Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: RedskinsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Redskins by Position: The Specialists

The season ends, the positional recaps begin. Let's start with the easiest positions on the team to recap. Special teams was an issue much of the season, and the kicking and punting games were serious concerns.

Kicker Shaun Suisham fell into a funk, was the least accurate kicker in the NFL and for a good five or six weeks even a mundane 40-yard field goal felt like an adventure. He's a restricted free agent, and although Jim Zorn has talked about him being part of the future and it's likely the team will make a qualifying offer to retain his rights, Zorn also said there will be competition in camp.

However, finding four roster spots for kickers and punters will be tough, and punter Ryan Plackemeier is not a finished product, either. Zorn admitted that Plackemeier at times was "kicking horribly," before having some stronger performances in the final few weeks. Still, it's an unsettled situation, same as kicker. The Skins have tried to get by with younger and cheaper punters and kickers in recent years, without great success.

Long snapper Ethan Albright is a potential unrestricted free agent again, and most years is the first player to receive his contract offer in the mail. I would expect nothing less this season for one of the most consistent performers on the team. Not only has never flubbed a snap in his professional career, he has played in every game since 1996.

Similarly, Rock Cartwright is a special teams demon and performed more than well enough to come back as the kick returner. After watching Antwaan Randle El do virtually nothing on punt returns all season, the Redskins should look to find a younger player to add some sizzle to the unit. Randle El is a starting receiver and doesn't seem to have the same passion for returning as he did as a younger player, loses yardage too often and for three years just has not been a threat. Seems like time for a change.

By Jason La Canfora  |  December 30, 2008; 8:08 AM ET
Categories:  Redskins by Position  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Gray Permitted to Interview in Detroit
Next: Unrestricted and Unexpurgated

Comments

Bid Red Snapper - thats unbelievable. Thats like a baseball player never committing an error in a whole year.

Posted by: Rypien11 | December 30, 2008 8:32 AM | Report abuse

New Punter, new Kicker and new punt returner please.

Keep Albright he is cheap and never makes a mistake.

Rock is fine returning kicks.

What about the Special teams coach will he be back or not?

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 8:34 AM | Report abuse

forev, I'm unsure about trotting Smoot out as the second corner if they trade Rogers. That makes me nervous. He's not exactly young anymore, and he seems to be going downhill. Not a good combination for a team that can't rush the passer

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 8:34 AM | Report abuse

"2. 2 years ago LBetts had his best year, and many argued that he should have been traded, as his trade value was never higher. Aren't we seeing the same thing with Carlos Rogers?? His first few years in the NFL he not even close to what he's become, and after this year, his trade value wouldn't be higher. Wouldn't it be in the teams best interest to trade him now, and strike while the iron is hot??

Posted by: BeantownGreg"

The thing is, we won't get much for him. Unless we can get a first rounder for him, then no. And anyone who would give up a first rounder for Carlos Rogers is actually the GM of the Washington Redskins.

Dude most likely wouldn't even get a 2nd rounder. Carlos for a third rounder does nothing for us. We could draft a less talented cornerback with that third round pick, but that just doesn't do us any good.

And someone said they'd be for it if it was really about rebuilding, but it wouldn't be. This one move for an extra third or fourth rounder is not rebuilding. And why get rid of a good, young player to rebuild.

And even if we did somehow get a first rounder, we'd then need to spend it on a corner to hopefully replace him.

It's just pointless to me.

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 8:34 AM | Report abuse

forev,

We do not have a 2nd round pick.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 8:39 AM | Report abuse

Fire Vinny Cerrato...

I'm tired of watching him drive this franchise into the ground. Promote Vinny to Vice President of Media Relations and allow him to continue "The Red Zone"...but bring in someone who can build a championship caliber team.

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 8:40 AM | Report abuse

Posted by: DownTownClown | December 30, 2008 8:41 AM | Report abuse

In terms of finding a punt returner I think open it up to our Young WR's and maybe bring in a FA WR into the mix (we need one for thrash's retirement (unofficial)). May even want to think about a RB to do it/ a big power guy who can do it like Ron Dayne did back in the day, who small speed guys could not bring down. A NFC style returner.

***Get it done Regs... GET IT DONE***

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 8:44 AM | Report abuse

"most easiest"? I realize that this is only a blog with limited adult supervision, but is it asking much to have you write better than my 2nd grader?

Anyone know Albright's salary and whether every NFL team keeps a long snapper as specialist? When Albright retires, do you draft another one, or just try to take someone from your roster?

Posted by: skipper7 | December 30, 2008 8:46 AM | Report abuse

al, I can't recall Ron Dayne ever getting it done back in the day.

