Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: RedskinsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

POSITIONAL REVIEW - DBs


The more I do these the more skeptical I become that the Skins are going to plug all of their holes through the draft, nine picks or not. Add safety to the list with WR, C, T/G, DT, DE and OLB.

Team sources said there is strong sentiment within the organization that the best move for the Skins D would be to move corner Shawn Springs to safety, to mentor and play alongside young stud LaRon Landry. But that's simply not a luxury they can afford at this point, and unless Washington finds a capable nickel guy, preferably with experience, Springs remains their best CB and thus remains at corner, slated to start with vet Fred Smoot.

Some within the organization believe that ultimately, former first round picks CB Carlos Rogers will spend much of the first half of the season on the PUP list, and expecting a rookie corner to come in and play nickel out of the draft might be a bit much. But if nothing else the Skins have plenty of numbers at corner.

Springs, Smoot and Leigh Torrence are the top trio figuring on a long return for Rogers, and youngsters John Eubanks and Byron Westbrook could battle it out for the 4/5 spots on the roster. Again, I figure on them signing an established vet corner or trading for one at some point.

Safety is as thin as can be, however. Landry and youngster Reed Doughty held it down as the starters after Sean Taylor's death, and the scouts and execs I speak to continue to be impressed with Doughty's development. "There's guys like Doughty starting for teams all over the league," one personnel exec said. "We like that guy. He could come start for us." However, only Smallish Vernon Fox - primarily a special teams guys - sits behind the two kids. That's it, three safeties on the roster.

Hence the movement to switch Springs over there. The Skins could perhaps still re-sign either Pierson Prioleau or Omar Stoutmire at some point, but overall I would be very surprised if they did not make a concerted effort to grab a safety at some point this weekend. This franchise has had a preference for taking DBs high in the draft, but I don't believe the elite corners will still be around with the 21st pick and I imagine them still trying to trade down out of that pick if at all possible.

Greg Blache has told everyone he's going to play the way Gregg Williams did, and if so that leaves the corners on an island in man coverage with little-to-no over-the-top help most of the time. Will this group, with Rogers in bad health, withstand that barrage again, another year old (especially with no effort made to add a bigtime pas rusher despite the team lacking a sufficient thrust in that regard for the entire Gibbs era)? It's one of many gambles this management regime (Snyder and Cerrato) seem willing to make, at least so far this offseason.

By Jason La Canfora  |  April 21, 2008; 12:09 PM ET
 
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Positional Review - O Line
Next: The Numbers Don't Lie, Version 2.0: Don't Believe The Hype

Comments

First!

Posted by: SteveK | April 21, 2008 12:13 PM | Report abuse

First!

Posted by: Will | April 21, 2008 12:13 PM | Report abuse

BONG!

Posted by: Leevi98 | April 21, 2008 12:15 PM | Report abuse

Wow, like you First guys are so original.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:17 PM | Report abuse

Put my boy Blue over at Safety.

Posted by: Fred Smoot | April 21, 2008 12:18 PM | Report abuse

If my first name were "Smallish" I might ask people to call me "Vernon" as well.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:21 PM | Report abuse

In my after-the-fact dibbing/undibbing research about Kansas/Kansas State, I learned that Kansas put Aqib Talib on offense as a receiver and he has some not unimpressive receiving stats, including TD(s?).

Posted by: dcsween | April 21, 2008 12:22 PM | Report abuse

Think I can sue Jasno for plagarism?

"anonymous poster, jasnos hard at work on his "positional review - defensive backs" blog, which will most likely remind us that sean taylor is still dead, shawn springs will likely be here only one more year, carlos rogers is still hurt, and reed doughty is still being our teams rudy. He will mention a couple of the top corners in the draft, then say we will probably address the position and add depth in the later rounds. although we're all curious on how guys like eubanks and westbrook are developing, jasno will forgo any meaningful analysis of the depth (or lack thereof) we have at the position, and, after a 2 paragraph overview, go on to talk about hockey or something entirely unrelated to sports."

Posted by: talkshowhost | April 21, 2008 10:42 AM

Posted by: talkshowhost | April 21, 2008 12:22 PM | Report abuse

TSH,
That's like taking credit for betting on the sun rising tomorrow.

Posted by: Nico | April 21, 2008 12:25 PM | Report abuse

Based on the Redskins games I saw last year, I am pretty sure that both Sean Taylor and later LaRon Landry played "over the top" at Free Safety last year. I guess that Williams approach was called "The Peninsula Defense".

