Another Award Winner Up North

Miriam Toews's The Flying Troutmans has won Canada's Writers' Trust Prize for fiction ($25,000). I loved this novel, and I've been hearing the same thing from my 17-year-old daughter and a retired co-worker. The Flying Troutmans.jpgToews is a comic writer to watch. Four years ago, she won the Governor General's Award for her darkly hilarious novel A Complicated Kindness about a young Mennonite woman.

By Ron Charles |  November 20, 2008; 5:19 PM ET Ron Charles
Previous: And the Winners of the National Book Awards Are... | Next: The Caged Bird Sings


Please email us to report offensive comments.

The comments to this entry are closed.


© 2010 The Washington Post Company