Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

Michael Barone wins the Bradley Prize

The annual awards given out by the Lynde and Harry Bradley foundation, a stamp of approval for conservative intellectuals, are going this year to Washington Examiner columnist Michael Barone, Wall Street Journal editorial page editor Paul Gigot, former Federal Election Commission member Bradley Smith, and Hoover Institution fellow John Taylor. Washington Post columnists Charles Krauthammer and George F. Will were on the selection committee, and they produced an honoree list that mostly avoids the criticism I hear every year about this award: that the substantial cash prize ($250,000) is going to people who aren't going to apply it to new endeavors.

Fans of Barone, the political writer and editor of the Almanac of American Politics, shouldn't be surprised to see him take a place in the conservative firmament. Increased pessimism about Democratic chances and increased belief in the power of conservative ideas have been hallmarks of his work for many years now. This just makes his evolution as a conservative pundit a bit more official -- and, of course, lucrative.

By David Weigel  |  May 4, 2010; 9:47 AM ET
Categories:  Conservatives  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Franklin Graham: 'Muslims are getting a pass'
Next: Mitch McConnell endorses Trey Grayson

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company