Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: RedskinsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

All eyes -- and opinions -- focus on play-calling

So you may have read once or twice or thrice that the Redskins are using a play-caller tonight who began the season as a volunteer at a senior citizens' center. It's not just Coach Jim Zorn and his coaches who were baffled by management's decision to replace Zorn with Sherman Lewis, hired less than three weeks ago as an offensive consultant.

Last week, I spoke with Trent Dilfer, who's now an analyst for ESPN but in a former life played quarterback under Zorn for four seasons in Seattle.

"We're only six weeks into this thing. I know it looks awful. I'm telling you, what's happening offensively, it isn't great, and it probably doesn't feel like there's hope. But it's such a fine line in the NFL between bad and good, and good and great," Dilfer said. "They could make this thing good without a knee-jerk reaction."

In the Redskins' locker room, players have tried their best to put a positive spin on the offensive shake-up. But from their perspective, Dilfer said the change of play-callers makes even less sense than it does outside the locker room.

"If you're a player, you have two things that you're looking for when you're dealing with your coach: You want your coach to have a huge investment in what you're doing. You have trust and confidence in them, you want to see that offseason investment, the training camps, the 'Hey, I'm doing everything I can to prepare you.' And the other thing they look for is credibility, and that's earned in a lot of different ways," Dilfer said. "By making Sherm Lewis essentially the offensive coordinator -- what investment does he have in these players? He was playing bingo while they were in training camp, during preseason. What's his investment in building this program? None. Well, what's his credibility? He hasn't coached since 2004, he's outdated, hasn't been around. As a player, you're thinking, 'How the hell did this happen?'"

To understand the mechanics of how the play-calling is going to work tonight against the Eagles, be sure to check out this morning's story in the Post. And since we're on the topic, let me share with you a bit more of what Tony Dungy had to say in our interview. As we reported last week, Dungy can't recall seeing a play-caller supplanted mid-season in quite this manner.

"I just don't see how it helps," he said. "Even if it was somebody who's been there the whole time. I've never been one to change in the middle of the flow. In this case, you're asking someone to come in, learn your offense, learn your people and learn what they do really well. That's what play-calling is, it's not only a feel for the quarterback and what he does well and what he likes, and the opponent's defense, but it's your people and putting them all in the best position. So that's going to be the challenge for him. He has to learn that, learn what his guys do well, what things he like, how they function in certain situations - and he has to put that all together. I don't see how anybody from the outside could have a better feel for that than the coaches who've been the whole time and know these guys."

I told Dungy that I've heard of coaches who'd switch up play-callers at least temporarily - sometimes just for a series or two -- if they're looking for a spark. I asked if he'd ever done that.

"I never switched play-callers, not offensively or defensively. It's just something I never did," he said. "I've heard of head coaches who for one reason or another decide to let someone else call plays. But that's usually someone who's been in place on your staff a long time, knows the players, and he's doing the same things but just a slightly different approach. But no, that's nothing that I've ever done."

By Rick Maese  |  October 26, 2009; 12:15 PM ET
 
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Campbell puts benching, last week's drama behind him
Next: Gruden speaks of turmoil but not of job (updated)

Comments

It don't make much difference what play is called -- or who calls it -- if they can't/won't execute it.

- Offensive unit will still be unable to make first downs, sustain drives, score points

- CP26 stretch run to the left will still go for a 3 yard loss.

- JC17 pass upfield will still fall either 3 yards short of the marker or incomplete.

- Punts to ARE will still result in a fair catches/near fumbles/no gains.

- Fat Albert will still be sprawled out like a beached whale, sucking wind.

- Redskin D backs will still be prancing around like prom queens

- JZ will still be the most clueless coach in NFL history

- Vinny will still be spinning his lies and schemes

- Little Danny Boy will still be raking the cash, grimy hand over tightly clenched fist, stopping only occasionally to offer a middle fingered salute to the world

Posted by: Vic1 | October 26, 2009 12:20 PM | Report abuse

dang didn't even know there was a game tonite! thanks danny!

Posted by: dealer1 | October 26, 2009 12:20 PM | Report abuse

I see only one of two things happening tonight.

First: a debacle on the order of the Body Bag Game. (Mostly likely outcome.)

Second: Because of the unpredictability of Mr. Bingo and the toughness of our D, we somehow, miraculously hold on to a 14-13 victory. Danny and Vinnie go into the bye week thinking that this proves everything is hunky-dory. We then don't get another win for the rest of the season. Zorn and Campbell are gone in the off-season. Danny, seeing that a shake-up is needed in the front office, gives Vinnie a new job title but with the same responsibilities. Danny's second decade of ownership ends up looking a lot like his first.

