Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

Mexican Meltdown

Two years after winning the Under-17 World Cup in Peru, Mexico has failed to qualify for the latest tournament. In CONCACAF, this is almost incomprehensible. They were beaten out by Honduras and Haiti, which had not qualified for ANY FIFA world championship since the senior World Cup 33 years ago. Mexico didn't lose any games in its four-team group, but didn't win any either (three ties).

The other three CONCACAF representatives to this summer's tournament in South Korea will be determined April 28 through May 6 in Jamaica. The field includes the United States, Canada, Costa Rica, T&T and Jamaica. The U.S. is the only country in the world to have qualified for every u-17 final.

By Steve Goff  |  April 12, 2007; 9:02 AM ET
Categories:  World  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: United Reserves Win
Next: Headgear, the Trialist and a Baby Watch

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company