Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: RedskinsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

An Unrestricted Preview of Skins-Cowboys

Jason Reid takes an unrestricted look at the Cowboys-Skins game Sunday (with audio from Jim Zorn.) More updates coming shortly when practice begins at noon.

By Cindy Boren  |  September 25, 2008; 11:40 AM ET
 
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Redskins Alter Schedule Ahead of Storm
Next: Taylor Departs -- Ever So Slowly

Comments

First

Posted by: Vinny Cerrato | September 25, 2008 11:47 AM | Report abuse

I think one of the best non-divisional rivalries (at least in the 10 years or so) is Tampa Bay/Washington.

Posted by: Mike Alstott | September 25, 2008 11:08 AM

Does anyone know why, we played Tampa twice in the regular season in 1994, I thought you only ever played Divs. teams twice in a year.

I know this was a long time ago but i remeber it happening and never got an explanation.

Posted by: Flounder | September 25, 2008 11:48 AM | Report abuse

Here's the NFL play-by-play on it:

1-10-WAS 32 (8:50) 17-J.Campbell pass deep right to 11-D.Thomas for 68 yards, TOUCHDOWN NULLIFIED by Penalty [56-C.Okeafor]. PENALTY on WAS-74-S.Heyer, Unnecessary Roughness, 15 yards, enforced at WAS 32 - No Play.

I thought unnecessary roughness was a penalty that was enforced after the result of the play.

Posted by: MrRedskin21 | September 25, 2008 11:51 AM | Report abuse

these videos are lame. nobody enjoys or watches them. whay are they still being made? J. Reid is better than this garbage.

Posted by: VG | September 25, 2008 11:52 AM | Report abuse

lick, lick...tickle, tickle.....lick, lick

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

NFC East QB ratings:

6 Tony Romo QB, DAL 103.2
8 D. McNabb QB, PHI 102.8
9 J. Campbell QB, WAS 100.1
13 E. Manning QB, NYG 91.1

Nice to see Campbell improving. Hope it continues.

Posted by: Realness | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

No significant weaknesses how about that they can not cover anybody.

Posted by: Flounder | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

I haven't kept up with all of the jibba jabba so this might have already gotten posted. If not, it defintely fits for Dallas week!

http://flickr.com/photos/dharmabumx/2881275223/in/pool-dcist

Posted by: BCBarney | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

I hate these videos so much.

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

these videos are lame. nobody enjoys or watches them. whay are they still being made? J. Reid is better than this garbage.

Posted by: VG | September 25, 2008 11:52 AM

Because someone is willing to pay the Washington Post three cents (i'm guessing) if you'll look at their stupid commercial. Stop clicking on the videos and they'll go away (I'm guessing again).

Posted by: talent evaluator | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM | Report abuse

Unnecessary roughness is usually called for something that happened after the play, but can also be called for something that happened during the play. It's just that - "unnecessary" roughness. Knocking someone down 40 yards behind the play, who can't possible affect the outcome of the play as it's unfolding at that time, is considered "unnecesary." Not saying I agree with that, and not at all saying I didn't like seeing some fire and meanness out of Heyer, but that's why they called it.

Posted by: Frank Burns | September 25, 2008 11:58 AM | Report abuse

+++Riggo is all about his paycheck always has and always will, really could care less about the Skins,… I personally don't get all the fawning over him yes he was a good running back but I thought Stephen Davis was every bit as a good as Riggo,
Posted by: dargregmag@aol.com | September 25, 2008 10:42 AM+++

You want to know why people love Riggo? I’ll tell you why….

Hit it, Boys….!!!

“See the way he walks down the street
Watch the way he shuffles his feet
My, he holds his head up high
When he goes walking by...

He's a rebel and he'll never ever be any good
He's a rebel 'cause he never ever does what he should…”

Posted by: Cork & The Crystals | September 25, 2008 11:59 AM | Report abuse

+++Just curious, had something along the lines of what is happening with Plax in NY, happened here in DC, would it have been bigger news??

Posted by: Greg | September 25, 2008 8:43 AM+++


Nope. It was bigger news in NYC than Palin going to the UN and asking if she could meet Queen Latifah.

Posted by: Corkczar | September 25, 2008 12:00 PM | Report abuse

Cindy, if I ever get caned at my job(it will probably be for perma-bloging.) I will come bye and consult on the videos to placeate the complaints.

Posted by: Alex35332 | September 25, 2008 12:00 PM | Report abuse

I hate these videos so much.

