Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: RedskinsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Let's Review, Shall We?

Here's Jim Zorn's pocket review of the day, from Jason Reid:

After opening minicamp with a good practice, the Redskins were not as impressive in the afternoon session, Zorn said.
"Very crisp this morning. Not as crisp this afternoon," he said. "What we did is, we put in a whole other load of plays. We stretched everybody again, especially on offense, mentally, because we put in new plays with new techniques and we didn't execute them as well.
"The defense again put in their defensive coverages and played much tougher. We kind of got it handed to us on offense, but I was very excited about what the defense did this afternoon."
It takes time to install a new offense, Zorn said.
"I would say be the end of this they [offensive players] will have learned 65-70 percent of what we are going to try to do," he said. "We haven't talked about the multiple personnel groups and formations, but maybe 65 percent of what is going to be going in."


By Cindy Boren  |  May 2, 2008; 7:39 PM ET
 
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: The Afternoon Report (Second Update)
Next: Devin Thomas Excused (Updated)

Comments

Damn...looks like the Colts need a receiver...

Randle-El for Manning...make it happen baby!!!

Posted by: sicwidit | May 2, 2008 7:45 PM

With you on this!! Get some extra picks for next year!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 7:46 PM | Report abuse

SJK!!!!

Forgot to say the ritual FIRST!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 7:47 PM | Report abuse

LOL, Curzon! Those types of mistakes often happen in minicamp. You'll get it together by Sept. 4.

Posted by: Cindy | May 2, 2008 7:49 PM | Report abuse

Curzon: I'd go Patron Anejo, Grand Marnier, and fresh squeezed lime on the rocks! Or a dirty sapphire gin martini...

But I think Frost will stick around through training camp. I'm sure the rookie could use a little completion and veteran instruction. Like how to kick a 10 yard punt and make it roll 40 yards down field ;->

Posted by: Siris | May 2, 2008 7:47 PM

Have a couple of (mostly empty) bottles of Patron here. My wife prefers the silver (?)but I like you prefer the anejo.

Yes, definitely think Frost is here through training camp. Can't make it too easy for the rookie!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 7:52 PM | Report abuse

Thanks Cindy!! I am a rookie for sure!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 7:53 PM | Report abuse

Curz, Sirius:
I'm down with the SW style Teqilla drinks.
Ya makin me thirsty.

Posted by: Stumped | May 2, 2008 7:55 PM | Report abuse

Thanks Curzon, I really do hope that I don;t form part of the 'un-welcome committee' that some seem to suggest exists here. Regardless, I should try harder not to dive in.

I'm really feeling my un-hipness tonight, I'm not sure I've ever had any of those drinks! Obviously I need a hip replacement!

Posted by: Redcoat | May 2, 2008 7:59 PM | Report abuse

Curzon...can you buy me a Grey Goose and cranberry?

Posted by: sicwidit | May 2, 2008 8:03 PM | Report abuse

RC, what I have learned is that most times we need to ignore some people (including me, for I am not innocent) or it just perpetuates the situation.

Stumped, quench your thirst!!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 8:04 PM | Report abuse

sicwidtit (that is hard to type in my condition),
absolutely. Just make a right at SF and I will have the drink ready!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 8:05 PM | Report abuse

Agreed.

And I never did hear from "hold the tea and crumpets" on email. I hoped I might, but just another lame jibe and he was gone.

Posted by: Redcoat | May 2, 2008 8:07 PM | Report abuse

Seriously...no way Marvin Harrison doesn't get a suspension on this. I say Antwan Randle-El for a 3rd round pick...

Posted by: sicwidit | May 2, 2008 8:10 PM | Report abuse

At minimum, a four game suspension is in order.

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 8:16 PM | Report abuse

Makes you rethink all the little boxes the media likes to paint guys in "bag guy"..."good guy"..."this guy hands the ball to the ref so he must be a saint"..."this jack azz has fun playing a game and celebrates, must be a criminal"...

You get my drift....

whateves, Go skins!

Posted by: chris larrY | May 2, 2008 8:32 PM | Report abuse

Marvin Harrison involved in a shooting...what's next...James Thrash in a knifefight???