That being said, agreed on putting someone else back to return punts. Heck, give Tryon a shot at it, I seem to recall him doing that in college, or am I mistaken??

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 8:47 AM | Report abuse

Devin Thomas, DeAngelo Hall, and Justin Tryon should all get looks as punt returner. They simply CAN'T be any worse.

I mean, really. Zorn's stubborness to make changes like that is just strange. When one area is doing just awful (WR's, OL, PR), you almost have to at least TRY to shake it up and try something new. Our offense couldn't get any worse, and yet he marched that same crappy squad onto the field each Sunday to blind Skins fans for life.

Dude is too stubborn. He's gonna wait a year so he can look at the Wildcat. Newsflash, the Wildcat will be figured out in a year.

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 8:47 AM | Report abuse

greg,

I agree Smoot would make most fans uneasy as # 2, but if we could use the draft picks we'd get in return for Rogers to add a DE and CB we'd be okay. This team will still be old next year and w new cogs presumably on both O/D lines it will probably be a struggle to make the playoffs.

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 8:47 AM | Report abuse

flound,

I know we don't currently have a 2nd round pick but was saying we could get one via Rogers trade....

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 8:49 AM | Report abuse

How 'bout Pioli and Mangini for next year?

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 8:51 AM | Report abuse

Greg,
The platooned the PR duties in NY during the super bowl run days , and depending on the situation they would give Dayne 1-2 a game, I remember going to a few games with my Uncle in NY when Dayne would do it, he would be back there when they were close to their own end zone. I think that the idea was to have him there to hit a guy if they tried catching the ball in the five or something.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 8:51 AM | Report abuse

"Rendel" As J-Campbell calls him, is woeful, truly woeful as a return man. He strikes fear in noone. He never changes field position. Literally "go to the video tape" of him this season, you will see faircatches OR two or three steps east west (lateral movement) and tackled without even a yard of north-(positive yardage movement). Often gunners are coming full speed and you can bust through an awkward arm tackle by running north for positive yardage. Because Rendell wants to be a receiver and do his Rainbow celebration after a five yard gain on third down when we needed 6 yards for the first...you will continually see him slide down on punt returns like a QB, wanting to not get hit and not fumble. This is not the way to be a man, and be a weapon, and strike fear in the opponent and use a major facet of the game to improve field position for a weak offense. It is another reason why there is zero confidence in Zorn or Cerrato or Snyder. The Rendel punt return situation was allowed to go on all year, after hearing loads of crap about how Tryon could return punts and so could Devon Thomas could return kicks. You put Moss in there and he had several great returns because he plays the position as a man, and could not tolerate the ridicule of his Miami bretheren if he were to slide down as Rendel does, or dance around for a two yard loss as Rendell does.

Face it, Danny Smith the special teams coach, must go.

Posted by: DownTownClown | December 30, 2008 8:51 AM | Report abuse

Today's Airing of Grevances:

Durant Brooks


....................................

I don't get it. I really don't. Why has Placky been held to a higher standard? He only kicked well AFTER we were out of the playoffs. He made no difference.

Maybe us cutting Brooks was the reason why we went 2-6 in he final 8 games.

Because JZ didn't have a player he could yell at that wasn't gaureenteed alot of money.........

Posted by: 4thFloor | December 30, 2008 8:54 AM | Report abuse

To be honest, PR duties, aren't even in the top ten of my list of concerns for this team.

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 8:57 AM | Report abuse

DTC,

I agree Smith had a bad year.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 8:58 AM | Report abuse

I would say 'horrendus' year.

Field Goal Kicking - Worst in the League
Punt Returning - Bottom of the Barrel
Punting - Too many blocks and shanks by both punters
KO Return - OK
Kick Offs - Average

Posted by: 4thFloor | December 30, 2008 9:02 AM | Report abuse

The only GM in the league that would give a number 2 pick for Rogers currently works for the Skins.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:03 AM | Report abuse

From the Times:

"I'll sit down with my wife and my agent and [Redskins owner Dan Snyder and coach Jim Zorn] and see what their intentions are," Jansen said. "I'm not a spring chicken, but I still have some good years left. I love playing in Washington and would like to continue to do so."

I'm confused. When Jansen said, I still have some good years left, what exactly do you suppose he meant??

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:05 AM | Report abuse

"The season ends, the positional recaps begin. Let's start with the most easiest positions on the team to recap. "


This can't be proper english can it?

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:05 AM | Report abuse

I think it would have been more better to start with the most hardest positions.

Posted by: paperwc | December 30, 2008 9:07 AM | Report abuse

"The season ends, the positional recaps begin. Let's start with the most easiest positions on the team to recap. "


This can't be proper english can it?