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM

It could use a car chase, a shootout, or some rump shaking. Maybe lead with a couple of jokes?

Posted by: SMACK | September 25, 2008 12:00 PM | Report abuse

lick, lick...tickle, tickle.....lick, lick

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 11:57 AM

"What does the typical Dallas Cowboy do during halftime?" ...I'll take "Homo Teams" for $800, Alex.

Posted by: Ed | September 25, 2008 12:01 PM | Report abuse

Flounder, I remember that, it was a one-time thing, some idiosyncrasy in the way they put the schedule together back then... there was some allowance in the schedule for parity reasons to match "bad teams" based on the previous season's record, with more flexibility (obviously) than there is in the current schedule, and we (coming off a 4-12 season) drew the Bucs (coming off a 5-11 season) twice.

And they beat us twice, in the span of 15 days. Brutal.

http://www.pro-football-reference.com/teams/tam/1994.htm

Posted by: Nate in the PDX | September 25, 2008 12:02 PM | Report abuse

He's a rebel and he'll never ever be any good
He's a rebel 'cause he never ever does what he should…”


Posted by: Cork & The Crystals | September 25, 2008 11:59 AM
------------------------------------------
Thats 30 seconds of my life wasted

Posted by: diesel | September 25, 2008 12:02 PM | Report abuse

++++… I neglected to add one B. Kilmer to my list of all time most irritating Redskins from a Boys perspective. It was galling to have that guy complete passes on the Boys, given that half of his throws looked like he had punted them…
Posted by: Darrell Dallas | September 25, 2008 8:33 AM++++

You got THAT right. Why I remember New Year’s eve of ‘72, when he fogged an end over end knuckler about forty yards down the right sideline into the waiting arms of one Charley Taylor to cement the NFC champeenship game over--let me look it up here--oh yeah, DALLAS.

Give me 53 “Ol’ Furnace Faces” and I’ll beat your team every time out.

Of course, they probably aren't on any of Vinny's mandatory must-draft-cuz-they're-next lists

Posted by: Corkczar | September 25, 2008 12:02 PM | Report abuse

"What does the typical Dallas Cowboy do during halftime?" ...I'll take "Homo Teams" for $800, Alex.

Posted by: Ed | September 25, 2008 12:01 PM

That’s Ad homonyms Mr. Ed

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 12:04 PM | Report abuse

Are you kidding? Stephen Davis as good as Riggo?

You think the Diesel would have let that pansy Westbrook sucker punch him without getting revenge?

Hell, if Westbrook had done that in the 80's, he'd have probably been jumped by Grimm, Jacoby, Bostic, May, etc., and ended up in traction.

Posted by: Mel Kaufman | September 25, 2008 12:04 PM | Report abuse

+++Anyway, just one Zebra’s opinion.

Posted by: Zebra | September 25, 2008 8:29 AM+++

Nicely done Zebra. Especially the pick up on Carter's woes. Remember the dude goes 250, and until Taylor damaged his dancin’ leg, he was the larger of the two Redskin Ballerina-size DEs.

Did I miss it, or did you also get a favorable shout out from Al, Zeke?

Posted by: John Corcoran | September 25, 2008 12:05 PM | Report abuse

++++He's a rebel and he'll never ever be any good
He's a rebel 'cause he never ever does what he should…”


Posted by: Cork & The Crystals | September 25, 2008 11:59 AM
------------------------------------------
Thats 30 seconds of my life wasted

Posted by: diesel | September 25, 2008 12:02 PM+++

Plus thirty more for the time you took wasting time responding. It's a safe assumption anyone here has time to waste.

And it's not my problem if you don't like great Wall of Sound songs. But relax, I've scratched you from testifying as a character witness for Phil "Two Gun" Spector.

Posted by: Cork & The Crystals | September 25, 2008 12:09 PM | Report abuse

2 gun Corcoran? I thought 'ol English Bob shot you through the liver at the Blue Bottle Saloon.

Posted by: diesel | September 25, 2008 12:12 PM | Report abuse

It has been noticed that Chris Cooley flat out misses a high percentage of his blocks, which leads to inefective running plays. Has this been an issue at Redskins park or/and have you noticed any changes as to putting Yoder in to block for Portis?

Posted by: Tee in Winston-Salem, NC | September 25, 2008 12:15 PM | Report abuse

Hey uncle Phil - Your video feed is broke!