Posted by: sicwidit | May 2, 2008 8:32 PM | Report abuse

You're right Chris Larry...Everybody talks about Chad Johnson, but he ain't shot nobody. Harrison was like the poster boy for what's good about the NFL. We don't know all the facts, but he's the last guy I'd have thought would shoot somebody.

Posted by: sicwidit | May 2, 2008 8:35 PM | Report abuse

Harrison also seems to treat fans and ball boys pretty bad. Reminds me of another David Simms.

YET ANOTHER HARRISON INCIDENT
Posted by Mike Florio on May 2, 2008, 5:41 p.m.
Maybe we haven't been paying close enough attention to Marvin Harrison over the years.

Because this week's shooting potentially involving Harrison wasn't his first incident. Or his second.

It's his third.

Granted, the five-year-old incident involving Harrison is a far cry from a shooting. But it's further evidence that maybe Marvin isn't the great guy that we've been led to believe he is.

In 2003, Harrison allegedly knocked a Jets' ball boy to the ground because Jets punter Matt Turk was kicking balls in the direction of Harrison and quarterback Peyton Manning prior to a game.

Jets radio analyst Marty Lyons reported at the time that Harrison also put his hands on the boy's neck before the two were separated.

The Jets confirmed that there was an incident, and the league said it was aware of it. But that was the end of it.

--------

Oh, and I love that word: Allegedly

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 8:46 PM | Report abuse

such as Allegedly I like to dole out HJs and BJs to Donkeys as claimed by one anon regular poster!

Posted by: chris larrY | May 2, 2008 8:52 PM | Report abuse

such as Allegedly I like to dole out HJs and BJs to Donkeys as claimed by one anon regular poster!

Posted by: chris larrY | May 2, 2008 8:52 PM

LOL!!

FSJKen Anon posters!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 8:55 PM | Report abuse

Screw these overpaid sissies. Can't wait for the Caps 08-09 season.

Posted by: Jay | May 2, 2008 9:07 PM | Report abuse

omg, a bad practice? how dare jason reid include that quote. how dare zorn say anything bad about the team? i am sick of all this hating on the skins. dammit!

Posted by: Anonymous | May 2, 2008 9:18 PM | Report abuse

new coach, new offense, new players they can have a bad day and im glad coach is honest

Posted by: uhhuhyeah | May 2, 2008 10:37 PM | Report abuse

If anyone is going to the game, I'll be the guy wearing an all white shirt with a redskin log in section 415.

Hail!

Posted by: 4th | May 2, 2008 5:37 PM

4th, do they ever win when you turn up? Just kidding, thanks for supporting 'em, but they are lame, lame, lame.

Posted by: SMACK | May 2, 2008 10:38 PM | Report abuse

never posted b4 - but here goes:

sick of hearing about bad draft...been waiting for long time to help build team with good young players. getting all the over-hyped-paid primma donnas has done nothing. making the playoffs not bad. advancing in playoffs is what its about.

sorta like taking 3 rcvr types in 2nd round, didnt see that much that was better than we had in wings in other spots. if 1 rcvr makes the grade for next 5 or so years then it was a great draft. with the way the players picked in earlier drafts have been panning out it is a crapshoot.

i just hope they keep using the draft like this in future.

been fan since George Allen came and brought my favotite bunch of defensive players (at the time) almost the entire rams defense i was elated and have been skins fan since.

signed: retired cpo stationed in D.C. when Allen came. sorry for long windedness (??)

GO SKINS

Posted by: hpytrkr | May 2, 2008 10:39 PM | Report abuse

JReid, nice article.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/05/02/ST2008050203790.html
------------

I am hoping for a solid season from the Skins this year...there is energy, and enthusiasim that will explode on the jints in the first game...can't wait!!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 2, 2008 10:43 PM | Report abuse

sorta like taking 3 rcvr types in 2nd round, didnt see that much that was better than we had in wings in other spots.

I think that will end up being the long-term analysis... impossible to predict whether any of them will prove their mettle, but you can make a reasonable argument for what they did.
And in the end, that's probably all you can ask for.

