Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

T. Roosevelt's Pittman Will Not Return

Theodore Roosevelt girls’ basketball coach Tyrone Pittman will not be back this season after he and the school mutually agreed to part ways.

Former assistant Wayne Benson will take over the program, according to Roosevelt Athletic Director Daryl Tilghman.

Pittman, who is not a teacher in the DCPS system, elevated the Rough Riders from one of the city’s struggling programs to one of its most consistent winners. Roosevelt won four games in 2000-01, the season before Pittman took over. By his second season, however, the Rough Riders advanced to the first of six consecutive D.C. Interscholastic Athletic Association finals, and went 120-15 over that six-year span. They won consecutive DCIAA championships in 2004 and ’05, and also captured their first City Title in 2004, as well, finishing 26-1.

Three Rough Riders earned first-team All-Met recognition under Pittman – Katrina Wheeler (2004), Shanae Brice (2005) and Brittany Hilliard (2007).

By Alan Goldenbach  |  September 23, 2009; 3:56 PM ET
Categories:  DCIAA , Girls' basketball , Theodore Roosevelt  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: All-Met Watch: Your Chance to be Heard
Next: Charter School Hoopsters Make Picks

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company