Posted by: JohnnyRyde | October 26, 2009 12:22 PM | Report abuse

so did i hear/read this correctly that zorn will be in a cheerleader role? will he be helping the cheerleaders do the flips and stuff on the sidelines?

Posted by: dealer1 | October 26, 2009 12:22 PM | Report abuse

This just doesn't seem like Redskins Insider. We haven't had a single poll yet and it's already 12:30.

Posted by: League-Source | October 26, 2009 12:25 PM | Report abuse

I don't understand how dungy says its not the play calling.....that just baffles me.....here is a hint, throw/call more than one play for Moss...PERIOD. Anyone who watched any games yesterday saw people getting MULTIPLE passes on the SAME offensive series...we don't have that here...usually its catch a pass, hit the bench.....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 12:27 PM | Report abuse

You know what you need to do Bubba? Throw the ball down field when a DE blatently jumps offsides, not dump it off to RB for a gain of 5 (bush league, Jason, bush league). You are not a young QB anymore so stop using that excuse, you are in your 5th year! You cant seem to find the guys wearing the same color jersey as yourself unless they are in the flats. Santanna said it best, "C'mon, man its been five years and you dont know me?" Playing behind this line shouldnt be anything new, its only slightly worse this year than last. If you dont want to wind up like TC you better learn to adapt to your surroundings, and make whats avaliable to you work for you.

Posted by: murphyz | October 26, 2009 12:26 PM | Report abuse

Posted by: murphyz | October 26, 2009 12:27 PM | Report abuse

btw...is dungy trying to throw in his hat in the ring for skins coaching job? he's been very very vocal (much like marty was before he got hired here) about the skins since like week 2 or 3. he was the first one to jump on the skins org at the national level.

i would love dungy more than any other coach available!

Posted by: dealer1 | October 26, 2009 12:27 PM | Report abuse

Campbell's gone after, and you all might as well prepare yourselves, just like Saunders (receiver of so many complaints and insults) and Grilliams, will likely do extremely well. Why, because in all cases Gibbs chose them not Snyder.

Posted by: periculum | October 26, 2009 12:27 PM | Report abuse

And the litany of let's-see-what-other-irrelevant-figure-will-criticize-the-skins "reporting" continues... Next up, Sally Jenkins digs up the dessicated body of Jerry Smith to get insight into the Skins failings, linking it to the nation's slow reaction in dealing with the AIDS epidemic.

Posted by: SnyderisaBornLoser | October 26, 2009 12:28 PM | Report abuse

Second: Because of the unpredictability of Mr. Bingo and the toughness of our D, we somehow, miraculously hold on to a 14-13 victory.

Keep dreaming, Snyder and Sonny are back-seat quarterbacking from the booth. That never works. Get Sonny on the field. If he has opinions, and the ear of the owner. Fine. Get down on the field and run your offense Sonny and see what happens. Put up your shut up.

Posted by: periculum | October 26, 2009 12:30 PM | Report abuse

just run no huddle shotgun all day long and have flanker screens / hb options as your running game...the modern nfl offense is a passing game, lets get portis to run out of the backfield first, then catch the ball...oh wait, we cant do that because our best olineman is derrick dockery...yikes

Posted by: hezbollaskins | October 26, 2009 12:30 PM | Report abuse

so did i hear/read this correctly that zorn will be in a cheerleader role? will he be helping the cheerleaders do the flips and stuff on the sidelines?

Posted by: dealer1


Easy to tell, Dealer. Watch the cheerleaders. If they only go left, Zorn has been coaching them.

Posted by: TheCork | October 26, 2009 12:30 PM | Report abuse

Dan Snyder needs to eat what I dropped off in the toilet this morning.

Posted by: Poopy_McPoop | October 26, 2009 12:30 PM | Report abuse

Dungy/Vick in 2010... book it!

Posted by: NateinthePDX | October 26, 2009 12:31 PM | Report abuse

Tonight's game should be a head-scatcher, like that NWA flight that overshot its destination last week before the cockpit crew came around

Posted by: Xint.

I used to work for ALPA, the Pilot’s union and remain an aviation buff, although I refuse to fly in the buff. Pilots are “forbidden” to nap in cockpits even if the other one promises to stay awake while they do, except on international flights when there is a third pilot.

Pilots union insists on short length and erasability of cockpit flight recorder. The NWA flight only records 30 minutes before it erases over it. So critical moments are lost.

Can’t prove anything, but if I WERE a betting man, I’d bet they were both in dreamland. Management puts pax in danger by counting travel time against crew rest. So, if you’re a pilot and FAA insists you get, say 8 hours between flights of Crew rest, that doesn’t mean you are guaranteed 8 hours of sleep. So time to the hotel, checking in, dinner etc. all is part of it. This is one reason why pilots doze off.