Posted by: cload & daggar | May 2, 2008 11:11 PM | Report abuse

All I can think of - Thank you Marvin Lewis!!! Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!!! Thank God we don't have that overpaid, overhyped, bad attitude, prima donna, selfish, egocentric LOSER Chad Johnson. I don't care if he catches 100 balls - the guy is a loser. And not only that - a 30 year old loser. If anything I hope that this draft shows the front office the value of the draft. We got two guys with that top pick. Two guys who are what 23? That adds up to 14 years of service before they even get to the same age as wonder boy Chad. We would have had that loser for only 3-4 years before he was too old - then it would be another crisis to find his replacement. Now we're set for a decade. Thank you Marvin Lewis!

Posted by: egrib | May 2, 2008 11:32 PM | Report abuse

I don't care if he (Chad Johnson)catches 100 balls - the guy is a loser.

Posted by: egrib | May 2, 2008 11:32 PM

-------------------


I dunno, but catching 100 balls in a season does not make me think, "That guy is a loser."

Just sayin'

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 12:05 AM | Report abuse

Posted by: egrib | May 2, 2008 11:32 PM

Not sure what you are drinking. I am drinking some martini's, but they are not quite puting me where you are. All though I do agree w/you 100%. Maybe I just need more!!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 3, 2008 12:05 AM | Report abuse

egrib, welcome, and I agree -- I said a few days back that the most positive news of last offseason was the Bears' doing us a great favor by not accepting our absurd trade offer for Lance Briggs, and the most positive news of this offseason is the Bengals' not accepting our absurd trade offer for Chad Johnson.

He's a hell of a ball player, but we would have been giving up waaaaay to much to get him. Thank goodness the Bengals' FO saved our FO from itself.

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 12:16 AM | Report abuse

hpytrkr, welcome, a few questions...

hpytrkr = happy trucker? hippy tracker?

cpo = chief petty officer?


I know everyone is sick of re-hashing the draft, but I remain puzzled that there was virtually universal agreement up here -- and this tracked to what Vinny was saying -- that adding defensive line help/depth/whatever would be targeted among the highest priorities this offseason. And yet not a single free agent D lineman came a-calling, and we didn't pick a D lineman until the seventh round, after thirty-some D linemen had been selected by other teams and we had exercised eight or nine picks (I can't remember).

Just seemed odd to me, if D line was a real area of need, that we didn't hear anything about D tackle or D end until the very end of the draft, and then UDFA... Just hope Blosh has what he needs to put together a solid rotation...

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 12:25 AM | Report abuse

Curzon, I think you have surpassed me and P Diddy and everybody else up here in the category of self-reported alcohol consumption. I tip my hat to you, sir!

Cheers,

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 12:27 AM | Report abuse

Enjoying a movie with Mrs. Curzon and just getting back.

Nate, is this a good thing?

Posted by: Curzon417 | May 3, 2008 1:28 AM | Report abuse

Certainly sounds good, Curz!

Happy Friday, happy weekend, and such as...

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 2:11 AM | Report abuse

Just back from an OT 3-2 Sharks win over Dallas. Always a pleasure to beat Dallas. No voice, but what a game!!!

Posted by: AL, Zeke, etc | May 3, 2008 2:13 AM | Report abuse

Playoff hockey, zeke, that's awesome. Sounds like it was an incredible comeback, too.

Beat Dallas! Yeah, that works in any sport.

Here's hoping you get a chance to see a game seven back at the Shark Tank...

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 2:29 AM | Report abuse

Nate to you catch that Apache video I linked to a thread or two back?

Posted by: Stumped | May 3, 2008 2:42 AM | Report abuse

Great stuff, Stumped! I caught a contact high about two minutes in, and it just got better/weirder/funnier from there.

Waaaaay better than being Rick rolled!

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 2:51 AM | Report abuse

That didn't read right... should have been something like "that video was so drugtastically trippy I caught a contact high about two minutes in" or some such as... would hate to give the impression I was talking about a REAL contact high... heavens to murgatroyds, no...

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 2:53 AM | Report abuse

Greetings from Whistler.

I (the real P Diddy, the one who sadly feels it necessary to watermark his life by saying that the bar in which he threw a party at back in January is completely poised to do it again in November) am safely ensconced in Whistler, BC and ready to snowboard all weekend.

I noticed all the fake P Diddy posts on The Fix and up here. From my last post at 1:24pm until now, I'm the real deal. I will be signing off once more, but I did want to say to my nerd buddy Curzon: Hornitos, my man. Great cheap tequila. You can't claim better value than my boys at Sauza :-)

Posted by: P Diddy | May 3, 2008 4:04 AM | Report abuse

Saw Iron Man - excellent and some pretty brilliant casting. Utterly predictable plot wise but still some very good stuff.

