins Selling Obama Fare Cards | Next: Inaugural Ball Watch: Lincoln 2.0 Ball

Add Inauguration Watch to Your Site
Stay on top of the latest from Inauguration Watch! This easy-to-use widget is simple to add to your own Web site and will update every time there's a new installment of Inauguration Watch.
Get This Widget >>


The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company