Another factor, the cockpit door is locked in flight due to 9/11. So the flight attendants could only call those guys by intercom.

Happy Holiday travels, everyone.

Posted by: TheCork | October 26, 2009 12:32 PM | Report abuse

I can't get youtube at work. Did Casserly's piece show our young receivers (Thomas and Kelly) getting open and overlooked or was it mostly Moss and ARE?

It'd be a small silver lining if Thomas and Kelly still have promise and Campbell's the problem. If it's both than that takes the offseason offense rebuilding project to about 95% needed or greater.

Posted by: skinswest | October 26, 2009 12:36 PM | Report abuse

"Pilots union insists on short length and erasability of cockpit flight recorder. The NWA flight only records 30 minutes before it erases over it. So critical moments are lost"

Pick a reason to hate unions, and this could be one of them....complete and total waste of time....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 12:36 PM | Report abuse

Pound the ball with that 5'9'' 214 Ganther fellow and throw it deep a lot.

Posted by: PAskinsfan17 | October 26, 2009 12:36 PM | Report abuse

Danny, seeing that a shake-up is needed in the front office, gives Vinnie a new job title but with the same responsibilities. Danny's second decade of ownership ends up looking a lot like his first.

Posted by: JohnnyRyde | October 26, 2009 12:22 PM

Good one.

Posted by: Realness1 | October 26, 2009 12:39 PM | Report abuse

"If it's both than that takes the offseason offense rebuilding project to about 95% needed or greater.

Posted by: skinswest"

Don't fool yourself, it's everyone. A few isolated snapshots of certain plays does not make it that these guys are playing well. There's a reason MK12 was benched for DT11 -- and it's not because DT11 has been lighting up the field.

It's everyone, and someone new on each different play. Sometimes it's Campbell, sometimes it's the WRs, sometimes it's the offensive line, sometimes it's the play calls. With an offense this bad, it's never as simple as one entity behind the whole thing (unless it's the guy bringing everyone else in).

Posted by: psps23 | October 26, 2009 12:41 PM | Report abuse

They were going nowhere with Zorn.
I just wish they could have gotten a little league coach to call the plays.
Good luck getting someone to run the organization without snyder's sticking his nose in it.

Posted by: jmy999 | October 26, 2009 12:42 PM | Report abuse

Philly games are usually decided by 7 or less. I could see Philly pulling away late due to inept DC O. Too many 3 and outs and the D being on the field way too long due to lack of help from the O.

Posted by: Realness1 | October 26, 2009 12:43 PM | Report abuse


"Pilots are “forbidden” to nap in cockpits even if the other one promises to stay awake.."

A gay pilot friend of mine says this is a problem as when it happens, a guy chokes to death in his sleep while the plane is in the air and the other guy is too busy enjoying himself to notice.

Thank god they have rules against this.


(INSERT shouts of, "Moe you homophobe," against an image of him in a pilot's outfit.)

Posted by: MistaMoe | October 26, 2009 12:43 PM | Report abuse

I can't get youtube at work. Did Casserly's piece show our young receivers (Thomas and Kelly) getting open and overlooked or was it mostly Moss and ARE?

It'd be a small silver lining if Thomas and Kelly still have promise and Campbell's the problem. If it's both than that takes the offseason offense rebuilding project to about 95% needed or greater.

Posted by: skinswest | October 26, 2009 12:36 PM | Report abuse

Nope, it showed Moss, ARE and Cooley getting open and being ignored. Strangely, in once case, he dumps it off short to Fred Davis instead of hitting a more open and further down the field Cooley...

Posted by: JohnnyRyde | October 26, 2009 12:44 PM | Report abuse

I don't understand how dungy says its not the play calling.....that just baffles me.....here is a hint, throw/call more than one play for Moss...PERIOD. Anyone who watched any games yesterday saw people getting MULTIPLE passes on the SAME offensive series...we don't have that here...usually its catch a pass, hit the bench.....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1

Agreed. The FO is getting ripped as they should. But J Reid and the media are trying to make seem as though Zorn is a victim. His offense sucks and its not just about execution. The only one who seems to call this offense for what it is is Riggins. Being predictable with no creativity is nobody's fault but the coaches.

Can it get any worse with Sherm Lewis calling the plays? Don't think so.

Posted by: dcwun | October 26, 2009 12:44 PM | Report abuse

'Pilots are “forbidden” to nap in cockpits even if the other one promises to stay awake while they do.'

I was always amused when I'd glance over at my pilot, and saw him with the groggy eyes. I'd grad the yoke [that's like the steering wheel, so save the lame jokes], and yank it hard to the left or right, just to see the shock/fear on his face.

Of course, when it's just the two of you in a Cessna 172 at 1,400 feet, you can get away with that.

