Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About The Reliable Source  |  On Twitter: Reliable Source  |  E-mail: Amy and Roxanne  |  RSS Feeds RSS Feed

Inaugural Bigwigs (in Name Only)

Maya Soetoro-Ng at the Democratic convention in August. (Preston Keres)

Whoo-hoo! The Presidential Inaugural Committee announced the honorary co-chairs yesterday. Barack Obama and Joe Biden handpicked a mix of big political names, supporters and family members to serve: former presidents Jimmy Carter, George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton; Sens. Dick Durbin, Dick Lugar and Claire McCaskill; Reps. Tammy Baldwin, Artur Davis, Ray LaHood and Linda Sánchez; Colin Powell, and D.C.'s own mayor, Adrian Fenty. Even closer to home: Obama's half sister, Maya Soetoro-Ng; brother-in-law, Craig Robinson; and Biden's son and daughter-in-law, Hunter and Kathleen Biden.

So, what exactly does an honorary chair do? Gets his or her name listed on a lot of programs, probably scores an "all-access" pass and ... um, fields lots of calls begging for tickets to the swearing-in and balls. That should keep them busy!

By The Reliable Source  |  December 23, 2008; 1:02 AM ET
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Hey, Isn't That. . . ?
Next: Obama Follows Lincoln by the Book

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company