Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Posted at 1:31 PM ET, 02/23/2011

Facebook exec, venture capitalist, union leaders among those named to Obama's jobs council

By Ariana Eunjung Cha

President Obama tapped General Electric chief executive Jeffrey Immelt last month to head an industry group that would advise Obama on how American companies could create more jobs. But the White House had been hush-hush since then about who exactly would sit on that council.

On Thursday, the White House (finally) released the list of business heavyweights who will be on the tech-heavy Council on Jobs and Competitiveness. In addition to Intel CEO Paul S. Otellini and former AOL Time Warner CEO Steve Case, whose names were leaked earlier, the list includes Silicon Valley venture capitalist John Doerr and Facebook chief operating officer Sheryl Sandberg. Among the other executives on the council are Kenneth I. Chenault, CEO of American Express; and Gary Kelly, CEO of Southwest Airlines.

There are two union leaders -- Joseph T. Hansen, president of the United Food and Commercial Workers international; and Richard L. Trumka, president of the AFL-CIO -- in the mix. Two economists -- Roger W. Ferguson Jr., former vice chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve; and Laura D. Tyson, former chairwoman of the U.S. President's Council of Economic Advisers -- were also chosen.

Here is the the full list of members of the Council on Jobs and Competitiveness :

  • Steve Case, former AOL Time Warner CEO
  • Kenneth I. Chenault, American Express CEO
  • John Doerr, venture capitalist
  • Roger W. Ferguson Jr., President and CEO of TIAA-CREF, former vice chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
  • Mark Gallogly, head of an investment firm
  • Joseph T. Hansen, United Food and Commercial Workers international president
  • Lewis "Lew" Hay III, chairman and CEO of NextEra Energy Inc.
  • Gary Kelly, CEO of Southwest Airlines
  • Ellen Kullman, CEO of Dupont
  • A.G. Lafley, former chairman of the board and CEO of Procter & Gamble
  • Monica C. Lozano, CEO of Impermedia, LLC
  • Darlene Miller, CEO of Permac Industries
  • Paul S. Otellini, CEO of Intel
  • Richard D. Parsons, former chairman of Time Warner
  • Antonio Perez, CEO of Kodak
  • Penny Pritzker, CEO of Pritzker Realty (and national finance chairwoman for the Obama campaign throughout his 2008 presidential effort)
  • Brian L. Roberts, CEO of Comcast
  • Matt Rose, CEO of Burlington Northern Santa Fe
  • Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook
  • Richard L. Trumka, president, AFL-CIO
  • Laura D. Tyson, former chairwoman of the U.S. President's Council of Economic Advisers
  • Robert Wolf, president and COO of UBS Investment Bank

By Ariana Eunjung Cha  | February 23, 2011; 1:31 PM ET
Categories:  Corporations, White House  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Unrest in Libya prompts flurry of forecasting about gas and oil prices
Next: Unions plan Sat. protests in every state capital


Ms. Lozano's position is CEO of impreMedia (

Posted by: jstvnsn | February 25, 2011 10:30 AM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company