Posted by: 4-12 | October 26, 2009 12:44 PM | Report abuse

I'm lookin' over the sched and tonite seems to be one of the only 2 chances left for a win (though cross country wasn't so good for the Iggles last week.)

If they can't show up for MNF we are a lock for Top 5 draft pick. Whose the best tackle available?

Posted by: DCV1 | October 26, 2009 12:45 PM | Report abuse

I can't get youtube at work. Did Casserly's piece show our young receivers (Thomas and Kelly) getting open and overlooked or was it mostly Moss and ARE?

Posted by: skinswest | October 26, 2009 12:36 PM

The first was ARE on a crossing pattern. ARE was open at the sticks, but JC check to throw to CP for a 8 yard gain.

The second Moss was open on a quick slant, which looked like a gain of 10-15 yards w/o YAC. JC pumped his way but didn't throw it to Moss. He checked to Sellers who was more covered but gained 10 yards with his YAC.

The third was to Cooley. Cooley was open early on a crossing route. JC had a clear view of the play, but he didn't throw it on time and the Bucs defenders broke up the pass.

Posted by: TWISI | October 26, 2009 12:46 PM | Report abuse

I'm not even interested in reading news about this team anymore.

Posted by: Rypien11 | October 26, 2009 12:46 PM | Report abuse

The third was to Cooley. Cooley was open early on a crossing route. JC had a clear view of the play, but he didn't throw it on time and the Bucs defenders broke up the pass.

Posted by: TWISI | October 26, 2009 12:46 PM | Report abuse

This was actually the fourth... The third was Cooley open on what looked like a crossing pattern. JC17 dumps it off short to Fred Davis (to Davis' credit, it does look like he made the first down)...

Posted by: JohnnyRyde | October 26, 2009 12:49 PM | Report abuse

oh, nice use of the lingo, Cork - Pax, for passengers - It never leaves you, does it?

Posted by: JohnDinHouston | October 26, 2009 12:51 PM | Report abuse

Thanks TWISI, JR, and psp. I'm just hoping there's something, anything to salvage from this offense this offseason. Cooley, Moss, ARE as a slot WR, Marko, DT/MK maybe, not much else.

Posted by: skinswest | October 26, 2009 12:52 PM | Report abuse

"I'm not even interested in reading news about this team anymore."


Empty burgandy n gold seats are what's next.

And if that doesn't change things, well, for some of us, there's baseball.

Posted by: MistaMoe | October 26, 2009 12:53 PM | Report abuse

I can't get youtube at work. Did Casserly's piece show our young receivers (Thomas and Kelly) getting open and overlooked or was it mostly Moss and ARE?

It'd be a small silver lining if Thomas and Kelly still have promise and Campbell's the problem. If it's both than that takes the offseason offense rebuilding project to about 95% needed or greater.
______
No it was ARE, Moss and Cooley. Great points that Charlie made though.

Posted by: Levelheadedskinsfan19 | October 26, 2009 12:54 PM | Report abuse

I laughed at this in Steve Hendrix's article today.

"I think the relentless negative coverage in The Washington Post is a real difference from previous years," Donovan said. "But in terms of the way our actual fans are behaving, we don't see any difference."

Damn you WAPO! It's all your fault! Lol. Talk about clueless.

Sell the Team!

Posted by: skinswest | October 26, 2009 12:56 PM | Report abuse

I'm calling the upset tonight. 23-10. It'll be a shocker, but this team heads into the bye at 3-4. Devin Thomas gets the first receiving TD of his career. And we get a MM sighting.

Posted by: psps23 | October 26, 2009 12:57 PM | Report abuse

Empty burgandy n gold seats are what's next.

And if that doesn't change things, well, for some of us, there's baseball.

Posted by: MistaMoe | October 26, 2009 12:53 PM

Anyone that's been a Bullets/zards, Caps, O's fan for a long time knows exactly what to do: change the channel before you vomit.

Posted by: Realness1 | October 26, 2009 12:58 PM | Report abuse

anyone know if Mason got picked up yet....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 12:59 PM | Report abuse

I'm going to make a bold predictionf or tonight's game!

You'll hear it here first...

The Redskins will score a touchdown tonight!

The good money says it will be a return touchdown (defense or special teams), but I'm holding out that the offense actually scores a TD...

Posted by: noonefromtampa | October 26, 2009 1:00 PM | Report abuse

anyone know if Mason got picked up yet....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 12:59 PM |

Why? Are the police looking for him?

Posted by: League-Source | October 26, 2009 1:02 PM | Report abuse

I laughed at this in Steve Hendrix's article today.