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:05 AM |

And he gets paid to do this.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:07 AM | Report abuse

Downtownclown,

I appreciate the sentiment but if being an idiot won't get you fired, what makes you think an online petition will?

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:08 AM | Report abuse

I wouldn't give up anything less then low 1st rounder (Top 32 pick) for CR22 or any thing capatabile to that (such as a 2nd and 3rd rounder with a possible upgrade trigger).

Cornerbacks are too valuable to just let go for nothing.

Look at the Eagles and Lito Shepard. They were trying to get a 2nd rounder for him and because no one offered that, they kept him.

Well CR22 is better than Sheppard......

Posted by: 4thFloor | December 30, 2008 9:08 AM | Report abuse

Greg, I'd actually be interested in your top ten needed fixes for this team.

1) OG
2) DT
3) OT
4) DE
5) ROLB
6) LOLB
7) MLB
8) RB
9) K
10) PR


just off the top of my head

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 9:08 AM | Report abuse

No thanks on Jansen the only good years he has left is maybe as a commentator.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:09 AM | Report abuse

It makes no sense in any way to get rid of Carlos. CB's have ups and downs he played at a very high level for over half the year. The problem is going to lie in the contract. If he is asking too much then they are going to let him go and the defense won't be te same.

Posted by: Pleepleus | December 30, 2008 9:13 AM | Report abuse

INSTANT REPLAY COSTS RYAN GRANT $1.35 MILLION
Posted by Michael David Smith on December 30, 2008, 8:28 a.m.

When referee Ed Hochuli used instant replay to reverse an 80-yard touchdown run by Green Bay Packers running back Ryan Grant on Sunday, he cost Grant $1.35 million in contract incentives.

Hochuli ruled — correctly — that Grant was down after 21 yards. But if the call on the field had stood, Grant would have had an additional 59 yards, which would have given him more than 1,250 for the season and put him among the Top 5 rushers in the NFC.

Grant’s contract called for him to receive significant bonuses if he reached those two milestones, but as it turned out, he finished the season with 1,203 yards, good for sixth in the NFC in rushing, and his bonuses were nowhere near as lucrative.

However, Grant didn’t sound too upset about it in talking to Greg A. Bedard of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

“Yeah, that’s the way the ball bounces,” Grant said. “I told [running backs coach Edgar Bennett], ‘If we were playing in your day, that’s a touchdown. No replay.’”

The biggest question surrounding the play is why it was ruled a touchdown in the first place. Grant was clearly down after 21 yards, and the TV cameras showed an official pointing to the ground to signal that he was down. And yet Hochuli’s crew huddled together and called it a touchdown, forcing the Lions to use a challenge before Hochuli got the call right.

Grant said one of the officials told him during the play that he wasn’t down and should keep running. The league declined to comment on that.
________________________________________


Man I would be so bitter.

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:13 AM | Report abuse

Being an NFL GM is not the most easiest job in the world, okay?

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 9:14 AM | Report abuse

any chance buges stays next season...I doubt he will with everything he went through this past year.

Hire Kendall as replacement for OL coach? I've heard he is incredibly bright and a sound technician regarding technique...

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:16 AM | Report abuse

No thanks on Jansen the only good years he has left is maybe as a commentator.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:09 AM | Report abuse

Obviously you've never seen him work on TV...

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:16 AM | Report abuse

I bet the refs called the #5 rusher in the league, who had similar clauses, and asked him how much he would pay them to get that 1 mil+ bonus money.


CONSPIRACY

Posted by: TheTruth11 | December 30, 2008 9:16 AM | Report abuse

Guard
Tackle
D-Tackle
D-End
Guard - Yes I'm putting this on here again, because Thomas is 32, and has a bulging disk
Tackle - Yes I'm putting this on here again, because Samuels is 31, and coming off Tricep surgery/Knee surgery
OLB
MLB
CB - Depth. Smoot seems to have 'lost' it.
OLB

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:16 AM | Report abuse

Remember folks JLC is the one that braught this Carlos thing up it has never been mentioned by Vinny or Zorn. Plus they don't need to do anything with Carlos this year he still has one year left on his contract so everyone needs to relax.

When it comes to insider information on the Skins JLC is not the guy to listen to.

When I here Jay Glazer or one of those guys reporting this then I will start to think about it.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:16 AM | Report abuse

Greg,

It should not be a top 10 concern and doing anything more than bringing in a cheep (under 1 million) UFA or a Rookie FA is an over-reaction but we should open up the field of who is gonna do it next year.

Just because its not a no-1 issue does not mean you cant focus on it.

