Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

We Are the Champions (League)

Here are the latest rumblings on CONCACAF's plans next year:

The 2008 Champions' Cup will go on as planned with D.C. United and Houston as the MLS entries. Apparently, the tournament will start a little later than this year, so expect first matches to be played in March.

The Champions League, modeled after the European version, will debut late in the summer and stretch into the spring of 2009. MLS will have four representatives: Houston (Cup winner), New England (Cup runner-up), DCU (Supporters' Shield) and Chivas USA (Supporters' Shield runner-up). New England and Chivas will enter in the preliminary stage and need to qualify for group play. Houston and DCU go straight to group play, which apparently will be four four-team groups. Knockout stages will be used for the quarterfinals and semis. With the tournament unfolding over several months, MLS teams probably will not be overextended during the stretch run of the regular season next fall.

As I said at the top, these are just the latest rumblings. I am still awaiting more details from MLS and CONCACAF about format and eligible teams. Things could change, but this is what I understand is being discussed at the moment.

What do you think?

By Steve Goff  |  November 19, 2007; 10:14 AM ET
Categories:  MLS  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: MLS, Looking Ahead
Next: What Offseason?

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company