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:26 PM | Report abuse

Talib has some not unimpressive dope-smoking stats, too.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:28 PM | Report abuse

on my handheld on a wireless network somewhere in Buc country -- draft day wishes 1. get my ip unblocked 2. a good playee with our#1 pick

Posted by: noone from tampa | April 21, 2008 12:33 PM | Report abuse

I saw no mention of hockey, talkshowhost. Unless there was a subtext or double-entendr? in there somewhere.

Was it his use of French, in "pas rusher", the sort of mixed phrase you might hear in parts of the hockey-speaking world?

Also, I vote for not adding any more pas rushers. Nous avons enough of those already.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:33 PM | Report abuse

good one nico!

I am opposed to the idea of moving springs to safety now... it would probably prolong his career but i am sold on doughty and landry as the long-term answer there.

If we decided that doughty is best used situationally or in a rotation, then i think we COULD move Springs to safety and bring in Ty Law to fill in for one year (he is still available, i believe). Asomugha will be available next year and im sure we could sign him by throwing enough cash at him. Just imagine our secondary with Landry, Springs, Doughty, rogers smoot and Asomugha. it would be very very scary

Posted by: talkshowhost | April 21, 2008 12:33 PM | Report abuse

The positional reviews must have been completed on time last year. This is the post we got from Jasno on Monday of Draft Week in 2007.

http://blog.washingtonpost.com/redskinsinsider/2007/04/id_take_okoye_would_you_say_la.html

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 12:35 PM | Report abuse

prefer a DL or DB or even trade down -- hey Cindy never heard from any wapo tech guys on my situation ...

Posted by: noone from tampa | April 21, 2008 12:40 PM | Report abuse

Check out this site - its a fictional Emmit Smitth Mock Draft.

http://walterfootball.com/draft2008emmitt.php

here are some of my favs:

"1. Miami Dolphins: Matt Ryan, QB, Boston College University
In the 2007 regular season, the Miami Dolphin became the first winless team to ever win a game in a regular season. Why did this happen, you ask? No talent in and around the locker room. You have Clyde Lemon at quarterback. You have Ronnie Brown at running back. He had been banged up. And you have Chris Chambers at receiver. He was sent sailin to San Francisco, or the Windy City, so to speak.

But Miami have a new sheriff in town. Parcells, or as some people like to call him, "The Big Dolphin." If you look at Parcells' history, he likes to grab quarterback with the first overall pick. He draft Drew Bledsoe in New England. He draft Vinny Testaverde with the New York. And now he will draft Matt Ryan from Boston College University.

4. Oakland Raiders: DeSean Jackson, WR, California
Oakland just do not have anyone who can catch the doggone football. Al David just have to face the reality - Jerry Porter just do not draw the double team. JaMarcus Russells need a big-time receiver so he can win some games and put Oakland back on the globe.

5. Kansas City Chiefs: Tim Tebow, QB, Florida
I had to get some help for this No. 6 overall draft pick so I look through the wide world web for answers. It turns out that not one mock draft from 2008 have Tim Tebow, the great quarterback from Florida, going. Have not many people heard of this? Tim Tebow is a great player: He can run. And he can throw.

This pick make a lot of sense because Trent Green is startin' to get a little gray in his moustache, while Larry Johnson is gettin' really big in the tooth, so to speak. Tom Tebow can take both of their places in the starting lineup.

15. Detroit Lions: Chancellor Washington, RB, USC
Matt Miller have done a terrible job with the Detroit Lion. It is stupid to draft so many wide receivers with you first pick. If they make me the general managing of the Detroit Lion, I promise to draft a big ol' runnin' back with speed ever year. Why? Every team that has won, or that have won the Super Bowl in the last 20 years have good runnin' backs. The Indianapolis Colts have Edgerrin James. The Denver Broncos they have Terrell David. And... uhh... others too."

And last but not least, Emmits Pick for us:

21. Washington Redskins: William Franklin, WR, Missouri
Now we begin to talk about the Washington Redskin, or as I like to call them, the arc nemesis of the Dallas Cowboys. But because we are speaking about the national's capital, I must voice my opinions on the upcoming elections.

Everyone say Barrett O'Bama seem like a cool cat, but he Irish, our long and sworn enemies who start the War of 1812, a battle we are still fighting today. I would hate to see Irishland be the country we lossed a war against. And then you have Hillary Clinton, who cannot be counted on to get the jobs done. If she cannot please her man, how could she possibly please the good people of the United States of Americans? My vote for the next president is John McCann. I never hear him speak, but I sawed he have a hot daughter.