If our GM cannot focus on getting 9-10 guys it needs more than one at a time than we are DOA.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 9:19 AM | Report abuse

forev, Kendall still wants to play, and not in a backup role either.

I agree though, he'll probably make a good coach, he's intelligent, and for a 290 pound guy he more than holds his own.

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:19 AM | Report abuse

I still think RT is the most pressing need, also a DE who can rush the passer. We already have a Guard who can take over for Kendall. I think you go Guard in the 3rd round as well. I like the best T available with the first pick.

I do not know where you get the DE from as Truth has been saying there are no stud DE in the draft.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:20 AM | Report abuse

Lito Sheppard has been to the Pro Bowl at least once. Eagles tried to trade him, kept him and now he is worthless. He doesn't even get on the field playing beind Asante Samuel, Sheldon Brown and Joselio Hansen. Like someone mentioned earlier no way we are going to get any more than a 3rd for Rogers if that. It would be counterproductive to weaken the CB position by trading him. Plus that extra pick will be made by Vinny.

Posted by: Posse81_83_84 | December 30, 2008 9:22 AM | Report abuse

Flound, agreed on Rogers, the team can do absolutely nothing, and he's still here next year, so much ado about nothing with that, I think.

Also, there's a cat from GTech, last name Johnson, goes 6'7, and 260 with the frame to fill out. But he'll most likely be a first round pick.

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:24 AM | Report abuse

We have a RT and a LG for next year:

Heyer and Rinehart.

Where's the beef?

Posted by: 4thFloor | December 30, 2008 9:25 AM | Report abuse

posse, what is the status of Sheppherd? Is he coming into free agency?

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:27 AM | Report abuse

I keep flip flopping on the way I'd approach FA. If the skins do what JZ said, and are intent on picking at #13, then I'd address the OL via FA and draft the best available DT and then look at a DE/LB or DE/DT in the 3rd. I think the younger players on the denfensive side of the ball have more playing experience and hence are more read to step up with an increased role.

Posted by: TWISI | December 30, 2008 9:27 AM | Report abuse

greg,

kendall has been one of the few reliant contributors to the o-line the past 2 seasons...I think he'll be back next year as a starter. I really hope Jansen retires though but I truthfully expect the rest of the line to be back (minus Jansen) to be mixed w some of the young guys to form the starting line.

Samuels Kendall Rinehart Thomas R OT/Heyer

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:27 AM | Report abuse

4th,

I'm still not sold on Heyer but he is way better then Jansen.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:29 AM | Report abuse

Heyer has yet to prove he's a starter in this league.

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:29 AM | Report abuse

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, NATE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: Cindy Boren | December 30, 2008 9:32 AM | Report abuse

forev,

If that is the case then you are just putting a band aid on a broken leg, we need to get young on the line now, not in a year from now. This team will have no chance of anything next year so let the young kids play next year so they are ready when the team is ready to make a run.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:34 AM | Report abuse

greg,

I heard about that Johnson kid too...don't know much about him but shoot 6'7 260ish is paralell w Peppers size. If he's there at 13 I say we grab him since OL is loaded this draft and a young pass rushing demon would be huge (demarcus ware, julius peppers, mario williams)

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:34 AM | Report abuse

posse, what is the status of Sheppherd? Is he coming into free agency?

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:27 AM |

Greg,

He signed an 8 year deal in 2004 not sure of all the details but I think he is stuck there unless they can trade him.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:35 AM | Report abuse

Heyer is a tope end backup OT but until he learns to block for the run he is not more than that. His pass blocking is great. He was blocking Smith well against the 49ers. They had to move smith around to go against the guards in order to get him to get pressure.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 9:36 AM | Report abuse

Beantown - Don't think Lito's contract expires this year but he will be cut. He signed a deal about 3-4 years ago and was trying to get a new deal with Philly when they started shopping him. His cap number won't justify keeping him around as the 4th CB.

Posted by: Posse81_83_84 | December 30, 2008 9:36 AM | Report abuse

Not to be a jerk but if we want to look at Bugs' replacement I would throw these two names up as realistic and good names.

Joe Jacoby is currently an Assistant Football Coach at Shenandoah University in Winchester, VA.

Ray Brown hired as assistant offensive line coach for the Buffalo Bills on January 17, 2008.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 9:37 AM | Report abuse

Getting rid of Rogers would be non-sensical - not that the Braintrust is beyond such. He's young, he has improved greatly, and considering how he played this year coming off of a serious injury, keeping him is a no brainer to me. Even if he can't catch, breaking up a pass is better than having it caught.

Posted by: learnedhand1 | December 30, 2008 9:39 AM | Report abuse

twisi, I think if you look at this draft, its top heavy with OL prospects. I'm hopeful that the Team spends 2, if not three early picks on OL guys.