"I think the relentless negative coverage in The Washington Post is a real difference from previous years," Donovan said. "But in terms of the way our actual fans are behaving, we don't see any difference."

yes, Jimmy Johnson, Tony Dungy and Charlie Casserly have all been brought under the spell of the elite, liberal news media, and are simply regurgitating the Post's talking posts. The difference between politics and sports, is, oh, I don't know: WE CAN SEE WHAT'S GOING ON ON THE FIELD EVER GAME!!! The Post does not have to say it...we know it's a tranwreck.

Posted by: JohnDinHouston | October 26, 2009 1:02 PM | Report abuse

Redskins win 14-13 based on seven defensive safeties. Sherman Lewis' maverick decision to punt on every other first down is heralded as unpredictable brilliance.

During the bye week, it is announced that Slingin' Sammy Baugh had faked his won death and is now ready to head back to D.C. for the QB job.

Posted by: JohnnyRyde | October 26, 2009 1:02 PM | Report abuse

I love where your hearts at psps23, I'd love to see that.

Getting my self prepared mentally for an epic beatdown and embarrassment at work. Oh, the joys of the Snyder era!

Posted by: AppleScience | October 26, 2009 1:02 PM | Report abuse

Empty burgandy n gold seats are what's next.

And if that doesn't change things, well, for some of us, there's baseball.

Posted by: MistaMoe | October 26, 2009 12:53 PM | Report abuse

I tried to get some people to take my tickets for this game. No one wanted them. I decided to not fight the traffic, pay out my arse for food and drink, and then fight traffic home.

I would prefer to watch a mediocre football game from the comfort of my house.

Posted by: gatorskinz2000 | October 26, 2009 1:03 PM | Report abuse

Who was it that gave the 92 Superbowl to Charley Casserly? Yes, he was the GM then, but those were Beathard's players.

Casserly is one of the few former front office people that will go on TV. Good for him, but I don't think he's all that great an evaluator of talent. The teams that he built in Washington and Houston were average at best.

It's easy for him to sit back and say well ARE was open on this play, but JC threw it to the wrong guy. Does he know what JC was supposed to be reading? Does he know what ARE was supposed to be doing?

Maybe -- and this is just a suggestion -- maybe ARE was running the "wrong" route. If the play design is f'ed up, and a pro like ARE decides to go left instead of right because he knows he'll be open, then ARE is "wrong". And if JC17 is reading the "right" keys, then he goes away from ARE because he won't be open. But he is.

Which makes it confusing, right?


That's what I think is wrong with the offense. Guys are confused. They're not on the same page. And they're not on the same page for two reasons: First, they don't practice well. Second, if everybody did what they were supposed to, then most likely they'd all be covered.

So, here's what I'd like to see tonight. JC17 says "f-it" and let's it rip. Throw a few deep balls to 12 or 11 whenever they get single coverage. Scream at them if they don't f'ing catch it.

I'd also like to see Landry line up about 10 yards closer to the LOS. He's playing too deep.

Posted by: dpc2003 | October 26, 2009 1:05 PM | Report abuse

I'm calling the upset tonight. 23-10. It'll be a shocker, but this team heads into the bye at 3-4. Devin Thomas gets the first receiving TD of his career. And we get a MM sighting.

Posted by: psps23 | October 26, 2009 12:57 PM | Report abuse

Man I hope you are right. What time will the actives and inactives be shown?

Posted by: FedorEm | October 26, 2009 1:06 PM | Report abuse

I laughed at this in Steve Hendrix's article today.

"I think the relentless negative coverage in The Washington Post is a real difference from previous years," Donovan said. "But in terms of the way our actual fans are behaving, we don't see any difference."


Well, when "da Mayor" evenly distributes the ire towards the Head Coach and not just the owner (who derserves it) I'll fully believe that the Post is taking an un-biased approach.

Posted by: dcwun | October 26, 2009 1:09 PM | Report abuse

yes, as a matter of fact, all writers for major metropolitan dailys have regular weekly story conferences where they make sure that their biases are all on the same page.

Posted by: JohnDinHouston | October 26, 2009 1:14 PM | Report abuse

"Pilots union insists on short length and erasability of cockpit flight recorder. The NWA flight only records 30 minutes before it erases over it. So critical moments are lost"

Pick a reason to hate unions, and this could be one of them....complete and total waste of time....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1

Save your political idiocy for your Right Wing Pals. If it wasn't for pilot unions and government "intervention," American aviation wouldn't be the safest form of travel there is.

To me, the most fascinating thing about pilots in the union was most of the pilots--mostly ex-military and tending to be conservative anyway--were bloody radicals when it came to their OWN union, which served their best interests.

Funny how that is. Conservatives and their "purity" of thinking and all.

The reason for the "erasability" of the cockpit recorder was primarily to keep management snoops from invading their privacy, by the way. Kind of a Bill of Rights deal. You know who else thinks that way? ACLU.

