Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Pair of Loudoun outside hitters named Va. volleyball players of the year

Loudoun Valley senior outside hitter Morgan Clark was named VHSL AAA state player of the year. (Tracy Woodward, TWP)

After sweeping the Virginia state finals back in November, Loudoun Valley and Loudoun County are rewarded once again by VHSL with all-state players and coaches of the year.

Led by AAA player of the year Morgan Clark, the Vikings won 20 of their final 21 matches including a 3-1 victory over South County in the state title game. Clark was named player of the year and her coach, Laird Johnson, earned coach of the year honors after bringing Valley its fourth championship. A four-year starter and second-year team captain, Clark finished the year with 228 kills, 227 digs and 36 service aces. She will play for Bucknell in the fall.

Just up the road in Leesburg, Loudoun County continued its dominance at the AA level, crushing Grafton 3-0 to win a record third straight state crown. Senior outside hitter Juliane Hanna was a force at the net all season and earned state player of the year honors, and stepping in for Jennica Matthias, Coach Jarod Brown was named coach of the year after leading the Raiders to a 26-3 record. Hanna, who was also named Gatorade Virginia Volleyball Player of the Year, finished the season with 312 kills, 204 digs and 76 aces. She will play for New Mexico next fall.

AAA All-State teams

Player of the year: OH Morgan Clark, Loudoun Valley, Sr.
Coach of the year: Laird Johnson, Loudoun Valley

1st team
OH Chelsea Blanford, Cox, Jr.
OH Morgan Clark, Loudoun Valley, Sr.
OH Susie Murach, Robinson, Jr.
OH Lindsay Stephens, South County, Sr.
MB Mallory Woolridge, Deep Run, Sr.
S Nicole Bennett, Loudoun Valley, Sr.
S Megan Meleski, Mills Godwin, Sr.
L Lindsay Gill, Stone Bridge, Sr.

2nd team
OH Christine Beckham, Stone Bridge, Jr.
OH Maggie Murphy, Mills Godwin, Sr.
OH Gabrielle Smith, Princess Anne, Soph.
MB Kellie Goss, Forest Park, Sr.
MB Allison Williams, Chantilly, Sr.
S Rachel Smith, Cox, Sr.
Caroline Ford, Kellam
L Megan Beckwith, Heritage, Sr.

Honorable mention
OH Brooke Barnes, Princess Anne, Jr.
OH Lian Bernett, Heritage, Sr.
OH Elyse Bush, Yorktown, Sr.
OH Rachel Goss, Forest Park, Sr.
Julie Cushman, James River
Erin Fitzgerald, Hermitage
Ryane Majewski, Hanover
S Abby Hendrix, Albemarle, Sr.
Ally Karol, Great Bridge
L Elysse Richardson, Langley, Sr.
L Maddie Wood, Mills Godwin, Jr.

Loudoun County senior outside hitter Juliane Hanna is AA player of the year. (John McDonnell, TWP)

AA All-State teams

Player of the year: OH Juliane Hanna, Loudoun County, Sr.
Coach of the year: Jarod Brown, Loudoun County

1st team
S Sarah Campbell, Grafton, Sr.
OH Juliane Hanna, Loudoun County, Sr.
OH Sarah Harper, Western Albemarle, Sr.
OH Morgan Kline, Grafton, Jr.
OH Bailey Lowenhaupt, Lafayette, Sr.
OH Morgan Shannon, Cave Spring, Soph.
S Robin Marsala, Loudoun County, Sr.
L Jocelyn Kellinger, Cave Spring, Sr.

2nd team
OH Michelle Heath, Rustburg, Soph.
OH Krista Hughes, Jamestown, Sr.
OH Adrianna Ramos, Chancellor, Jr.
OH Macey Tyree, Lord Botetourt, Jr.
MB Brooke Redmon, Kettle Run, Sr.
MH Elisa Scudder, Broad Run, Sr.
RS Sam Ringer, Hidden Valley, Sr.
S Taylor Riley, EC Glass, Sr.

Honorable mention
S Alexa Benson, Spotswood, Sr.
OH Rachel Binda, Waynesboro, Sr.
OH Kayla Crawford, Powhatan, Jr.
MH Grayce Darden, Martinsville, Jr.
OH Becca Houff, Fort Defiance, Sr.
S/OPP Maleia Neely, Carroll County, Jr.
L Honesty Roders, Carroll County, Jr.
OH Kayla Walker, Fluvanna, Jr.
L Vanessa Villalobos, Fauquier, Sr.

By Matt Brooks  |  January 27, 2010; 11:52 AM ET
Categories:  Broad Run , Forest Park , Heritage , Langley , Loudoun County High School , Loudoun Valley High School , Robinson , South County , Volleyball , Yorktown  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Two Riverbend players pick Division I schools
Next: MSHL and NVSHL All-Star rosters finalized

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company