That being said, I think you have to address DL in FA.

forev, Rhino has never played center, so I'm not sure that will work. While I like Kendall, I don't think you can bring him back. He wants to start, and starting him ahead of Rhino would be detrimental to getting bigger/younger on the ol.

Not sold on Heyer either. He either needs to make a jump his third year, or he's gonna be a backup/reserve type his whole career.

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:39 AM | Report abuse

flound...outside of rinehart (who barely played in preseason) who else young currently can play? Buges seems pretty partial to the vets and perhaps one reason why rinehart and others didn't get much PT this year...

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:40 AM | Report abuse

Joe Jacoby is currently an Assistant Football Coach at Shenandoah University in Winchester, VA.

Ray Brown hired as assistant offensive line coach for the Buffalo Bills on January 17, 2008.


Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 9:37 AM |

Brown can not make a lateral move so he would have to be called something else, unless he gets fired when Jauron does on Wednesday.

Jacoby may be good, not sure he would take the job seem to remember hearing he does not like Snyder.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:40 AM | Report abuse

"2. 2 years ago LBetts had his best year, and many argued that he should have been traded, as his trade value was never higher. Aren't we seeing the same thing with Carlos Rogers?? His first few years in the NFL he not even close to what he's become, and after this year, his trade value wouldn't be higher. Wouldn't it be in the teams best interest to trade him now, and strike while the iron is hot??

Posted by: BeantownGreg"

A resounding no.

(1) Rogers has improved every year he was here, including becoming the #1 last season before injuring his knee.

(2) Big difference between the two is that Betts was backing up a younger, better RB who was going to be locked up for a LONG time.

Even if Rogers isn't a starter right now, he will be by the time his contract is up.

And I may be the minority in this, but I don't think we've seen the best of Rogers yet. He's still only a year out from a horrific knee injury that generally takes 2 years to fully recover. He'll be even better next season -- so long as Redskins management doesn't do anything stupid.

Posted by: psps23 | December 30, 2008 9:41 AM | Report abuse

greg,

my bad I thought rinehart played C in college...I'd use him over kendall as you suggested

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:42 AM | Report abuse

flound...outside of rinehart (who barely played in preseason) who else young currently can play? Buges seems pretty partial to the vets and perhaps one reason why rinehart and others didn't get much PT this year...

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:40 AM |

Well then that is the problem, Rhino should have played the last game against the 49ers.

Rhino starts at LG next year, and you need a new RT if you don't want to start Heyer there. Try to get one more year out of the other three. Randy Thomas can't be cut for 2-3 years because of his contract same with Samuels.

Drfat there replacements this year and then next year they are out even if they are high priced backups.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:45 AM | Report abuse

Never heard Joe hated Danny. If Brown was given a title of Line Coach vs Assistant Line Coach thats a move up not sideways isnt it?

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 9:45 AM | Report abuse

forev, he played T in college...

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:45 AM | Report abuse

with draft mode in full swing now and '09 looking suspect with only 4 picks...anyone know how many picks we currently hold for '10...?

I believe we gave up a 5th or 6th in the J Taylor trade...anything else?

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:48 AM | Report abuse

That's what I don't get. If Rhinehart played T in college why is he not being looked at as a replacement for Jansen. Is he too slow, not good enough outside? Seems like it would be easier to find cheaper guards in free agency and lower in the draft than a tackle.

Posted by: Posse81_83_84 | December 30, 2008 9:50 AM | Report abuse

Heyer has yet to prove he's a starter in this league.

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 9:29 AM

Nobody had any complaints about Heyer's play when he began the season as a starter. It wasn't until he got injured and wasn't reinserted that people began doubting him. The running game was not a Heyer problem. He did well in relief of Samuels also. For an undrafted player, he's pretty good and he is an NFL starter.

Posted by: learnedhand1 | December 30, 2008 9:51 AM | Report abuse

I believe we gave up a 5th or 6th in the J Taylor trade...anything else?

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 9:48 AM |

We have them all except for the 6th for JT

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 9:52 AM | Report abuse

As for what I'd ask for Carlos Rogers... nothing less than a pick inside the top-10. Only a team like the Washington Redskins would contemplate trading a young, about to enter his prime, durable (knee injury was an unavoidable freak accident), no-problem-child, elite cornerback for less than that.

However, it wouldn't surprise me to see us do it again.

Posted by: psps23 | December 30, 2008 9:55 AM | Report abuse

posse, he's more of a G type, seemed like he couldn't handle the speed of the NFL on the outside of the line

lh, I'm pretty sure that Heyer wasn't as good a run blocker as Jansen, and it was proven out by how well the team ran when Jansen was in there....

