Press Break The Post's Rundown of Local and National College Basketball
News Feed - March 10, 2009

Georgetown freshman center Greg Monroe was named the Big East Rookie of the Year by a vote of the league’s head coaches, officials announced Tuesday.

Monroe averaged 12.7 points, 6.6 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.8 steals for the Hoyas, whose Big East season ended Tuesday with a 64-59 loss to St. John’s in the opening round of the Big East Tournament. It was the Hoyas’ second loss to St. John’s in eight days.

Monroe thanked the Georgetown coaching staff and his teammates in accepting the award.

A pair of centers, Connecticut’s Hasheem Thabeet and Pittsburgh’s DeJuan Blair, shared honors as Player of the Year.

West Virginia’s Alex Ruoff was recognized as the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

And Villanova’s Jay Wright took Coach of the Year honors for a second time in his career. He was first recognized in 2005-06. This year, Wright led Villanova to a school-record 25 wins in the regular season and a 13-5 record in conference play.

In balloting, coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

The Hoyas were overlooked in balloting for the league’ First, Second and Third All Big East teams.

By Liz Clarke  |  March 10, 2009; 6:06 PM ET
Go to full archive for News Feed »


Please email us to report offensive comments.

The comments to this entry are closed.

© 2010 The Washington Post Company