I'm glad R.Downey Jr. seems to have made it through his wilderness because he rocks the screen.

I was hoping Curzon was going to pull a Nate and MBHGO with his vodka - he started to and it was good times.

Posted by: sfskin | May 3, 2008 4:34 AM | Report abuse

Reviews are always a good thing.

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 6:35 AM | Report abuse

I'm parapahrasing what Doc Walker said, but it was a great analysis. Why is everybody screaming about why they didn't draft a DE when the defense has been in the top 10 for 3 of the last 4 years??? It's been the offense that's been some crap.

Just goes to show that some of you armchair GM's know nothing about football.

Posted by: sicwidit | May 3, 2008 7:47 AM | Report abuse

I hope and pray that Dwayne Wade is not hittin' Star Jones...

That would be just plain NASTY!!!

Sorry...and now back to RI

Posted by: sicwidit | May 3, 2008 8:09 AM | Report abuse

I dunno, but drafting a DE seems like a good thing, regardless of how our D has ranked over the years; hopefully the guy we did draft, Rob Jackson, proves to be a good value at that position.

Whacking the opposing QB is good, don't you agree?

As far as Star Jones and D Wade is concerned, every indication is that the two are "just friends," but I don't think that's any of my business.

Star seems like a real nice lady to me...

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 8:15 AM | Report abuse

Man denied beer, threatens to blow up airplane in China

Beijing (AP) - A state media report says a man who threatened to blow up a passenger plane after he was refused a beer has been detained in eastern China. The report says no dangerous materials were found following a police check of the plane.

------------------------

Nate in the PDX, detained in China?

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 8:19 AM | Report abuse

Nate,

I was worried about you.

The timing of that AP report happened to coincide with a lull in any posts from you.

Coincidence?

How's the weather this time of year in eastern China?

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 8:23 AM | Report abuse

Dammit...I don't care if you're a nice lady or not, hell Barbara Bush is a nice lady, but you ain't gonna see many go there.

I like Star Jones...I just wouldn't hit it, but it sounds like you would, chia...

Posted by: sicwidit | May 3, 2008 8:25 AM | Report abuse

I dunno, sic.

I might hit it, but probably not. Personality does go a long way (kinda.)

True beauty is on the inside, that's for sure.

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 8:35 AM | Report abuse

4th, do they ever win when you turn up? Just kidding, thanks for supporting 'em, but they are lame, lame, lame.

Posted by: SMACK | May 2, 2008 10:38 PM

Agreed, agreed, agreed......

I see the blog didn't sleep last night. With all you West Coasters and Such As...

Posted by: 4th | May 3, 2008 8:45 AM | Report abuse

not a single free agent D lineman came a-calling, and we didn't pick a D lineman until the seventh round, after thirty-some D linemen had been selected by other teams and we had exercised eight or nine picks

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: | May 3, 2008 12:25 AM

Nate,

Let me explain it to you one more time:

"You can't always get what you want..."

Posted by: Mick Jagger | May 3, 2008 8:55 AM | Report abuse

I dunno, but drafting a DE seems like a good thing, regardless of how our D has ranked over the years; hopefully the guy we did draft, Rob Jackson, proves to be a good value at that position.

Whacking the opposing QB is good, don't you agree?

Posted by: Chia Pet | May 3, 2008 8:15 AM

Someone posted yesterday an interview with Vinnie. Vinnie said that after the first round he and Zorn discussed it and Zorn said that there was no one left on the board who was better than they players he already had. He couldn't see the point of drafting someone who would be cut in training camp.

And as for Merling, they didn't think that he was worth a first round pick. What more could they have done in scouting him than to fly the whole coaching staff to his workout?

Now, maybe they were wrong, but I think this is a logical explanation, don't you?

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 9:00 AM | Report abuse

Curzon,

You must be a west coaster guy

Posted by: Stumped | May 2, 2008 7:03 PM

I did want to say to my nerd buddy Curzon: Hornitos, my man. Great cheap tequila. You can't claim better value than my boys at Sauza :-)

Posted by: P Diddy | May 3, 2008 4:04


Curzon is the new MVDame of the blog....