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 9:56 AM | Report abuse

psp,

Again JLC is the only one saying anything about Rogers, show me were any of the big NFL insider guys have mentioned it or where Vinny or Zorn have mentioned it.

Posted by: Flounder21 | December 30, 2008 10:00 AM | Report abuse

psp, until something more substantial comes out regarding trading Rogers, I'd say its much ado about nothing. No one has said thats what the team is going to do, other than the guy who writes this blog.....I'm not sure how much credence you give that....

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 10:01 AM | Report abuse

let's hope vinny doesn't screw up '10 like he did in '08 and (gulp) '09 w 4 picks

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 10:02 AM | Report abuse

That's what I don't get. If Rhinehart played T in college why is he not being looked at as a replacement for Jansen. Is he too slow, not good enough outside? Seems like it would be easier to find cheaper guards in free agency and lower in the draft than a tackle.

Posted by: Posse81_83_84

Nobody had any complaints about Heyer's play when he began the season as a starter. It wasn't until he got injured and wasn't reinserted that people began doubting him. The running game was not a Heyer problem. He did well in relief of Samuels also. For an undrafted player, he's pretty good and he is an NFL starter.

Posted by: learnedhand1

----------

Offensive line isn't the place to get skimpy, IMO. Heyer is a great utility man, and an unbelievable value as a UFA. As a starting tackle in this league - he is average so far.

And Rinehart was projected as a guard for a reason. Probably because there were weaknesses noticed in footspeed and outside pass-protection.

If those guys can be developed, great, but I wouldn't rely on either of them to be a long-term solution at either tackle spot. Otherwise we'll just have an average line, and you'll see similar results to what we had here down the stretch.

Posted by: psps23 | December 30, 2008 10:03 AM | Report abuse

Fire Vinny Cerrato...

I'm tired of watching him drive this franchise into the ground. Promote Vinny to Vice President of Media Relations and allow him to continue "The Red Zone"...but bring in someone who can build a championship caliber team.

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 8:40 AM | Report abuse

Interesting. They may have already done that, by bringing Morocco Brown onboard. The big question is, will the FO allow him leeway to make decisions.

Posted by: frediefritz | December 30, 2008 10:04 AM | Report abuse

forever21, there was a great article about Buges in the Washington Times last week and he definitely wants to return - perhaps because of all he has been through this season. Said the Skins organization has been wonderful to him, he loves the players, they are like family. Also, he retired one time and did not enjoy it at all.

Posted by: Lisa_R | December 30, 2008 10:04 AM | Report abuse

For an undrafted player, he's pretty good and he is an NFL starter.

Posted by: learnedhand1 | December 30, 2008 9:51 AM | Report abuse

The very fact that you need to insert the caveat "for an undrafted player.." should say everything there is to say about him.

No one is saying "for a 7th rounder" about Horton. They are just saying he's a starter in the league.

Posted by: Gweez | December 30, 2008 10:05 AM | Report abuse

psp, not sure anyone, either on here or within the team thinks of Rhino as a T, in any way shape or form.

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 10:06 AM | Report abuse

If we do end up trading Rogers, then we have to get at 1st rounder or 2 2nd rounders. With the way that Smoot played and the way that Springs did not, I am terrified to think that we would be counting on an immature D-Hall to lead the secondary. But, we are the Redskins and this is what we do!

Posted by: NCMatt1 | December 30, 2008 10:08 AM | Report abuse

I can go back and forth on Bugs.
His Positives:
The man is a HOF Line coach, (they need position coaches in the HOF btw).
He can take the worst players and make them serviceable, takes average guys and makes them stars.

Negatives;
Overly Loyal to guys past their prime. His age and family issues.

Posted by: alex35332 | December 30, 2008 10:08 AM | Report abuse

beeps

Posted by: BeantownGreg | December 30, 2008 10:08 AM | Report abuse

fred,

I've heard nothing but great things about Brown...would be great if he ended up being a hidden gem within the org to eventually supplant cerrato.

Posted by: forever21 | December 30, 2008 10:12 AM | Report abuse

Greg, you're right as always. But does that mean Heyer can't start in the NFL?

Posted by: learnedhand1 | December 30, 2008 10:12 AM | Report abuse

In case you missed it....Roger Goodell has spoken often of wanting to make this change.

http://views.washingtonpost.com/theleague/nflnewsfeed/2008/12/pro-bowl-in-miami-in-2010.html

Posted by: CindyBoren | December 30, 2008 10:12 AM | Report abuse

beep beep

Posted by: CindyBoren | December 30, 2008 10:13 AM | Report abuse

I could have sworn after we drafted Devin Thomas I read and heard coaches and FO alike talking about his return abilities as well as his receiving skills...