The Redskin, they are from Washington so they should take a receiver who is related to a president. William Franklin have seen rumors that he is the son of Benjamin Franklins, the great president on the $100 bill.


Posted by: talkshowhost | April 21, 2008 12:47 PM | Report abuse

talkshowhost needs to get his mug in the top left hand corner of this blog. We don't have holes so much as we have depth issues. I personally think we will have our 2 best CB's starting the season in Springs and Smoot but we have to find their eventual replacements (Springs especially) and I don't think Rogers is a long term answer healthy or not. He just gets beat too easily and too often. Maybe a nickel back if the knee heals up ok.

Posted by: cdubb | April 21, 2008 12:52 PM | Report abuse

that is some funny isht.

Posted by: mile high | April 21, 2008 12:52 PM | Report abuse

I'd rather they use the 21st pick on a DB than a WR.

I'd say that if they use it on a DL, they'll help the secondary at the same time. They should reload on linemen and then worry about the skills.

Posted by: Stumped | April 21, 2008 12:55 PM | Report abuse

As we all know Taylor is irreplacable and left a huge void there. I think Doughty is solid and Landry will only get better. JLac is dead on with us being thin at corner. We just have to draft well and develop them. "Shut-down" corners are few and far between.

Posted by: sicwidit | April 21, 2008 12:57 PM | Report abuse

There is no way we are going to be able to address all of our needs in the draft.

The more you look at this team the more you think we need a big infusion of YOUTH, but if the FO plays the draft correctly over the next two years we can squeeze through for the better. We will just have to wait and see how this critical period plays out.

I suspect that we will be doing some barging basement shopping (more than usual) post June and at the end of training camp.

Janso is correct, after Landry and Reed D. we have nada at safety. Fox takes the worst angles and has no speed at all; and I am not exactly excited about resigning Prioleau who seems to want to go to Jacksonville to sniff GG's jock and who I think has lost a step and half since his knee injury. I also remember him getting burned in the Seattle game rather badly, just not a good memory.

By the way, I am VERY concerned about Carlos Rogers' knee condition. I was never a big fan and with this injury he really could be toast. He might be the one that will need to switch to safety if his burst is gone.

REDSKINS ONE OUT!

Posted by: REDSKINS ONE | April 21, 2008 1:00 PM | Report abuse

Here is a link to a roster break down- defense. Interesting stuff.

Greg, I posted the article at the end of the last thread.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/18752-Washington-Redskins-Roster-Breakdown-2nd-Edition-defense-

Posted by: Curzon417 | April 21, 2008 1:05 PM | Report abuse

AN IMPOTENT REBUTTAGE FROM SKIPPY


++++"...I would hate to see Irishland be the country we lossed a war against. And then you have Hillary Clinton, who cannot be counted on to get the jobs done. If she cannot please her man, how could she possibly please the good people of the United States of Americans? ....."+++TALK SHOW HOPE, the Paginist!

Hi, my name is Skippy and I have a metal plate in my head. I live in a trailer park with Mama and the twins of my dead sister down the row from Floyd, the truck driving man who lives in his Peterbilt. Skippy even has his own Wed Site, at which he answers questions at which, www.askskippy.blogspot,.com

Here's Skippy's point. You have a Lots of Grownads sadrically claiming to sue Jasno for Pagination and them you post this? What, up? Anyway? I'll bet you aren't even a Talk Show Hope, either. Skippy is and was the Original Platehead, so stop ripping off his ape.

Fondly,

Skippy

Posted by: SKIPPY! | April 21, 2008 1:06 PM | Report abuse

im laughing out loud at this emmitt mock. this guy is brilliant:

Pittsburgh Steelers: Chris Williams, OT, Vanderbilt
What Pittsburgh need to do is very obviously. The team must obsign a big ol' linemen who can keep the guys on the other side of the ball from knocking Big Bob Roethlisberger's head off. Big Bob head have been through a lot lately. He have been in a bicycle accident a couple of months ago. Then his stomach blow up. Then he have a concussion or two. A part of a man's body can only be explosioned so many times.

7. New England Patriots: Rashard Mendenhall, RB, Illinois
The Patriots... they are an all-around good ball club. Their running back... Laurence M... M... Malone have been banged-up ever since he became a running back for the New England Patriots. New England have to draft a running back to run up the middle of that big ol' offensive line to score even more points so they can win Super Bowl XLIII this year and next year.