Posted by: 4th via Home Floor | May 3, 2008 9:01 AM | Report abuse

Re: Explaination of not getting a Dlineman.

It is def believable, but it could be spin too. Let's hear Blatche talk and see if he twitches when talking....

With that said, I am satisfied and believe the statement (but you never know).......

Posted by: 4th via Home Floor | May 3, 2008 9:04 AM | Report abuse

I saw Blache's interview on redskins.com. He felt that the D-linemen that were available to the skins were similar to the players who they have on the team now. So why draft them? He has confidence in the older players, and he feels that there are younger players on the team that will contribute alot on the field in December and January.

Posted by: marlonjohn | May 3, 2008 9:18 AM | Report abuse

Yeah Chia...true beauy is on the inside, perhaps she needs to be turned inside out.

Posted by: sicwidit | May 3, 2008 10:27 AM | Report abuse

I do wonder if the skins will pick up a defensive lineman in free agency if a decent one becomes available. We do have a couple solid young backups, have we forgotten about Anthony Montgomery, and Kedric Gholston who were late round gems, and speed rusher Chris Wilson who posted 5 sacks and they only let him play in obvious passing downs due to his smallish frame as not to be pushed around in the run game, plus Lorenzo Alexander plays a little tackle too. We want a stud pass rusher opposite Andre Carter but that's gonna take a high first rounder or trade that costs a lot of picks. Look how much Minnesota had to giveup for Jared Allen.

Posted by: skins#1 | May 3, 2008 10:55 AM | Report abuse

Does this word-photograph make anyone else sick to their stomach:

Such patience hasn't always been a virtue around here. If anyone needed a reminder, it came at the first morning minicamp session in the form of owner Daniel Snyder, seated comfortably in a chaise lounge set up between both practice fields at Redskins Park. The chair pointed toward the offense's field, where Zorn was spending most of his time with the quarterbacks and receivers. It served as an ever-present warning of the clock ticking down on forbearance. Those who do not produce glorious results tend not to stay long.

Posted by: CHris larrY | May 3, 2008 11:02 AM | Report abuse

dan snyder - toolbox extraordinaire

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 11:16 AM | Report abuse

My, my, you were busy overnight...Props to Curzon, Chia and, as usual, Big Daddy Nate. I'm a little creeped out by the Star Jones attraction, tho. Like when a friend of mine (in his 30s) confessed he thought Elizabeth Dole was hot. I gave him the same look I gave DeNunzio on the webcast when he mentioned Herman Edwards....
I'll have a new thread for you shortly. The peeps are in place at Redskins Park and I have a giant Saxby's cappucino.

Posted by: Cindy | May 3, 2008 11:24 AM | Report abuse

Thanks, Cindy!

I'm a little stunned that 190k has just sort of crept up on us. We're gonna blow right past 200k. Good times.

Question for you: has anybody on the beat asked why Zorn forewent (is that a word?) the extra minicamp afforded to new head coaches? Someone mentioned that last week, but I didn't recall if it had come up.

As long as he's been working with the QBs installing the offense, I'm happy, just wonder if Zorn's on the record about the choice he made here. NFL coaches so often seem to take every edge they get, and an extra minicamp would seem to be an edge/bonus...

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 12:00 PM | Report abuse

Beep beep.

Posted by: Cindy | May 3, 2008 12:05 PM | Report abuse

sicwidit, you're an armchair GM just like me and everybody else up here. We all have opinions.

As long as people are going to praise the offensive draft before we've seen any of these dudes in a game, I'm going to scratch my heads about the huge discrepancy between what we were told by the team and pretty much universally expected up here -- that D line would be one of the top areas targeted for improvement via player acquisition this offseason -- and what actually happened, which is one D lineman drafted, in the seventh round with our ninth or tenth pick, and then UDFAs.

ABSOLUTELY AGREE that our defense has been good to great, and has carried our dysfunctional offense through some of our recent seasons. But you want to see each area get better and faster and younger just about every offseason, right? Especially mitigating our dependency on the old warhorses up front, Daniels and Griff.

All right, that's enough of that. Hail to 'em!

-Nate in the PDX

Posted by: Anonymous | May 3, 2008 12:07 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company