It's interesting to me that this superstar college kick returner wasn't given a single chance to return a kick or punt this season.

Posted by: hender_22 | December 30, 2008 11:22 AM | Report abuse

rock is the man!!! devin thomas returned kicks and punts at michigan state. new punter and kicker are a must...

Posted by: jimmy_the_crickett | December 30, 2008 12:42 PM | Report abuse

tryon returned kicks and punts also...

Posted by: jimmy_the_crickett | December 30, 2008 12:43 PM | Report abuse

Why does everyone love Rock so much? He never, EVER, breaks a big return. He's great at returning the kick to the 30, and he'll get it to the 40 or 50 when the rest of the guys do their job and block. He has no acceleration after that and is dead in the water at the 50 when he should be scoring a TD. The ENTIRE special teams needs to be blown up. Rock should have been cut for Mason in the preseason, period. I love the "red snapper", but a backup lineman needs to do that job. Would you rather have Ethan or Kelly/Davis active on Sundays? Thats an easy decision for me

Posted by: ae3td | December 30, 2008 1:41 PM | Report abuse

Fellas, y'all seem unwilling to make the hard calls that great GM's have to make. Let me say it one last time: TRADE PORTIS. He is the only Redskin that can generate a multiple draft picks or combination of players and picks. Why? Because we have multiple needs. And the one position that is consistently productive as a rookie is RB.

He's a great back, but he's definitely not an NFC East back.

We MUST get a maniacal pass rusher. We MUST get help on the O line. And we MUST improve at the LB position.

Posted by: ThatJohnsonBoy | December 30, 2008 1:47 PM | Report abuse

Somebody else mentioned this, but what about drafting a future LT and moving Samuels to RT? Samuels is an amazing run-blocker and could probably prolong his career by a couple of years by doing so. I think that you draft a C/G prospect with the 3rd round pick to eventually take over Rabach or Thomas and stick in Rhinehart at LG. I like Kendell, but we have to get young fast, and we should take our lumps next year.

As for D-line, I think bringing in Haynesworth gives a huge boost to our DEs and gets a lot more pressure up the middle. As for OLB, I hear that 3 of the 4 Raven linebackers are up for free agency this year. Maybe pick up one of them or see how Blades does.

Posted by: DCinSD | December 30, 2008 1:48 PM | Report abuse

I'm SOOOOOOO tired of JLC's man crush on Rock Cartwright. I agree with ae3td, the entire special teams unit needs to change outside of Albright. I challenge anyone to name a slower KR in the league. JLC, for the love of God, stop hyping Rock Cartwright.

Portis has a little attitude just as every star athlete. He's definately NOT Larry Johnson. We would be foolish to get rid of him. He plays harder than anyone on that team. The last thing I want to see is another Trung Candidate type of trade.

Posted by: dcwun | December 30, 2008 2:27 PM | Report abuse

As bad as this offense is the Skins should make a big push for Shane Lechler. He can kick them out of ineptitude.

Posted by: pauljr11211 | December 30, 2008 3:05 PM | Report abuse

Regarding a long snapper; you keep a specialist as a long snapper if nobody in your regular OL is a good long snapper. If you get an O lineman who can long snap, its a bonus, kind of like having a kicker who can also punt.

Posted by: kenboy1 | December 30, 2008 4:05 PM | Report abuse

That would be a huge mistake to trade Carlos Rogers. Corner backs takes longest time to develop. He has already shown enough talent that he can perform at a high level given he gets a proper run at this position for sometime. For now, he is average at best. But I have a feeling if we keep him he will contribute to Redskins success as we initially envisioned when we drafted him.
We MUST trade "Portis" NOW for two reasons.
Firtly, he tends to wear down during the second half of the season. I understand this is normal for RB's given the load they carry. But NFL season is 16 games long and breaking at either the first or the second half is just not acceptable.
Secondly, we can either free up cap plus we just might get a first rounder for him.
I do not beleive in the East or the West Coast offense. There is only one offense. You snap, block and go. There is nothing east and west about it.
I also think letting Durant Brooks go was a huge mistake. After all Snyder has given himself over 10 years of running a less than mediocre team. Why couldn't Brooks get the same courtesy? (just a thought)
Randle El- We should keep him but only as a Mascott!
Santana..Santana..Santana..Wish he's more like Steve Smith.
Jason Campbell- We do not need a super hero QB to win a Super Bowl. He has just enough talent and more (only 5 interceptions is a huge huge positive)that can lead us to the big game. At that level what matters more is not to make game changing mistakes which he normally doesn't.
I personally think we have enough talent on this very team but what we lack is the confidence among ourselves (players). There is this choking phenomenon that sets in whenever we are playing a must win game and it alters the mindset of the players during the game as if they are plying not to lose.
Other than that..It was a disappointing but a decent season.
Good Luck Redskins next season.

