Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

Going South

Carlos Alberto Parreira, the renowned Brazilian, stepped down as South Africa's national team coach because of his wife's illness, a decision that apparently had been kept quiet for weeks. Curiously, the replacement is countryman Joel Santana, who has never coached a national team. Bafana Bafana has not made much progress in recent years -- some would say they have regressed.

All of which begs the question: In 2010, will South Africa become the first World Cup host to fail to reach the knockout stages? The previous tournaments:

1930: Uruguay (champion)
1934: Italy (champion)
1938: France (quarterfinals)
1950: Brazil (final)
1954: Switzerland (quarterfinals)
1958: Sweden (final)
1962: Chile (semifinals)
1966: England (champion)
1970: Mexico (quarterfinals)
1974: West Germany (champion)
1978: Argentina (champion)
1982: Spain (second round)
1986: Mexico (quarterfinals)
1990: Italy (semifinals)
1994: USA (second round)
1998: France (champion)
2002: S. Korea (semifinals), Japan (second round)
2006: Germany (semifinals)

By Steve Goff  |  April 22, 2008; 9:41 AM ET
Categories:  2010 World Cup  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Happy Earth Day
Next: Midday Kickaround

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company