End of diatribe. Stay in your comfort zone, Beans--whatever that is--you just sound stupid when you rant about stuff you are clueless about.

Posted by: TheCork | October 26, 2009 1:16 PM | Report abuse

Sherm is getting a lot of credit for past teams but didn't he have Montana/Rice/Clark and Favre/etc.???

Little difference with Campbell/Moss/Thomas you think???

Posted by: fearturtle44 | October 26, 2009 1:18 PM | Report abuse

really corky, care to tell me why the fire-fighters union around here wont sign off on their new contract if there is drug testing in it??

How about the teachers union who wants pay raises in what could at best be described as a recession??

I have TONS of friends who are union plumbers/electricians, and even they can admit that the union is a joke....

Yeah, sorry to disagree with you there, but unions are a complete WASTE....

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 1:21 PM | Report abuse

I'd like to see more play action off the stretch where Campbell fakes to Portis going right, then throws to a tight end dragging underneath or Moss/Thomas running a post-corner route to the back side of the play.

I'd also like to see play action off the 'iso lead' and Betts running the 'counter sweep' with both guards pulling is a nice play.
Again: I'm really interested in how Lewis calls things tonite.

Posted by: MistaMoe

For “play action” to work, you pretty much have to establish a running game, first. Aye, there’s the rub.

I hate stretch plays. Pull guards, lead blockers. Look at old Gibbs 1.0 days. Beat up their linebackers, make their safeties cautious, mow down corners.

And for God’s sake, put the “counter” back in the counter trey.|

The Redskins biggest advantage tonite is Philly doesn’t have a book on Lewis. Philly's biggest advantage is they're playing the Redskins.

Posted by: TheCork | October 26, 2009 1:21 PM | Report abuse

beep beep, unless you're a union shill...

Posted by: BeantownGreg1 | October 26, 2009 1:22 PM | Report abuse

yes, as a matter of fact, all writers for major metropolitan dailys have regular weekly story conferences where they make sure that their biases are all on the same page.

Posted by: JohnDinHouston

Gimme a break. I guess the FO is calling the predictable, grade school offensive plays. Look, I'm not saying that Snyder hasn't made a ton of mistakes. He needs to get himself a football guy not named Vinny.

As a fan I want an owner that will spend money to do what's necessary to win and Snyder will do that. He's made sh!ddy decisions but he's not Donald Sterling either who ONLY cares about making money and won't spend a dime.

Getting back to the main point, Zorn is to blame for taking over a playoff team and making it worse. Stop the Zorn pity party. He's a terrible play caller.

Posted by: dcwun | October 26, 2009 1:28 PM | Report abuse

Does anyone have any hope for tonight...

Lets review. We lose to the Chiefs, they lose 37-7...we barely beat the Rams, they lose 42-6...we lose to the Panthers, they lose to the almost as crummy Bills. Face it, THEY ARE GOING TO LOSE TONIGHT AND 8 to 10 MORE TIMES THIS SEASON. I still consider myself fan. Have rooted for the team for years - Over the Hill Gang era. But am tired of losing...tired of being a laughing stock...tired of spending my time and energy supporting an individual who thinks he is a football man because he watched the team as a child and got rich (how I'll never know based on his track record since 1999). I'll watch the games, but I'm a realist. We are not a good team right now.

Posted by: sanantonioredskin | October 26, 2009 1:29 PM | Report abuse

"If they can't show up for MNF we are a lock for Top 5 draft pick. Whose the best tackle available?Posted by: DC"

Russell Okung.

Posted by: Samson151 | October 26, 2009 1:44 PM | Report abuse

"It's easy for him to sit back and say well ARE was open on this play, but JC threw it to the wrong guy. Does he know what JC was supposed to be reading? Does he know what ARE was supposed to be doing?
Maybe -- and this is just a suggestion -- maybe ARE was running the "wrong" route. If the play design is f'ed up, and a pro like ARE decides to go left instead of right because he knows he'll be open, then ARE is "wrong". And if JC17 is reading the "right" keys, then he goes away from ARE because he won't be open. But he is."

OK, watch the clip. Casserly's right -- those receivers are open, Jason looks in their direction, and instead either checks down to the shorter route, or throws too late to complete.

The legit objection is one of cherry-picking -- it's possible Jason hits throws such as that seven times out of ten -- but based on the ones he selected, Casserly is absolutely right: Jason is not making the throw.

He's looking right at them, they're coming open (even wide open), and he's not completing it.

That's what coaches and players mean by 'execution'. Complete five or six of those during a game and you have a victory. Miss them, and it's three and out.

Of course those weren't 'red zone' throws, either. May be a whole other set of problems within the twenty.

Pull the trigger, Jason. Campbell's a good QB, a good passer, a tough guy and smart with the ball.