Posted by: DesiHungama | December 30, 2008 5:01 PM | Report abuse

LONG-SNAPPER - ETHAN ALBRIGHT who is at the top of his game and a youngster at 37. Sign him up for the next five years. First contract done Mr. GM CERRATO.

PUNT-RETURNER - JUSTIN TRYON. JAMES THRASH back-up. SANTANA MOSS in emergency. Lose RANDLE-EL.

KICK-RETURNER - "THE ROCK" is hitting his stride. Give him a contract extension.

WIDE RECEIVER - Cut ANTWAAN RANDLE-EL unless finances preclude it.

RUNNING BACKS - Sign all with extensions.

QUARTERBACK - JASON CAMPBELL one more year to get it right. COLT BRENNAN moves up. TODD COLLINS moves out.

OFFENSIVE TACKLE - EXTEND SAMUELS HEYER, and sign JANSEN to a one year deal. If not used at DE, draft back-up for CHRIS with the #13 pick or trade down to #2 round for a tackle and get extra #3 pick.

OFFENSIVE GUARD - RINEHART plays. KENDALL one year contract. THOMAS extension. EXTRA ROUND #3 pick as back-up or BATISTE. Lose FABINI.

CENTER - FA starter. RABACH to back-up. Fall-back plan, Round #5 center. This draft deep in o-line potential. GEISEIGER to taxi squad.

DEFENSIVE SECONDARY - Extend LANDRY. SIGN SPRINGS for two more. SIGN HALL. SIGN GREEN. Lose DOUGHTY. TRADE ROGERS if a #1 pick is available, otherwise sign him. JUSTIN TRYON is not the answer at CB. TOO small. He's NO DARRELL GREEN.

LINEBACKER - Extend FLETCHER by one. Same for BLADES. Cut WASHINGTON. Lose CAMPBELL. Sign ALBERT FINCHER. FA to replace WASHINGTON or round #3 pick CUSHING of OREGON or FREEMAN of OHIO STATE.

DEFENSIVE END - Lose CARTER. SIGN DEMETRIC EVANS for three. Put TAYLOR in CARTER's slot for one year. Give ROB JACKSON his shot. PHILLIP DANIELS at left end. Alternative, pick at 13 best DE left in draft.

DEFENSIVE TACKLE - Sign GRIFFIN for three. He's the only tackle standing up his opposing o-lineman. Extend GOLSTON and allow ALEXANDER and MONTGOMERY to continue to develop. Sign a sixth round DT.

Hire new offensive line coach and give BUGES a rousing thank you for a job well done.

Posted by: glawrence007 | December 31, 2008 12:14 AM | Report abuse

we should cut randel el and re-sign leigh torrance

Posted by: BMACattack | December 31, 2008 3:38 AM | Report abuse

Keep the secondary as is. Sign Haynesworth to collapse the pocket and garner extra attention. This should allow speed guys, like a (healthy, re-negotiated contracted) Jason Taylor to make plays, shorten the field and take pressure off London and the guys behind him (keep them off the field in the 4th quarter?)

The 'Skins have had success coaching the defense up, but an OLB or DE could be taken in FA.

Use the picks on the OL, along with possibly one FA. Involve the young pass-catchers more on offense and special teams. It seems to me that, if Davis works out, the FO will look to trade Cooley (rightly, or wrongly) for depth.

Cut Washington, Thrash, Carter, ARE and (if he won't restructure) Springs.

The new OL gives Campbell more than three seconds protection to find a receiver. Portis doesn't need to carry the same load and break down later in the season.

Result - 2nd place NFC East and wild card next season and an improving nucleus for 2010 onwards?

Posted by: stevebeagrie | January 1, 2009 3:10 PM | Report abuse

Agree 100% about Randel El. He has had maybe three decent punt returns and only one that meant anything in three years. Runs latterally, instead of up the field and is not fast at all. Watched DeShawn Jackson of Philly this weekend and he would be 10 yards up the field before a defender would be in the picture. I would not even rely on him as a a receiver for what he would cost: $4 million in 2009 and $2.5 million against the cap. Se ya.

Rock is the man and usually gives the 'Skins excellent field position. May not break a whole lot of big ones, but is consistent. A lot of times gets at least to the 35 and the 'Skins offense needs all of the field position it can get.

Posted by: sportseditor_don | January 5, 2009 3:43 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company