Press Break The Post's Rundown of Local and National College Basketball
News Feed - March 9, 2009

The Big East’s head coaches placed Georgetown freshman Greg Monroe on the league’s All-Rookie team in voting after the regular season ended over the weekend. But not a single Hoya was represented on the Big East’s First, Second or Third teams or the Honorable-Mention squad.

Joining Monroe on the All-Rookie team were: Cincinnati forward Yancy Gates, Connecticut guard Kemba Walker, Louisville forward Samardo Samuels, Rutgers guard Mike Rosario and West Virginia forward Devin Ebanks.

Monroe and Samuels, were both McDonald’s all-Americans in high school, had shared pre-season honors as the league’s top rookie in voting in mid-October. Monroe finished second on the team in scoring (12.7 points per game) and led the Hoyas in rebounding (6.6).

Coaches had also selected Georgetown forward DaJuan Summers to the pre-season All-Big East team. But after a disappointing campaign, Summers, a 6-8 junior forward, was omitted from all four levels of honors. Summers averaged 13.6 points (25th in the league) during the regular season.

Notre Dame forward Luke Harangody, who led the league in scoring (23.7) and was second in rebounding (12.1), and Pittsburgh forward Sam Young were repeat selections to the six-member All-Big East First Team. They were joined by Connecticut center Hasheem Thabeet, Louisville forward Terrence Williams, Marquette guard Jerel McNeal and Pittsburgh center DeJuan Blair.

The Big East Player of the Year will be chosen from that list and announced on Tuesday, along with the league’s coach of the year, rookie of the year and scholar-athlete of the year. Georgetown (16-13, 7-11) is the 12th seed in the Big East tournament and opens play Tuesday at 2 p.m. against 13th seed St. John’s.

By Liz Clarke  |  March 9, 2009; 7:51 AM ET
Go to full archive for News Feed »


Please email us to report offensive comments.

The comments to this entry are closed.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company