That's all he needs to be to win in this league.

Which makes it confusing, right?

Posted by: Samson151 | October 26, 2009 2:00 PM | Report abuse

The second Snyder fires Vinny, he needs to call Tony Dungy and offer him a Parcells type of position for the Skins. Have Dungy hire the GM, coach, head of scouting. Dungy should bring the respect to the organization. He is thoughtful enough where he can keep Snyder thinking he is involved when in reality he is not. Dungy has learned under winners Chuck Noll, Bill Polian, etc. He would love working in this city. He should be the 1st call!!

Posted by: dph60 | October 26, 2009 2:42 PM | Report abuse

Casserly is one of the few former front office people that will go on TV. Good for him, but I don't think he's all that great an evaluator of talent. The teams that he built in Washington and Houston were average at best.
-------------------------------------------
Charlie picked Mario Williams over Reggie Bush (turned out to be a pretty good decision). It was Charlie who picked Steve Smith, Matt Schaub and Andre Johnson. The team that is playing pretty good football in Texas are mostly Charlie's players. Maybe not the best evaluator of talent but I would rather him putting a team on the field than Cerrato, his decisions are just MattMillenish.

Posted by: murphyz | October 26, 2009 2:56 PM | Report abuse

Dungy is a bright guy but he won nothing but a couple playoff games until he had Peyton Manning at QB with a Superior General Manager at Indy. He was soft at Tampa Bay and remains so. He is right in a way though, changing the play caller will do nothing for this team. Remember, the plays called tonight are no different than with Zorn, just likely called in a different order. These plays are predictable, slow to develop, consevative and just plain bad and we all know it.
6 points against the Chiefs and 9 against the Rams-futility of the grandest oreder

Do you really thing much will change?

Posted by: jshavatt | October 26, 2009 4:17 PM | Report abuse

12-4

Close lose in the Super Bowl.

Posted by: joinnow | October 26, 2009 7:09 PM | Report abuse

What it is not.

1 The plays, they worked the first eight games last year.

2 The coach no one can win with this team not Gibbs Zorn or anyone else.

3 It is not JC we won supper bowls with MR and a very old DW. We could not win with Sonny J, bobby Mitchell Charley Taylor,Jerry Smith and no offensive line

4 It is not Cliton Portis he was fine last year and made his longest run this year,

What it is.

1 what is the plan? I do not know can anyone tell me.

2 The front office. Last winter after the collapse during the last 8 games. The Redskins own evaluation was that they needed offensive linemen. What offensive linemen now active could have started for any of the supper bowl teams? The bases of all three super bowls was the draft of Mark May 1 round Joe Jacoby free agent Russ Grimm 1 round.

3 The owner! Instead of offensive line help we went for the silver bullet Albert Haynesworth. It sure was a big splash but he does not play offensive line. First round draft choice Brian Orakpo a fine player was not much help to the offensive line.

Posted by: Oldtimer42 | October 26, 2009 7:19 PM | Report abuse

Are the Redskins still sueing little old ladies who can't afford their season tickets?

Posted by: logcabin1836 | October 26, 2009 7:20 PM | Report abuse

I have never been so excited as I am right now to see a Train Wreck continue as I am this one! I'm all giddy and what not like a Kid in a candy store that's got a Toys R Us right next door!!

I don't know who's more of a Tyrant Pro Sports owner... Peter Angelos or Dan Snyder. I do give the Redskin fans credit for standing strong and standing up for their team and placing the blame truly where it belongs.... On the shoulders of the Front Office. I will B'more fans did the same thing for their Orioles. But until change comes... I will be watching this magnificent Train Wreck called the Washington Redskins ride out the rest of their season with GLEE!

Posted by: smith_avan | October 26, 2009 7:38 PM | Report abuse

Did anybody else see Cousin Vinny on Sportscenter this evening. I have to admit that's the first time I've ever actually seen him. With that being said, the last thing I think when I see somebody like that is "football expert." He looks a hell of a lot more like a sketchy used car salesman.

Posted by: SharkMan2 | October 26, 2009 7:40 PM | Report abuse

at least the philly defense wont know whats coming. I mean, if our own guys dont even know what is going to be called, then there is no way philly can either.

Posted by: rademaar | October 26, 2009 7:57 PM | Report abuse

Vinny Cerrato? We'd be better off having Vinny Barbarino run the team.

Posted by: TDunn28 | October 26, 2009 8:01 PM | Report abuse

Is it just me, or did Albert Haynesworth look out of breath during his interview with Kelli Johnson?

Thx,

Jay!

Posted by: jayrockers | October 26, 2009 8:22 PM | Report abuse

I think I get it now. Sherm has a facial expression in his repertoire which Zorn lacks, and it's the exact right facial expression for a person who's coaching the Redskins offense.