31. New England Patriots: Rashard Mendenhall, RB, Illinois
My sources telling me that NFL commissioner David Stern are trying to take these pick away from New England Patriots. I could not agree with those more. Roger Stern should also come up to Bill Billick's door and slap him upside down the heads. No one cheat in the Super Bowl and get away with it!

New England need to grab Rashard Mendenhall again in case they could not get him the first time around.

Posted by: talkshowhost | April 21, 2008 1:07 PM | Report abuse

It's going to be tough to find a DB who is worth the #21 pick. McKelvin, Rogers-Cromartie and Jenkins look to be gone, Phillips seems to have disappeared from most 1st round mocks, and Talib has smoked himself down the board. It's hard to know if there will be a trade-down opportunity; it all depends on how early the run starts for picking up QBs. It's definitely a tough spot picking at #21 this year. The only hope is that, like in most years, some dope GM in slots #1-20 picks someone unexpected, and a top-20 player is still available at #21. And that player should not be a WR. The best value WRs will be drafted in the 2nd and 3rd rounds.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 1:07 PM | Report abuse

Carlos was just starting to show us something and them got injured. What a pity.

The jury is out until he's 100 percent.

Posted by: Stumped | April 21, 2008 1:10 PM | Report abuse

I'm still trying to find out why everyone is spooked about taking a WR with the 21st pick (if they do that). The WR position is no more of a gamble than any of the others. Booms and busts are hard to predict. The Redskins have many needs. I'm no real GM, but if it were me, I'd draft two CB's and try to develop them. You can get some help after the post June 1 cuts. Some look at this team as if we're the Raiders. I think we need young depth, and a stud DE and G and we're set for right now.

Posted by: sicwidit | April 21, 2008 1:11 PM | Report abuse

Carlos Rogers might be able to play Free Safety if he can still run decently after his recovery and rehab. Can't see him as a Strong Safety though - too slight of frame.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 1:11 PM | Report abuse

THS,

Thanks for this. Great stuff!!

Posted by: Curzon417 | April 21, 2008 1:12 PM | Report abuse

The issue with drafting a WR in the 1st round is simple - it makes head cases out of all except the best of them. WRs chosen in later rounds have to keep working hard to prove they belong, and often are more productive than many of the 1st round draftees who figure, "I've made it".

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 1:14 PM | Report abuse

I have to slightly disagree with the sentiment on Rogers. I didn't think he was even better than Fred Smoot. I think Rogers lacks the aggressiveness and swagger of Smoot. Smoot may be slated as the 3rd corner, but he's the 2nd best corner on this team.

Posted by: sicwidit | April 21, 2008 1:15 PM | Report abuse

I don't have a problem with em hitting the BONG in the privacy of his own home. It's the legal problems that would result that are the big issue.

It may be less of a risk than say a knee injury.

Posted by: Stumped | April 21, 2008 1:15 PM | Report abuse

beepity beep beep

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 1:16 PM | Report abuse

The problem with him doing weed is doing it despite that fact that he knew what could be on the line.

When someone can't comport themselves in one regard it makes you wonder about other things. I don't mean this in a condemning way, but you have to think twice about spending your first round pick on them.

I don't want any dents in my first rounder!

REDSKINS ONE OUT!

Posted by: REDSKINS ONE | April 21, 2008 1:29 PM | Report abuse

I think Rogers lacks the aggressiveness and swagger of Smoot. Smoot may be slated as the 3rd corner, but he's the 2nd best corner on this team.

Posted by: sicwidit | April 21, 2008 1:15 PM

Rogers was the #1 CB on the team last year before he was injured. If he wasn't showing you anything, maybe it was because he was going against the #1 WR most of the time. It happens that way sometimes - takes awhile to get up to speed playig against ever-better competition.

Posted by: Anonymous | April 21, 2008 1:37 PM | Report abuse

The Skins need DB backups at SS, FS, and 1-2 CBs. Rodgers is due back from injury by the start of training camp and will probably be the #3 CB. Camp competition should determine if Torrence and/or Eubanks can claim the remaining CB openings...

I expect the Skins to pick at least one safety in the draft and fill the remaining positions with post-draft FAs.

Posted by: Siris | April 21, 2008 3:53 PM | Report abuse

The Redskins should trade for Lito Shepherd.

Many CB's cannot come in and make an immediate impact. OL's and DL's can. We need to focus on those issues with our early picks. If we get pressure on the quarterback, DB's won't have to cover so much. If we protect the The Soup, then he can throw it to any receiver whose open, regardless of height.

Posted by: SMC_Redskin | April 21, 2008 4:33 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company