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:15 PM | Report abuse

I hope JC leads us down the field to score on the last posession of he game and we win as time expires!!!

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:20 PM | Report abuse

For the Riggo vs. Davis argument here's the numbers:

Riggins: 114 games--1988 carries, 7,472 yards, 3.76 ypc, 79 tds.

Davis: 99 games--1383 carries, 5,790 yards, 4.19 ypc, 45 tds.

Riggins played what shakes out to an extra season and had way more TDs, but only ran for 4 ypc in a season twice. Davis could have caught him in yards without the close to 2,000 carries. Too close to call in my opinion...

Posted by: brownwood26 | September 25, 2008 12:20 PM | Report abuse

Compare 4th down carries in the SUPER BOWL that lead to go ahead TDs!!!!!!!

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:22 PM | Report abuse

Thanks, Nate

Posted by: Flounder | September 25, 2008 12:23 PM | Report abuse

Wow, that video was about as informative and exciting as the Copyright warning at the beginning of a movie. I like Jason Reid, but that was somewhere on a par with Bruce Willis making "Hudson Hawk" - a regretable, subpar effort that is best forgotten.

Cannot believe someone said 1) Riggo doesn't care about the Redskins and 2) Stephen Davis is as good. Sure he sat out a season over a contract dispute and has no doubt made a lot on this franchise...but hasn't he earned that? He grinded out 11,000 yards in a career and helped us win our first Super Bowl, what's the problem with parlaying that into some loochie? He's no angel but gotta think the man bleeds burgundy and gold.

Posted by: Notorious LMG | September 25, 2008 12:24 PM | Report abuse

beeps

Posted by: Anonymous | September 25, 2008 12:25 PM | Report abuse

Too close to call in my opinion...

Posted by: brownwood26 | September 25, 2008 12:20 PM

------------------------------------------
Riggins was an icon on a Superbowl championship team. Davis was a good back on mediocre teams.
The Diesel is in the HOF and is emblazoned in the memory of all 'Skins fans for his 4th down touchdown run in Superbowl 17. Davis is most memorable for letting the F@ggot Westbrook knock him out.
No contest partner.

Posted by: riggins44 | September 25, 2008 12:26 PM | Report abuse

Too close to call in my opinion...

Posted by: brownwood26 | September 25, 2008 12:20 PM

Your opinion sucks butt

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:28 PM | Report abuse

DALLAS WEAK

---Late in the 4th qtr:

"T.O. is open down the sidelines, Romo spots him and fires....Ohhhhh!!! Carlos Rogers came out of nowhere and hit Owens so hard he lost the ball, his cleats and probably a few precious memories. It looks like he's calling for his Mommy. What do you make of that, Troy?

"Duhhh...which way did they go, George? Which way did they go?"

Washington 30
CowPukes 17

Posted by: Not Anonymous | September 25, 2008 12:29 PM | Report abuse

Can't you feel it welling up inside you? that burning in your stomach, the tingling in your toes & fingers, that pounding in your chest! Yeah, it's Dallas week and were bringing the PAIN to ROMO & TO!!!

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:33 PM | Report abuse

Your opinion sucks butt

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:28 PM
-----------------------------------
HA! So did Westbrook. Come to think of it Romo sucks TO's butt. No wonder they get along so well.

Posted by: Kornheiser | September 25, 2008 12:34 PM | Report abuse

Your opinion sucks butt

Posted by: Hail2theChief | September 25, 2008 12:28 PM
-----------------------------------
HA! So did Westbrook. Come to think of it Romo sucks TO's butt. No wonder they get along so well.

Posted by: Kornheiser | September 25, 2008 12:34 PM

yeah Tony no wonder wade phillips says these 2 are unseparable!!

Posted by: jaws | September 25, 2008 12:36 PM | Report abuse

I transcend the sport.
Too bad that didn't translate into the broadcast booth, or thr radio, or satellite, or soap operas for that matter.
Hell, even Steve Sabol took a shot at me!

Posted by: Big Back 44 | September 25, 2008 12:44 PM | Report abuse

Jason: you should change the name of this crap from "unrestricted" to "unrestricted verbiage, highly restricted content." You are about as informative as a Joe Gibbs press conference, and THAT is an insult. All you said was "Dallas is tough, but their cornerbacks aren't the best" We knew that already anyway. Quit wasting our time. Can't you do something productive like get someone some coffee?

Posted by: Dogg Fish | September 25, 2008 2:26 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company