Posted by: douglaslbarber | October 26, 2009 8:24 PM | Report abuse

Why do they even need a "play caller" anyway? These are big bucks professional "players" - why can't they just go out and, you know, *play*, without having to be told what to do every inch of the way by guys on the sidelines. They should take a look at few of the other varieties of football, like soccer or rugby, where they just pick a team, work on tactics in practice, then send them out to play the game. They could get rid of a few million worth of useless sideline flunkies. Let them play!

Posted by: stantheman1 | October 26, 2009 8:54 PM | Report abuse

5:55 in the second qtr. the redskins show up.

5:54 after a muff punt, they could have folded...

that is the first show of real heart by this team in 2009. maybe the cupboard isn't totally bare, but there is a lot missing from these skins.

but they do have heart, i saw it.

Posted by: stopdk1 | October 26, 2009 9:52 PM | Report abuse


...the offense the offense the offense the offense... and yes, the play calling has been offensive... you don't call a stretch play in your end zone when it has not gotten you yards since the 9th game of last year. Folks keep blaming Fat Albert... first he did not give himself the contract, second the first thing they addressed in free agency was signing Doc... Randy Thomas goes down, Chris Samuels goes down... and we end up having a very mediocre offense...

Posted by: samiismoni14 | October 26, 2009 10:26 PM | Report abuse

I'm so cool, I colored my hair yellow, look at me !
great punt returns...
got to admit, I love watching the Deadskins lose a football game....
remember when they had a running game?

Posted by: griffmills | October 26, 2009 10:40 PM | Report abuse

JC, lookin' good : )

Posted by: griffmills | October 26, 2009 10:41 PM | Report abuse

Randle El "I'm so scared"
Moss, The Celebrator !!

What a game, what a season
Where's that Bandwagon?

I have yellow hair, look at me me me

Posted by: griffmills | October 26, 2009 10:43 PM | Report abuse

Here we go...channel the Saints...or maybe not...

JC has not had a good game, but wow...the O Line isn't doing him any favors!

Posted by: suzannepdc | October 26, 2009 11:08 PM | Report abuse

Hello SAM BRADFORD!

Posted by: thehogs1 | October 26, 2009 11:37 PM | Report abuse

Campbell is indecisive, holds the ball to long, and has a slow release, and doesn't read defenses well.

It's on the QB. Look what Alex Smith did for the 49ers when he went into the game. JC17 just plain sucks.


FACT:
Burnell and Collins took this team to the playoffs

Posted by: thehogs1 | October 26, 2009 11:43 PM | Report abuse

Cooley is such an attention ho. I'm sick of him.

Posted by: sasha_206 | October 26, 2009 11:51 PM | Report abuse

It's going to be an ugly day on the comment boards Tuesday.

Posted by: waterfrontproperty | October 26, 2009 11:54 PM | Report abuse

Don't fool yourself, it's everyone. A few isolated snapshots of certain plays does not make it that these guys are playing well. There's a reason MK12 was benched for DT11 -- and it's not because DT11 has been lighting up the field.

It's everyone, and someone new on each different play. Sometimes it's Campbell, sometimes it's the WRs, sometimes it's the offensive line, sometimes it's the play calls. With an offense this bad, it's never as simple as one entity behind the whole thing (unless it's the guy bringing everyone else in).

Posted by: psps23 | October 26, 2009 12:41 PM | Report abuse


-- EXACTLY! It's the ENTIRE offense...the only person to point the finger to is Snyder/Cerrato (they are one person in this organization)!

If I were king for a day, I would fire Cerrato then hire a real GM to rebuild from the inside out...meaning first order of business is fix this O line...second task is to get more play makers on the outside...lastly depth at running back. IF after I made those improvements things didn't work, I would then look at the QB.

Posted by: cedric_lockhart | October 27, 2009 12:30 AM | Report abuse

The 'skins could have drafted Desean Jackson AND Eddie Royal!!!!

Posted by: jgluke | October 27, 2009 12:31 AM | Report abuse

Campbell sacked 6 times tonight. That's not his fault. On one play, he ducked one guy before he even finished a 5 step drop. He definitely could've tucked the ball when he got it knocked out...but he was in motion to throw deep. Really, the pocket shouldn't have collapsed so quickly - but you have to protect the ball. Campbell had better numbers than McNabb. Campbell is 8th in the league for completion percentage, and 13th for yards per attempt. He screws up about as often as everyone else on the team though. About 10% of the time.

The bye week should be blocking drills for everyone on the line (TE's & RB's included). Catching drills for Fred Davis and Randle El. How to take an angle drills for the entire secondary. And Carlos Rogers needs double move practice.

Posted by: 20yrskinfan | October 27, 2009 1:06 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company